Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

1881 Chong Tian Hotel

36,38,40,42 Jalan Pintal Tali, , Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10100 (Show on map)

Book now!

1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chinese Doorway 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Corridor outside the room 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Entrance 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Meeting Hall 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior
1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Charity & Media Night 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 11
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

0.0

from 148 reviews

Value for Money
0.0
Location
0.0
Staff Performance
0.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
0.0
Room Comfort/Standard
0.0
Food/Dining
0.0
All reviews (148)
Sort by:
Simon C. Families with older children Malaysia, August 30, 2015
1881 Chong Tian Hotel

Location to food stalls, bars and restaurants
4
Got to find on street parking yourself but the hotel manage your parking ticket. Too much noise from street below till 5 am. Cars, motorbikes, music and patrons of prostitutes right below outside our room. Windows were half glazed with slats letting noise in. We were in family room on first floor above restaurant. Breakfast was mange with cold tea and coffee and uncooked eggs. Had to request for eggs and fruits. You don't ask, you don't get. Asked for fresh tea and fresh pot was made with water that had already gone cold from the kettle it was in. Staff poor understanding of English and just ignore or walk away if they do not understand what you are saying. On a positive note, some staff were excellent, the beds were comfortable and room spacious with lots of tea/coffee and toiletry supplies. The charm of the room would suit foreign visitors better?
Report this review
How P. Families with older children Singapore, August 14, 2015
A very good boutique hotel

Good Location, Very Large and Well Renovated Room, Very courteous and helpful staff
9.7
It's just our luck that there were road work being carried out the first night after check-in, which disturb our sleep throughout the night as our room is facing the road. When we brought up to the staff during breakfast and requested to change room, the staff immediately agreed and in fact upgraded our room.
Report this review
Sheena L. Families with older children Singapore, August 9, 2015
Small and cozy boutique hotel, with friendly staff

The interior decor, the friendly staff, the central location
8.7
I was very impressed by the interior decor; the owner had clearly put a fair bit of thought into collecting antique furniture and trappings for the hotel. Unlike many other hotels, the room was spacious and didn't feel at all claustrophobic. More importantly, the staff were very friendly and eager to help, providing prompt assistance whenever possible. I really liked that the hotel was very centrally located, being barely 15 minutes away from some of the best food and tourist attractions in Georgetown. Even more impressive was the in-house restaurant - I had a Peranakan dinner there and it was absolutely delicious (and cheap to boot!). However, I did feel that the amenities/toiletries could be improved on. Late one night, I requested an extra towel which took about half an hour to be delivered. Turns out that the staff had to run elsewhere to buy a brand-new towel. Props for the willingness to do so but it also felt weird that a hotel would run out of fresh towels. The selection of TV programmes can also be improved on. All in all, this is definitely a place I would return to if I do visit Penang again.
Report this review
Chiew K. Groups Malaysia, July 19, 2015
Unique Experience

Location, Antique Design & Spacious Room
6.3
overally okay, dislike the breakfast selection and taste and one of the staff not warm and welcoming.
Report this review
Hicham M. Couples Germany, June 5, 2015
Much better hotels in the area for half of the pri

Area
4
Very basic stay, room with no window, shower directly on toilet. Size of the room doesn't correspond to the size described in the booking only blanket no bedsheet....
Report this review
Stephanie C. Families with older children Malaysia, May 3, 2015
Cultural Georgetown

Great location, accommodating staff and quaint furnishing.
8
It was very pleasant. Staff were very helpful.
Report this review
Ong W. Groups Malaysia, May 3, 2015
The system management is bad

Room is big, the Chinese food is fantastic
7.7
They didn't record our booking correctly, but eventually they still manage to solve the problem. So we think it was ok. It was a good stay, the room is BIG and unique. The food from the restaurant is really good, should give it a try!
Report this review
Johannes A. Families with older children Indonesia, February 21, 2015
bad trip
2
it was bad, the room isnt clean, no elevator, we can only use the stairs, they just serve bread and fruits that's not fresh for our breakfast, well its a family business hotel anyway so they're just not professional.
Report this review
Kalman S. Couples Australia, December 28, 2014
Recommended stay in George Town

Location, Historical Building, Friendly helpful staff
9
If you are looking for a stay to immerse yourself in the history I fully recommend the 1881. Ask for parking if you need it as parking anywhere in George Town is difficult and at a premium. That being said the staff were more than helpful and facilitate parking at the hotel on our arrival.
Report this review
Byron E. Families with young children Singapore, December 10, 2014
Fantastic location with a tradition

heritage hostory, location & staff
8.7
fantastic and the lids loved the place esp the staff friendliness. The place do have some mozzies but the staff are quick to pass ample of mozzie electric repellent.
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chinese Doorway1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Corridor outside the room1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Entrance1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Meeting Hall1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Charity & Media Night1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Koay Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Seah Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Yeoh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Tan Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chua Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Ooi Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Seah Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Ong Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chan Khoo Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Loh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lim Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lim Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Loh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05