Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 2829 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 2829 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 5.9
  • Location 7.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 6.8
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.1

Roger W. from Sri Lanka
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2016
The world should have moved on from 1926
Reception staff were unable to deal with my deafness. They all spoke to my friend and ignored me despite the booking being in my name. Restaurant staff refused service at 14:25 the day we arrived stating "the kitchen closes at 14:30". We had just arrived and had been travelling all morning. Breakfast was disappointing every morning. The room was functional but the wifi access and password was for a single device. If you have more than one you need a separate access and password for each.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Hoh T. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2016
July 2016
Nice ample parking.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Shi L. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in November 2015
Nice ambience, strategic location
The building is antique and full of historical value. Hence, it's really nice to visit the hotel when you are free and try to understand the story of the building. The hotel also located at the centre on penang which is very convenient to find food.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

Steven G. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2016
Useable
Location not ideal unless you have your own transport or take taxis, as it is not that close to the old town and a long walk to the hop on-hop off bus stop. Wifi reception was weak in the room I used. Staff were friendly and helpful and the pool was most welcome
Reviewed July 17, 2016

rizki A. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in July 2016
it's worthed
very strategic location.. just walk 5 mins to reach Burma Road food paradise.. walk 10 mins to Gleneagles Hospital. They provide large parking lot, nice staff, simply breakfast but it's still ok. Old hotel with good heritage, maybe WiFi not so good inside the room but very clear if you stay at the lobby :)
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Sateesh P. from India
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2016
Breakfast
Breakfast was really disappointing
Reviewed July 12, 2016

OOI M. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed one night in July 2016
👍🏽nice
Is ok good staff !just dun have hairdryer in room
Reviewed July 09, 2016

Por L. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed one night in July 2016
Slow check-in
Check in process took us so long time, I think it was about 20 minutes. The workers are slow and do not give priority to customers. Other aspects are fine.
Reviewed July 08, 2016

Hong K. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2016
Disappointing !!!
Long check in time, >30 min just to process the document for my check in, limited seats at lobby, my children have to stand and wait for check in. Awful breakfast, nasi lemak, porridge and bread only, all are not delicious. Rooms and balcony are dirty, furnitures are old, power point faulty. I definitely will not come back to this hotel again. I choose this hotel because it has a swimming pool. Other than swimming pool, nothing is good about this hotel.
Reviewed July 08, 2016

Suezanne A. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2016
Old British hotel
Old mouldy and smelt Crackes in bathroom with solid mould black Might have been nice in the day but not worth the money
Reviewed July 04, 2016