Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Akwa Guesthouse

28/12 Moo 3, South Chaweng Beach Rd. , Chaweng, Samui, Thailand 84320 (Show on map)

Book now!

Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Akwa Building Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Exterior Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Reception Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Lobby Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Deluxe Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Bathroom Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Standard room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Bathroom Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Lobby
Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Restaurant Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Safe in every room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Interior Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Surroundings Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Bathroom Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest Room Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Pub/Lounge Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Restaurant Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Interior Akwa Guesthouse Samui - Akwa Restaurant
Area: Chaweng Number of Rooms: 23
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.0

based on
602 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
7.4
Staff Performance
6.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
6.8
Room Comfort/Standard
7.1
Food/Dining
6.6
All reviews (602)
Sort by:
Harriet C. Groups United Kingdom, October 28, 2012
very average

good english breakfast but quite expensive
6
Our original room at first glance looked good, for a standard room it was very big but after spending one night in there we realised the bed was hands down the worst bed we have ever slept in. The springs were sticking out of the mattress and there was all rusty. You could barely turn round in the bathroom and the door didn't shut. However, when we complained the owner Martin told us if we wanted to move rooms we would have to pay. We argued and told him to look at the state of the mattress (I wouldn't have let a dog sleep on it) and he agreed to upgrade us for the 2nd night but would make us move back to the other room the night after. The next day we saw mattresses being delivered so he clearly understood how inadequate the bed was. He never mentioned moving us back to the other room and we remained in a very pleasant room for the remainder of our stay which we couldn't fault except for the dirty bed sheets.. Which we asked to be changed but they never did.. Overall an alright stay in the end for what we paid for but I wouldn't rush to go back.
Nightlife Tip: Go down to Ark Bar on a Wednesday/Friday for the beach party
Joanne B. Solo travelers United Kingdom, October 27, 2012
very friendly and unique rooms

comfortable rooms, helpful staff
8.7
i only stayed one night but the room was comfortable and clean! the bar is a 1 minute walk from the rooms but the staff are very friendly and helpful, organising my trip to kho phangan the next day(even though it was 10pm when i arrived-this was no problem). the food is also of good quality!
Hsiao H. Solo travelers Taiwan, October 21, 2012
Cheap

Cheap
6
Beau B. Couples Australia, October 20, 2012
Funky Hostel with good amenities but overpriced.

Decor. Room Size. Free water. Comfortable Bed.
6.3
Funky and clean hostel. We had a superior queen room which included TV with DVD player. Wifi signal was strong, the room size is big but this is all overpriced. The same can be had from neighbouring guest houses for less than half the price.
Hotel Feature Tip: Check out some of the Guesthouses close by for better value for money.
Stephen T. Couples Australia, October 19, 2012
Inexpensive hotel - funky but basic

The pop artwork in the rooms are cool
7
Had the family apartment which had a bit of space & 3 tv's, but 2nd bedroom is less than 5feet high so only really for. Kids. Bugs were able to get in & we had flies & mozzies share the room. Owned by a restaurant but breakfast is not included. Tv reception is rubbish.
Hotel Feature Tip: Get the penthouse if you can - the best room
Traci K. Families with young children Australia, September 27, 2012
Quiet location suitable for relaxing

Lots of space!
7.7
Akwa in South Chaweng, nearby shops, restuarants, markets and across the road from the beach. Pool is not in complex but use pool at resort across the road instead - a 1-2 minute walk. No hot water. Good space with 1 bedroom downstairs and a small low ceilinged loft room upstairs and a fold out sofabed down stairs. Included dining area, fridge and kettle, handy for drinks and cooling the complimentary water. 3 tv's and a dvd player inclusive of large range of dvds to pick from.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Full day jungle safari with elephant ride and waterfall swim definately worth the money!
Melissa S. Couples United Kingdom, September 24, 2012
Good cheap hotel

good location
7.3
hire out a scooter there about 150 for the day rather than paying 200 in a taxi just to go down the road.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: hire out a scooter there about 150 for the day rather than paying 200 in a taxi just to go down the road.
Dean B. Couples United Kingdom, September 23, 2012
Value for money. Room was small but comfortable

In the quieter area of chaweng more relaxing. Good beach
6.7
No problems with our stay. room was small but comfortable enough. Restaraunts and beach over the road. Nice part of chaweng beach too. Was value for money.
Travel tip: Market up the road on certain nights which sells great food at great prices
Ryan M. Couples Australia, September 12, 2012
Funky place, a nice change

Location, apartment-style room
8.3
The photos do a good job of depicting what the rooms are actually like, which is a nice change. Very funky, like a cool little apartment, all the mod cons you could need, Wi-Fi in the room (which wasn't working at one point, I told the manager and it was fixed the next day) and very clean. The location is great, quick access to everything in the Chaweng area (the most 'happening area on the island). The management and staff are helpful and friendly. I didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't comment ont he food (it's silly that agoda.com forces you rate this, it skews the results). Would highly recommend staying here regardless of whether you're a solo, couple or family.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: If you're going to the Namuang waterfalls, make sure you check out 'number 1'. All the signs point to Namuang Waterfall 2 but I thought it wasn't as impressive as the other one (very close by), which has a decent pool at the bottom you can swim in. Might be a different story at different times of the year; I went in September.
Danielle P. Groups Ireland, September 9, 2012
Good location, clean and friendly staff

Rooms were really quirky, clean and very comfortable
7.7
We stayed here for three nights. I booked two deluxe rooms. As I had read reviews I sent an email to Akwa to ensure we got deluxe rooms as opposed to the standard rooms I had seen other people received. As there were not two deluxe rooms available they gave us a free upgrade to the penthouse which was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, however one woman kept trying to sell us trips which we later priced in other tourist offices and found they were much cheaper outside of the hotel. The rooms had safes which was perfect. Main problem we experienced was the wifi. It only worked in the restaurant and not in the rooms. Bit annoying when the restaurant was closed but not a deal breaker.
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: We rented bikes just down from the hotel and explored the island that way which was really amazing. It was safe once you take your time and very easy to navigate, would really advise this as the attractions are spread around the island and taxis back tend to charge whatever they want as they know tourists have no other options.

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Akwa Guesthouse SamuiAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Akwa BuildingAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - ExteriorAkwa Guesthouse Samui - ReceptionAkwa Guesthouse Samui - LobbyAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Deluxe RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - BathroomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Standard roomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - BathroomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - LobbyAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - RestaurantAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Safe in every roomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - InteriorAkwa Guesthouse Samui - SurroundingsAkwa Guesthouse Samui - BathroomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Guest RoomAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Pub/LoungeAkwa Guesthouse Samui - RestaurantAkwa Guesthouse Samui - InteriorAkwa Guesthouse Samui - Akwa Restaurant

Customer Reviews - Akwa Guesthouse, Samui

AM-AGWEB-4F04