Back to hotel info

Very good 7.9
Based on 68 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 68 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 9.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Ron R.
Canada
September 15, 2014
Protea Breakwater
Location, contemporary feel of the room, breakfast

riyaad G.
South Africa
September 10, 2014
Awesome service, and great location
Location, location and location
It was a excellent stay, really enjoyed it , clean, staff were very helpfull, v&a, red tour busses and aquarium right outside the hotel was so convenient , could walk at night to the waterfront , all that was missing was a shuttle service to and from the airport , table mountai and maybe to sellective beaches 😄 lol because the cabs are expensive 🙈

Anne R.
United States
May 17, 2014
Clean and quiet hotel close to the action
Clean, comofortable bed, black out drapes
I slept really well here despite flying 30 hrs and a big time change from the U.S. I credit this to the black out drapes, clean room, comfortable bed, and clean bedding. We upgraded to an executive size room and it was very nice, modern and clean. It looked like it was recently remodeled. The bathroom was airy and not stuffy or stinky like most hotel rooms. It was a 5 minute walk to the waterfront action/restaurants. The only negatives I would say is that is a large complex combined with a business school so we always got turned around and usually had a bit of walking to do before we could find our room. Also, there are some very loud scary sounding seagulls in the area. I was worried about security as the exterior doors weren't locked and open to the public but they probably had security cameras and I didn't see any suspicious people. Make sure you push/pull your room door shut as well- ours did not close completely on it's own. We had a courtyard/interior room and I felt the price was very reasonable.

Andrew T.
United Kingdom
May 13, 2014
short stay but found hotel perfect for us.
location, price, views from lounges.
Had great stay & only fault I had was that I love cooked tomatoes on toast for breakfast but tomatoes were not on breakfast buffet. I didn't ask for tomatoes & maybe if I had they would have been provided. otherwise everything was good.

Louie Z.
South Africa
May 01, 2014
Very nice but to small for a family
Cleaness
Nice and a expriences friendlynes and cleannigess ok

Mwembe S.
Zambia
April 02, 2014
Great Stay
Value for money; Very good location (at the Waterfront); and Friendly Staff
Everything about the hotel is excellent. Would highly recommend it.

Sim S.
Singapore
December 12, 2013
Close to V&A waterfront
Walking distance to V&A waterfront shopping. Interesting Hotel to explore as it use to be a prison.Coin operated washing machines makes laundry very affordable and convenient in the hotel itself.
Room size is abit small but comfortable. Reception are friendly and efficient.

dean R.
United States
December 06, 2013
Gem of a hotel in a perfect location
Located right on the V&A waterfront; step out to the waterfront restaurants and shops, close to the wharfs for cruising, hop-on-hop trolly off right at the door
Staff was most professional and friendly; housekeeping was impeccable. A portion is in an old prison, so the prison corridors with guard walks are still there; but very much cleaned and attractive. Rooms are recently renovated (larger than the cells must have been !). Front door of the hotel faces away from the waterfront, but thru the back of the hotel you can pop down some stairs right to the action on the waterfront: Hop-on-hop-off trolly to anywhere in the city, the aquarium, sailing and diving excursions, exclusive shopping as well as more local shops in the artisan centers; excellent and wide variety of restaurants. Truly a perfect location for enjoying the city as well as stepping off to go outside the city, Cape Point (southernmost point), wine country, penguin colony, robbins island (where Mandela was imprisoned for 18 years) and many others.

Carol D.
United States
November 27, 2013
Very comfortable, pleasant, short vacation
large room, close to V & A Waterfront, very pleasant staff
My granddaughter and I had a pleasant, comfortable stay at this hotel which was a very convenient walk to shopping, tours and dining.

Misha A.
United Kingdom
November 09, 2013
Good, next to teh V&A marinaa
Location
My stay was good. as a member of Clipper race i wanted to SLEEP:-)