or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ajanta Hotel

36 Arakashan Road, Ram Nagar, Pahar Ganj, New Delhi and NCR, India (Show on map)

Book now!

Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Bathroom Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Restaurant Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Interior Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Bathroom Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Exterior Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Interior
Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Restaurant Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Interior Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Interior Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest Room
Area: Pahar Ganj Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.2

based on
624 reviews

Value for Money
7.4
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
7.3
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.2
Room Comfort/Standard
7.4
Food/Dining
6.8
All reviews (624)
Sort by:
Philip H. Couples United Kingdom, September 17, 2012
close to station other then very poor location

good room, Good helpful staff
6
Restaurant closed from 7pm to 10pm for cleaning, could have picked a better time, charged waiting time for the airport pickup when the flight did not make a stop and arrived 1 hour early, in all good stay
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: red fort, zoo (closed on Friday), Humyans tomb, old fort all close
Salbiah O. Couples Malaysia, September 15, 2012
Great location

In central
8.3
When we ariived we stay one night and the next day when to agra, after overnight weh chechk in again at this hotel, as we like the hotel and also the staff there. They are kind and helpful.
Hotel Feature Tip: Be aware of pick pockets
Fabian O. Groups Singapore, September 7, 2012
most horrid experience ever.

Gundit, the lady front desk executive.
2
booking was made 3 months in advance for 3x deluxe rooms with parking charges of rs 140 and the promise to keep our party of 5 in rooms next to each other was sent. on the day of our arrival (landed in new delhi at 10pm),the airport pickup was there to receive us, 2 vans in total. at the front desk, our horrible experience started. the manager had the cheek to say that they are offering a single room upgrade to a superior room as they are fully booked. this was when they forcibly made us go into our separate rooms one at a time on separate floors. the 'supposed' room upgrade to a superior room was the deluxe room i booked on agoda. when i checked out my friends room, they were so small and totally unlike the deluxe room pictured. in fact, they definitely fit into the standard room category. regardless, as it was late, we were tired out and made no fuss of this. asking that same hotel manager for transport, he quoted rs.400 for a single taxi to gurawada road, a mere 3km+ away. the scamming continued, as there were 5 of us, we would need 2 taxis. we ended up hailing auto from the main road as those parked outside the hotel are part of the scam charging exorbitant fares. the agreed upon fare was only rs.50 per auto. the next night, we asked for a late check-out, the cost as quoted, rs.7600 to check out at 8pm for a single room. ridiculous. on the morning of our check out, the hotel tried charging parking charge for all 3 rooms instead of a single parking charge. this was when we had enough and flipped out. gundit then came to appease us with a complementary late check out for one room and help us pre-book taxis to the airport for rs.600 per taxi which we paid in advance. returning from our shopping at night to leave for the airport. the same manager tried charging us for the taxis again. we confronted him, for clearly in their system was recorded "advance taxi cash - rs.1200." as he pretended to call someone before releasing us
Hotel Feature Tip: -2 stars think 5 stars hotel. -the manager will cheat you of your money. shame on him. -bathroom light not working, replaced with a single dangerously hanging bulb and total mess in the bathroom. -renovation works on going in the hotel. -walk out to the main road to hail your own auto. -save yourself the misery we suffered, stay elsewhere.
Choi K. Solo travelers China, September 7, 2012
good

good good good
6
Catherine C. Solo travelers United Kingdom, September 3, 2012
Noisey, nr train station, scamming minds

My bedroom was a good size and hotel is located near the train station. The food is very good.
6.3
My free taxi ride from the airport to the hotel had an annoying 20mins petrol stop. As soon as I entered the hotel I was bombarded from every direction. The manager was trying to get me to book trips with them quoting figures here and there. He also informed me how dangerous it was for a single female to go out by herself and then tried to get me to book a personal taxi for the day.Finally I was shown to my room-a good size to discover a photocopied page form a travel book highlighting once again how dangerous Delhi is for women etc. The bathroom was disappointing - a little dirty, no towels or soap and a giant spider in the sink. At night time the street was very lively with one night feeling like I had a disco in my room.The food was very good though. The main problem with the hotel is how they try to scam you. I made a few inquiries about a day trip to Agra and about keeping my room a little longer. On both occasions I was told a high price, which when asked again a few hours later changed to a much lower price. I do not know if it just depends on which member of staff you ask or if this is a system they employ. Either way I found it very cheeky. I did book a taxi for a day trip to Agra in the end (once the price had gone down twice unknowingly to them). It was not a fun day. -was taken to an expensive roadside restaurant 'for breakfast' without being asked ,picked up a tour guide I did not request who later on tried to take me to an ATM for a larger tip and was also taken to a marble showroom I did not want to visit. Upon leaving the hotel I was forced to have a member of staff carry my bags to the train station for a silly fee (by Indian standards). So would I stay here again - nope. Would I eat here again - yes. Would I recommend this hotel to my friends - nope. Sorry Ajanta. The scamming was just too much for me, as was the lack of sleep due to a noisy nightlife on your street. It's very close to New Delhi train station though if that is all you are after.
Susan S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, August 31, 2012
Lovely, welcoming staff...

