arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 3618 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3618 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Pei T.
Singapore
January 14, 2014
Basic
Central location, helpful staffs
Wifi is poor in the room. Small pool, basic rooms. Could have gotten better rooms with other hotels with that price, good enough for sleeping. But it's centrally located, near to shopping mall and Bangla road-nightlife (10mins walk), not so near to the beach (15-20mins walk to Patong beach).

Pei T.
Singapore
January 14, 2014
Good enough for sleeping
Convenient, centrally located
Got the standard room, it was very basic, not impressive. Quite different looking from the photos, would have paid $10-20 USD more for a more comfortable and nicely decorated room in that area. Walked passed the deluxe room, looks better, but would still prefer another hotel, Amata is dimly-litted everywhere, made up of three buildings. Location of Amata is quite good, it's near to nightlife spots like Bangla road. It takes about 15-20mins to the beach, lots of massage parlours and tour agencies near the hotel. Shopping mall is about 10mins walk, they have Big C supermarket in the mall which was the most useful shop to me. Shopping in the mall was pricey. Amata is quite a well-known hotel, no problems when asking for directions back to the hotel, or when telling the taxi/tut-tut. The standard room was really just good enough for a sleep, you wouldn't want to stay in the room for long!

WAI K.
Myanmar
January 14, 2014
Nice
close to night life, near beach, and friendly staffs
Me and my sister had great days in phuket. The hotel staffs are friendly and rooms are big.

Sean H.
Ireland
January 14, 2014
Eating out, Island Tours and Nightlife
Central location, Affordable, Good breakfast
Amata is located nice and close to the main strip in Phuket, Bangaloor. Also close to Patong beach like a 5 min walk. Rooms were nice and spacious. Some with good views some with bad views. Bathroom was small and simple, but all in all it was great value for money. Pool bar does good food and drinks. Morning breakfast was nice.

E F.
Canada
January 13, 2014
Comfortable if somewhat pricey
The location is convenient, the pool is relaxing (but cold), the breakfast is good.
We were six nights and were satisfied with all but the ant problem - especially around our bathroom sink but also around the desk in the room. We made sure there was no food loose and kept everything that ants might go for in the fridge. The hotel has a common problem in Thailand - poor maintenance and an absence of repairs, even simple ones.

Linda S.
Australia
January 11, 2014
comfortable, easy
air conditioning, pools, free water
Great pool, cool and cleanrooms, fresh water everyday and lovely breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location.

Melissa A.
United States
January 11, 2014
warning: do not stay here!
close to the beach, near good food, near good shopping/spas
i was so excited to stay here based on all the previous reviews i had read about the 'resort' (it shouldn't be legal to call amata a resort). it was nothing like what anyone described. upon arrival, i checked my bed and noticed a gigantic stain on the sheets. i was able to get a new room, but that was just the start. the pool is decrepit,the rooms old and musty, the place is unfortunate. if you decided to stay here, which i urge you not to, ask to stay in the new wing. we were told it would cost most money if we wanted to be in the new wing. they didn't clarify at booking that there was a difference. i wish i had stayed at the holiday inn, or any other of the plentiful and better looking places at patong. i also wish i had stayed at kata noi or kata instead of patong. however, phuket it beautiful. i made sure to spend all my waking hours outside of amata!

Rhonda P.
United Kingdom
January 10, 2014
Eventfull stay at Amata
Close to Beach, Bangla Road and Jungcelyon.
Firstly, some things advertised about this hotel is incorrect. There are only superior rooms in the new building, if you book a deluxe you will be in the old building and have to upgrade at a cost. I stayed for 13 nights and after upgrade was given a room on the 8th floor, where the rooms are much better. I found a pigeon nesting with two eggs on my balcony, after they were removed the pigeons kept returning and the mess was terrible. The balcony, bathroom sink and bathroom floor were not cleaned for the duration off my stay. My sheets were not changed at all. They did not check or replace anything in the fridge again for the duration of my stay. The rooftop pool and chairs was never cleaned and were really dirty. There was a bottle on my floor outside the lift that was there for a week before someone actually removed it, needless to say the floor was not cleaned either. They advertise 6 bars, the rooftop pool had a small fridge with a few drinks and there was no food advertised but if you did want something it came on a plate from the restaurant in the other building, 9 floors down and across the other side. The rooftop pool was never open at 11am. There was a small bar at the other pool and one in the restaurant, which you could access when it was open. The restaurant closed at 7pm, so I could not sample the food as I don't eat before 7pm. The breakfast was not worth the 280baht. The staff were all friendly, with the exception of one female on desk in new building. The Wifi worked well, after I had to ask for it to be fixed when I first arrived. Had no TV for 3 days till they fixed the ariel. If the cleaning was done I would say this was more like a 2 star hotel, but only in the new building, the old building a 1 star as the rooms were smelly and the furniture was so badly stained and old. There is a kettle in the room but nothing else. It is very close to Beach, Bangla Road and Jungceylon.

robert H.
Australia
January 10, 2014
good /clean/ good staff breackfast average
pool/ posision and general good feeling
was good! thanks to all the staff and was generally a good clean set up we upgraded to the pool view was just a better set up for us the location was better than I expected we were central to every thing at walking distance

Stuart S.
United Kingdom
January 10, 2014
Average hotel
Location and Value only
Stayed here for 1 night before moving over to the Casa Jip (which was better). The positives: Staff are good with English and hotel is in a convenient central location. The rooms are a decent size and the hotel itself looks to be quite clean and spacious. The negatives: Wifi was down when I arrived and stayed down for the next 24 hrs. When I queried this I was given conflicting stories during which a member of staff openly lied to me (I only found this out later). First room I was given had a dirty bathroom and I requested a move. Second room was nicer but note that the beds are firm. I was housed in the 'budget' wing which doesn't have an elevator. Also note that a lot of noise from the corridor can be heard in the rooms at night. Verdict: An average value-focused hotel. There are better options elsewhere.