Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

1881 Chong Tian Hotel

36,38,40,42 Jalan Pintal Tali, , Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia 10100 (Show on map)

Book now!

1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chinese Doorway 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Corridor outside the room 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Entrance 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Meeting Hall 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior
1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Charity & Media Night 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings
Area: Georgetown Number of Rooms: 11

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Acceptable

0.0

based on
157 reviews

123 reviews in English

Value for Money
0.0
Location
0.0
Staff Performance
0.0
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
0.0
Room Comfort/Standard
0.0
Food/Dining
0.0
All reviews (157)
Sort by:
Angela K. Couples Brazil, January 3, 2016
Lovely hotel in a great location

location, decor, comfy bed
9
Very quaint building in a great location. Service was good and the place was clean (unlike what I expected given a few bad reviews from other travelers). Perhaps the only thing that needs improvement is the breakfast spread: toast, cake and a beverage just doesn't make anyone go wow.
Report this review
Wenkang S. Couples China, December 27, 2015
Traditional Chinese style

The hotel is in a ancient building with traditional Chinese style furniture and decoration. The first floor is a restaurant, a little bit noisy. The room is not big, but it's clean.
6.7
Not as good as expected.
Report this review
Hong X. Groups Singapore, December 26, 2015
Great and comfy hotel

Friendly staff, good location and large rooms
8.3
Report this review
Ching C. Couples Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Great stay

Large room, Friendly staffs, Convenient spot in town
8
Went there for a short holiday, only for a night. Love the concept and the overall ambiance of the hotel. Friendly staff who introduced us where to visit and the eateries around that area. The down point will be: 1. there is no parking lot for hotel, you will need to look for your own parking, and park at your own risk. 2. If you are traveling with old folks who are unable to climb up the stairs, it will be inconvenient as they do not have elevator. 3. Found earthworms in my bathtub while happily soaking myself inside and ended up with scream (haha)! 4. There are 2 airconds in our room but one of it malfunctioning and have water dripping onto the bed. 5. They only served cold nasi lemak, bread & banana cake with Orange juice, coffee & tea for breakfast. Which probably incompatible with the price we paid. Other than that, it was indeed a good stay!
Report this review
Goh K. Couples Malaysia, December 25, 2015
Breakfast very poor

Toilet window
4.7
Not really keen to stay/relax in the room
Report this review
Kin K. Solo travelers Malaysia, December 13, 2015
The most dirty & unhygenic hotel stay !
4.3
If compare with my previous stay in 3years back,this heritage hotel started run down and not focus to serving guest with Hitel basic needs anymore and guess only just wanted to keeping their property in investment purposed.Anyway,this was my most unforgettable stay among my traveling trip,the bed sheet was full of dust and death insects(seems this room has empty for long time but staff still telling the unsure response by saying if not mistaken it been used in 4days back but definitely impossible!Phoris had been taken and 100% you will agreed and will frighten you to run away but I didn't Coz it's already 12mid night upon I checked in).Anothet surprised was the tower is absolutely dirty and that's non of towel able to change due housekeeping was closed during mid night,ridiculous right ?Although my room is deluxe room by told but can't find any kettle & coffee tea facilities like what I had during my previous stay and at last I found the other standard room is with all this basic facilities,mean they never keeping their standard service or overlook and although room fuxed a nice Bose speaker by paying their oldies Chinese song to matching the heritage feel stay but it's totally not function at all like previous stay and yet just for display! Overall,this definitely will be my last booking on this dirty heritage hotel,you may try and you will get what I had ,good luck ! P/S: Pls aware every corner even bathroom with nest with spider !
Report this review
Simon C. Families with older children Malaysia, August 30, 2015
1881 Chong Tian Hotel

Location to food stalls, bars and restaurants
4
Got to find on street parking yourself but the hotel manage your parking ticket. Too much noise from street below till 5 am. Cars, motorbikes, music and patrons of prostitutes right below outside our room. Windows were half glazed with slats letting noise in. We were in family room on first floor above restaurant. Breakfast was mange with cold tea and coffee and uncooked eggs. Had to request for eggs and fruits. You don't ask, you don't get. Asked for fresh tea and fresh pot was made with water that had already gone cold from the kettle it was in. Staff poor understanding of English and just ignore or walk away if they do not understand what you are saying. On a positive note, some staff were excellent, the beds were comfortable and room spacious with lots of tea/coffee and toiletry supplies. The charm of the room would suit foreign visitors better?
Report this review
How P. Families with older children Singapore, August 14, 2015
A very good boutique hotel

Good Location, Very Large and Well Renovated Room, Very courteous and helpful staff
9.7
It's just our luck that there were road work being carried out the first night after check-in, which disturb our sleep throughout the night as our room is facing the road. When we brought up to the staff during breakfast and requested to change room, the staff immediately agreed and in fact upgraded our room.
Report this review
Sheena L. Families with older children Singapore, August 9, 2015
Small and cozy boutique hotel, with friendly staff

The interior decor, the friendly staff, the central location
8.7
I was very impressed by the interior decor; the owner had clearly put a fair bit of thought into collecting antique furniture and trappings for the hotel. Unlike many other hotels, the room was spacious and didn't feel at all claustrophobic. More importantly, the staff were very friendly and eager to help, providing prompt assistance whenever possible. I really liked that the hotel was very centrally located, being barely 15 minutes away from some of the best food and tourist attractions in Georgetown. Even more impressive was the in-house restaurant - I had a Peranakan dinner there and it was absolutely delicious (and cheap to boot!). However, I did feel that the amenities/toiletries could be improved on. Late one night, I requested an extra towel which took about half an hour to be delivered. Turns out that the staff had to run elsewhere to buy a brand-new towel. Props for the willingness to do so but it also felt weird that a hotel would run out of fresh towels. The selection of TV programmes can also be improved on. All in all, this is definitely a place I would return to if I do visit Penang again.
Report this review
Chiew K. Groups Malaysia, July 19, 2015
Unique Experience

Location, Antique Design & Spacious Room
6.3
overally okay, dislike the breakfast selection and taste and one of the staff not warm and welcoming.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 123 reviews Next page
 

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Hotel Exterior 1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Courtyard1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chinese Doorway1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Corridor outside the room1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Antique Museum1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Rooftop1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Entrance1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Meeting Hall1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Interior1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Restaurant1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Charity & Media Night1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Surroundings1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Koay Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Seah Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Yeoh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Tan Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chua Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Ooi Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Seah Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Ong Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Chan Khoo Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Loh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lim Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lim Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Loh Suite1881 Chong Tian Hotel Penang - Lee Suite


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08