Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 236 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 7.5

John B.
South Africa
December 18, 2012
Not modern, but comfortable
Increddible views, great staff, great buffet breakfast, swimming pool in great position and condition, kiddies pool.
I traveled alone with my 2.5 year old. I was expecting modern, new rooms. The rooms however was clean, just old. The hotel is old with old fittings, but everything else that we did get, like the views, (sea and mountain), the breakfast (I generally do not like buffets), the swimming pool, friendly and helpful staff, the distance to the promenade made up for the non modern rooms. Hotel is walking distance to many great restaurants, the promenade has a wonderful jungle gym for kids. When in sea point the hotel is a definite place to stay.

Knight S.
United States
December 05, 2012
Satisfied but Nothing Really Special
Excellent View
this hotel is not what it used to be; many of its furnitures, carpet, and drapes are old and tired. yet, the view from above (if you should get a high floor) is spectacular. it's close to main street and beach road where you can jog or wait for the tour bus. the in-room safe was useful. i wish the hotel staff would routinely monitor the hall because there were lots of people talking loudly and running around in the hallway. the front desk staff rarely smile but they do good service. housekeeping staff was great. we did not eat at the rotating restaurant atop the hotel but we did go up there for a look. it's smaller than it look but again, impressive view of the ocean, sea point, lion's head, and signal hill. the pool is extremely small. it's a sufficient hotel. i'd not stay there again as i've seen view already. note: if you have small children, please warn them to not open the window. the windows on the higher floor could be open to their widest opening and you can literally throw a desk or a chair out of them. so please use caution. the windows were great as they bring in fresh air from the mountain and ocean.

Rolf U.
South Africa
November 28, 2012
no what it used to be
Views
The revolving restaurant and bar is great and the hotel is generally clean. But sadly the sands of time are slowly catching up on the once great Ritz and it now is nothing more than mediocre. Everywhere are signs of the maintenance budget that is getting less and less. Furthermore, we had no hot water in the morning and breakfast was not that great.

john O.
United Kingdom
September 23, 2012
Great Hotel for price
Great Hotel; for Price
Even with a very large contoingent of Police ataying with 100% occupancy rate Hotel kept service going All stall should be commended

Suzanne A.
United States
August 05, 2012
Great stay in Seapoint with a yummy breakfast
Comfortable beds, hot showers
My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here. The rooms are a little small, but we are only there to sleep. The breakfast was good, and the outside patio for the pool was awesome. I wish that the weather was hot enough for a quick swim. Both the front desk and the Airport Shuttle office were helpful and nice. They allowed us a late checkout and a place to store our luggage as our flight was later in the evening. I wish this hotel had an ATM or a cash-exchange desk, but it is not a problem as there are ATMs around town. The only negative point that I had with this hotel was that we asked for a late checkout (noon) and were called 2-3 times to checkout (well before noon). I'm not sure if the morning shift knew we were checking out late, but it was annoying to answer the phone when I knew I still had about 1/2 hour until noon. However, this small annoyance does not change my opinion of returning to this hotel. I love the area of Seapoint and this place is perfectly close to Beach Road and the little shops/restaurants.

Christiaan S.
South Africa
June 15, 2012
Very average
Good value for money
On the first day I went down for breakfast after 9 and there was barely anything left..service very non commital

WEE T.
Singapore
March 22, 2012
Unpleasant stay
Friendly staff
I would not recommend this hotel as I did not have a pleasant stay. The rooms were small & the first room which we were allocated had cockroaches in it. The staff were nice enough to arrange for a change of room. Overall it's not worth for the price we paid

irmina S.
Poland
March 21, 2012
lovely room in good location
room size , location
hotel is a little bit outdated from outside and bathroom could use a revamp but room itself is lovely, very spacious with sofa bed , view is lovely , location about 10 minutes on a cab from V&A waterfront, I would recommend especially for the price!!

Laken B.
South Africa
March 08, 2012
Lovely views and spacious rooms
Beautiful views
while staying at the ritz for three nights, i stayed on the 13th floor, which offered a great view of the ocean and of the city down main street. my room was spacious with a double bed and the bathroom was spacious as well, with a bath and shower head so one could enjoy the pleasures of both. the staff at the ritz were helpful and friendly. there is also available parking for those with cars and local taxis that come past very often for those that need to get out and about, without having to walk too far. i unfortunately didn’t go have a look at the pool or jacuzzi, but they do offer these facilities, as well as breakfast from 6am to 10am.

Valencia S.
South Africa
January 11, 2012
Great Location
The breakfast is great
As my husband is a diabetic we needed to leave his insulin at reception, I bar fridge in the room would have been great.