Great resaurant and deluxe room is great value for money.
9.7
I stayed at the Ajanta a few times during my 6 weeks in India. First I stayed alone for 5 days and everyone was really helpful. It is worth taking the hotel car with driver for sightseeing (currently 1000 rupees for 4 hours or 1500 rupees for 8 hours - August 2012). It takes the hassle out of negotiating with other taxis and the driver waits for you wherever you go. The air conditioning is a welcome relief after sightseeing in the hot, sweaty monsoon season! DO try tuc-tuc riding, however - it is a real experience!
Shopping Tip: DON'T bother with Karol Bagh for shopping (unless you want spices - there's a big shop there where I bought lots.) DO go to Dilli Haat - the gifts/souvenirs there are great and, although not a lot of haggling/negociation is possible, there is some, and it's fun! Restaurant has brilliant choice of food and is used by local people. (Incidentally, the lemon water and the lassi are great when your stomach is not on top form!) Internet is free - both on the rooftop and in the lobby air-conditioned office. The Ajanta is in Old Delhi and you have to like the hustle and bustle (i.e. noise and dirt and traffic) of Arakashan Road. My partner joined me after 5 days and they arranged his airport pick-up with no problem. We went to Ladakh (AMAZING - you will love Leh/Nubra valley/Pangong Tso - and DON'T miss Turtuk!) for 3 weeks and on our return, it was Krishna's birthday. We were pleasantly surprised to watch the colourful parade from outside the Ajanta and enjoy all the drumming and music. We also went to Aurangabad (DON'T miss the Ellora and Ajanta caves there) and Ahmedabad. Each time we returned to the hotel, we were welcomed with warmth and delight that we chose to use them again.
Maureen M. Groups United Kingdom, August 22, 2012
Hotel under construction!!!!

food travel desk
5.3
Stayed in the Maharajah suite, unfortunately construction of walls and flooring outside room with grinders etc., dust,noise most unpleasant.Tour booking easy. Dining room toilet filthy, and staff rude.Food OK. expensive for India.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If booking the one day tour to TajMahal, make sure you go by the express road at an extra cost of 310rps each way it cuts about 5 hours from travel time.
Jamie J. Solo travelers United States of America, August 21, 2012
Clean Hotel, nice staff

central location to many markets ,good restaurant , travel agent
8.7
Nice staff, good location, good price, clean, not all rooms have windows so check ahead if you require them, most rooms have been remodeled, 24 hour check in, free hotel PU, safe for single female travelers. Good t know, if your not happy with anything make sure to tell staff they will try and fix the issue, just remember it's India and you have to be flexible:)
Karolina B. Solo travelers Switzerland, August 7, 2012
Lovely hitel with friendly people

Clean, friendly staff
6.3
The hotel is located near new delhi railway station. I had a clean room, but it was very noisy and the fan and the aircon too. There is no free wifi, you have to pay for it and it does not work in the room, only in the lobby. The room itself did not look as nice as on the pictures shown. It was dark, small, and noisy. The staff was all the time very friendly and nice.
Hoang L. Solo travelers Vietnam, July 27, 2012
near New Delhi railways station

clean room
6
i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. great location, near by new delhi railways station, clean room, free internet, hotel prepaid ac taxi to all attractions, tour desk also available with best cost, allow for 2-3 hours late check-out, breakfast is great.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ajanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Hotel ExteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - RestaurantAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Deluxe RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - ExteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - RestaurantAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - ExteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - ExteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Guest RoomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Coffee Shop/CafeAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - sitting areaAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - superiorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - LobbyAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - LobbyAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - Balcony/TerraceAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - InteriorAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - BathroomAjanta Hotel New Delhi and NCR - main entrance

Customer Reviews - Ajanta Hotel, New Delhi and NCR

AS-AGWEB-3C05