Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 78 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.0
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 6.5

Shameel R. from Mauritius
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in February 2015
Noisy location.
Not much was great about this hotel, the pictures and description on the travel websites are grossly exaggerated, not value for money. The street it is located on is the most NOISY street in CT
We were out in meetings all day, and when we returned at night it was almost impossible to sleep, due to the noise and music coming from the nearby bars and clubs. There is absolutely no sound insulation in the rooms, so the noise is unbearable when you want to rest at night, and only subsides at 2.00 am in weekdays, and until 6.00 am in week-ends. I would not recommend this hotel, unless you are out seeking fun and enjoying the bars and music. There were regular power cuts and no emergency lights were working, we had to request for torches to get down the stairs.
Reviewed February 16, 2015

Catherine M. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in January 2015
F
Vvvbnn
Reviewed January 30, 2015

Nontandazo M. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in November 2014
Central location
Central Location, table mountain view
Had a lovely stay, the staff was helpful. The noise coming from the street was unbearable, thanks to the ear plugs offered by the hotel I managed to get some sleep.
Reviewed November 20, 2014

Gerhardus P. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in September 2014
I will never stay in this Hotel again.
I was on my Honeymoon at this Hotel. I will never in my life go and stay at this Hotel again. I don't know who gives the STAR Rating to the Hotel but this is not a 4 STAR Hotel at all. I am not going to explain my self on an email waiting for some one to phone me so I can give my point of view what I think of Urban Chic Hotel. Thanks Their is nothing good about Urban Chic Hotel
Reviewed October 09, 2014

Chye T. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 6 nights in September 2014
A good hotel other than the location
A variety of breakfast choices, room cleanliness, friendly staff
Overall, I enjoyed staying at the hotel. The room was clean and spacious for one person, with an open tub. The Internet connection was decent, but the television wasn't working. Unlike many other hotels, the breakfast choices were from a menu which you could pick from, so you can have a different breakfast everyday instead of eating the same things from a buffet line. On the downside, it can really get loud at night and into the morning (up to 4am), especially on the weekends. Fortunately, I am able to sleep even with loud noises, so that wasn't a problem for me. But if noise is a problem for you, I won't recommend staying here. There are plenty of restaurants and bars around the hotel along Long St, so having dinner nearby after sunset is not a problem, although you do have people coming up to you to ask for money. The immediate area is heavily patrolled by security personnel, so safety is not a huge concern. Parking is at the adjacent building along Pepper St, and if you're alone, you might have to park your car somewhere nearby (or right in front of the garage) and go request for the receptionist to open the garage door for you. This isn't a problem, except that you might have to pay the "minder" along the street while your car is parked. Although the hotel only has 10 parking spaces reserved in the building, this is usually not a problem since the hotel is small and not every guest will have a car.
Reviewed September 27, 2014

Elvira M. from South Africa
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in August 2014
Too much noise in the evening
Nothing just price
Far too noisy and will not be used again.
Reviewed September 11, 2014

Roger S. from Switzerland
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2014
Basic needs met
Shops and restaurants within short walking distance
Basic needs met. Advertised free cake & coffee between 3-6pm. At 3:10 pm we were told the last 2 slices had gone. Manager had bad attitude when asked what she would do about it.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Andries H. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2014
Not so Chic
Location, views, great room
Hotel staff member when I booked the room were not very helpful. Seemed lazy and not really willing to do a bit extra. Hotel seemed deserted. No one offered to take my luggage to my room. The rooms itself are chic indeed and very spacious. Nice view of the city and streets below including a breathtaking view of table mountain. Staff in the morning were completely the opposite of the evening. Very accommodating and friendly. Note: this hotel makes a photocopy of both sides of your credit card. Do NOT allow this. Also, ask for a receipt for the deposit you have to pay. Otherwise I can recommend this hotel if you must stay in the city. Close to all whats happening in Cape Town.
Reviewed August 04, 2014

Tine-Mari Z. from South Africa
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2014
Money's worth!
Breakfast was fabulous and variaty super. Bath big enough for relaxing after long drive. Bedroomspacious and
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Mary V. from United States
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in June 2014
Great place in city
Great location, great service, very comfortable
Easy access to hop on hop off red bus. Walking distance to St. George's Mall. Great place to stay.
Reviewed July 03, 2014