arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 9.0
Based on 39 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 39 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 9.2
  • Service 9.3
  • Value for Money 9.0
  • Food/Dining 8.8

Lorraine E.
South Africa
July 26, 2014
Awesome
Staff. comfort, location
This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. I love the heated bathroom floor and towel rail. Nkosi is an amazing wonderful manager who is friendly and caring and will go out of his way to assist where he can. In a nutshell if you are looking for a wonderful deal. The Sugar Hotel is it!

John T.
South Africa
June 19, 2014
Comfortable but nothing special
Location, location, location
Average, comfortable room but nothing special. Probably 4 star than 5 star as advertised

Damian P.
Australia
May 10, 2014
Brilliant ( I never write reviews )
Quality luxury rooms, helpful friendly staff, excellent location
Excellent.

HYE K.
South Korea
March 12, 2014
Pleasant and cozy place with really friendly staff
Chic decors, great breakfast, friendly staffs
We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was one of the best hotel experience. Clean, chic and cute interiors impressed us upon arrival. Although pool was smaller than expected, we had a small private jacuzzi in front of our room. Breakfast served from 7am was really delicious and fresh. Staffs were attentive and friendly. Room is not very spacious but it is good enough. Bathroom was very clean and spacious. It also has bathtub and bath-salt. Great value for money boutique hotel.

Jennifer R.
United States
June 26, 2013
Best Value for Maximum Experience
amazing staff caters to any and every need or want
I can't say enough great things about the Sugar Hotel. It's like staying with a friend or family -- anything you need, they'll make sure it's taken care of. And the price! So affordable! We had the on-duty manager schedule three separate adventure days for us (two of which were completely private using the hotel's luxury car and a private tour guide), which can be catered to your whims on the fly. One of our suitcases broke in transit -- no problem. They had it sent out to be fixed for $20 (US). The Waterfront is about a 5 - 10-minute walk, where you can find tons of restaurants and a full shopping mall. Table Mountain is just a few miles away. I fell in love with Cape Town, in large part due to the amazing experience I had at this hotel. If I am ever able to get back, I will without a doubt stay there again. Oh! And breakfast! Ridiculously good. Legit.

Debra C.
Australia
January 16, 2013
Fabulous hotel with very helpful staff
The hotel is well located, the breakfasts were wonderful and the rooms were attractive
Sugar Hotel is a lovely boutique hotel with good sized rooms, beautiful decor and great staff. Everyone staff member we met was positive and could not do enough to help you. The breakfasts (prepared by the owners) were just wonderful. We would have tried dinner in the hotel but it was fully booked each night. It is in walking distance to numerous hotels and shops. We would recommend the hotel highly and hope to return.

Ruby H.
United Kingdom
January 08, 2013
Certain areas need an overhaul
Lovely Staff & Service
Stayed 3 nights. Hotel is in a convenient location for the waterfront. Overall has a lot of potential but was let down by the stained carpets in my room and hallway. The dining room also didn't appear to be kept up to scratch with dust and hair on floors & dirty tablecloths. Such a shame as the staff are lovely & the immediate presentation looks impeccable. Just not acceptable for a hotel to be dirty & shabby in parts.

Susanne B.
United Kingdom
December 17, 2012
Nothing too much trouble
Underfloor heating in bathrooms spa like feel.
It was an absolute delight from start to finish. Staff sleek and their aim is to please

Alexander W.
United Kingdom
December 13, 2012
I think this is my favourite hotel in the World.
Great location, service, food, rooms
Tiny little Boutique hotel, one of Cape Town's real gems. I don't know what to compliment first. The rooms are superb and very well fitted-out and mine had a hot-tub out on a private balcony. The staff counldn't have done more for us, taking time to walk us down to the Waterfront (a 5-7 minute walk, very convenient), opening the bar especially for us when we arrived that first night at some late hour. Thanks very much for an absolutely wonderful stay. I shall be back!

Arlan R.
Ireland
December 12, 2012
Brilliant location with amazing service
friendly accommodating staff, spa, comfort of a boutique hotel centrally located
A fab boutique hotel centrally located. Thank you for holding onto our bag for 2 days and then giving us a room each on our return to staying at your hotel. I will be recommending your hotel to everyone.