arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 196 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 196 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.8
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.9

4 steven M.
South Africa
June 29, 2015
Coacroaches
Had to book out a day earlier because of coacroaches and no working air-conditioning. Was disgusted with the lack of attention by the staff to assist.

7 Livingstone N.
South Africa
June 18, 2015
Friendly staff
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was good and enjoyable and the location of the hotel is good. Sea view is excellent.
I liked the excellent sea view from my room. I also liked the food and the friendly staff.

6.7 Lucas M.
South Africa
June 15, 2015
mr lt morebudi
it is next to the sea

2 yazeed P.
South Africa
June 08, 2015
Roach Hotel
lift didn't work, they couldn't pick up my booking on their computer, staff had a don't care attitude, a cleaning lady opened my door with her master key and walked right in, the rooms had insects all over, damp smell, blankets had cigarette burns, cupboards were extremely filthy, breakfast buffet was just terrible, food was stale, the windows in the room were broken, aircon didn't work, overall it was the worst experience of my life.

7.7 BEAUTY M.
South Africa
May 28, 2015
Need some renovation and to buy some new furniture
food was excellent, nearer to the beach, some of staff members were friendly
Ok

5.7 Christo H.
South Africa
May 18, 2015
Sadly disappointed
Location, food, bar
Disappointing, it has become run down and dirty. Staff are unprofessional, our room door could not lock, reported but not fixed. Public areas are neglected and dirty.

5.3 Lisa S.
Ireland
May 13, 2015
Disastrous. Needs some serious investment....
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, completely lovely.
In spite of extremely helpful and friendly staff in all departments, the Beach Hotel is rather disastrous. e.g.: Elevator - not working on day 1 of my 5-night stay, and thereafter only sporadically. Until... Sunday morning when it failed so miserably that the fire department had to come and extricate people. The staff expressed an awareness of its poor state and indicated that they actually needed new elevators... What in the world are you doing operating them if you know they are unsafe?? Other safety issues - the kettle in my room was not working properly and would not shut off until I removed the plug from the wall. In doing so, I actually burned my finger (i.e. it left a burn mark in my skin) as the plug had become so hot. Staff replaced it on request, but these things must be monitored better. General lack of cleanliness - the smell in the lobby actually made me hold my breath every time I walked in. I don't know what has been spilled or rotted into the area but it's atrocious. Same goes for the elevators. Room cleanliness - while sitting on my bed working on my laptop, a cockroach scurried up the side of the sheets... And although I reported the lace of cleanliness (everything is sticky to the touch, e.g. the backs of chairs, door handles, the entire bathroom door being filthy, sticking to the bathroom floor, etc, etc), nothing changed during my stay. F&B - food for room service was extremely bad. The restaurant was acceptable for 3* but the coffee was not good. In fact, I couldn't drink it at all and rather bought coffee elsewhere. In general, some of the things are normal for an older property but only when it has not been properly maintained. This place needs some proper investment, and quickly. It is difficult to keep staff motivated under such working conditions and I think they do a remarkable job, given the circumstances.

7.3 Javed J.
Tanzania
May 13, 2015
Bad management
Nothing
The room I was checked in, The air conditioners did not work, so they changed my room, In the other room, the zircons were working but no remote control. The list were being repaired and two lifts were not workining and finally three of us got stuck in lift for malfunction and we had to wait for almost 2 hours on Sunday morning. The hotel management had no courtesy to say Sorry. Be careful, when you book this place

4.7 Dalene H.
South Africa
May 01, 2015
Poor Standards
The good thing is the location
Unfortunately choosing this hotel was a mistake. Quite frankly it's the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. It's dirty and the staff unaccommodating

9 Anna M.
South Africa
April 28, 2015
should provide refrigirator in rooms
clean close to the beach easy accesible
good