arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 3607 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3607 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Staff Performance 7.7
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.6

8 Linda S.
Australia
January 11, 2014
comfortable, easy
air conditioning, pools, free water
Great pool, cool and cleanrooms, fresh water everyday and lovely breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location.

3.7 Melissa A.
United States
January 11, 2014
warning: do not stay here!
close to the beach, near good food, near good shopping/spas
i was so excited to stay here based on all the previous reviews i had read about the 'resort' (it shouldn't be legal to call amata a resort). it was nothing like what anyone described. upon arrival, i checked my bed and noticed a gigantic stain on the sheets. i was able to get a new room, but that was just the start. the pool is decrepit,the rooms old and musty, the place is unfortunate. if you decided to stay here, which i urge you not to, ask to stay in the new wing. we were told it would cost most money if we wanted to be in the new wing. they didn't clarify at booking that there was a difference. i wish i had stayed at the holiday inn, or any other of the plentiful and better looking places at patong. i also wish i had stayed at kata noi or kata instead of patong. however, phuket it beautiful. i made sure to spend all my waking hours outside of amata!

4.7 Rhonda P.
United Kingdom
January 10, 2014
Eventfull stay at Amata
Close to Beach, Bangla Road and Jungcelyon.
Firstly, some things advertised about this hotel is incorrect. There are only superior rooms in the new building, if you book a deluxe you will be in the old building and have to upgrade at a cost. I stayed for 13 nights and after upgrade was given a room on the 8th floor, where the rooms are much better. I found a pigeon nesting with two eggs on my balcony, after they were removed the pigeons kept returning and the mess was terrible. The balcony, bathroom sink and bathroom floor were not cleaned for the duration off my stay. My sheets were not changed at all. They did not check or replace anything in the fridge again for the duration of my stay. The rooftop pool and chairs was never cleaned and were really dirty. There was a bottle on my floor outside the lift that was there for a week before someone actually removed it, needless to say the floor was not cleaned either. They advertise 6 bars, the rooftop pool had a small fridge with a few drinks and there was no food advertised but if you did want something it came on a plate from the restaurant in the other building, 9 floors down and across the other side. The rooftop pool was never open at 11am. There was a small bar at the other pool and one in the restaurant, which you could access when it was open. The restaurant closed at 7pm, so I could not sample the food as I don't eat before 7pm. The breakfast was not worth the 280baht. The staff were all friendly, with the exception of one female on desk in new building. The Wifi worked well, after I had to ask for it to be fixed when I first arrived. Had no TV for 3 days till they fixed the ariel. If the cleaning was done I would say this was more like a 2 star hotel, but only in the new building, the old building a 1 star as the rooms were smelly and the furniture was so badly stained and old. There is a kettle in the room but nothing else. It is very close to Beach, Bangla Road and Jungceylon.

7 robert H.
Australia
January 10, 2014
good /clean/ good staff breackfast average
pool/ posision and general good feeling
was good! thanks to all the staff and was generally a good clean set up we upgraded to the pool view was just a better set up for us the location was better than I expected we were central to every thing at walking distance

6 Stuart S.
United Kingdom
January 10, 2014
Average hotel
Location and Value only
Stayed here for 1 night before moving over to the Casa Jip (which was better). The positives: Staff are good with English and hotel is in a convenient central location. The rooms are a decent size and the hotel itself looks to be quite clean and spacious. The negatives: Wifi was down when I arrived and stayed down for the next 24 hrs. When I queried this I was given conflicting stories during which a member of staff openly lied to me (I only found this out later). First room I was given had a dirty bathroom and I requested a move. Second room was nicer but note that the beds are firm. I was housed in the 'budget' wing which doesn't have an elevator. Also note that a lot of noise from the corridor can be heard in the rooms at night. Verdict: An average value-focused hotel. There are better options elsewhere.

6 Lawther G.
Australia
January 09, 2014
okay, no problems but nothing outstanding about it
clean, location and comfy bed
Okay, nothing outstanding about it. Staff not particularly friendly or welcoming and I was surprised at how little English was spoken. Staff were just there to do their job that's it. Nice pool but construction work next door made it noisy, like most of Patong. Overpriced hotel.

8.3 JINGXIAN Z.
China
January 08, 2014
very good location n very friendly stuff
very good location n very friendly stuff
the hotel's location is very good, close to the shopping mall n beach. n there are a lot restaurants, tour information desks around. Very convenient. n the staffs there are all very friendly. oh~~~ i miss phuket already.~~~~

8.3 andrew B.
Australia
January 08, 2014
very comfortable
Big shower, great bed, clean

7 Sophie B.
Australia
January 06, 2014
Great central location, hotel lacks extras
location, access, pool
the hotel was in a great location, just off the main shopping street in Patong. we hired a scooter and there was ample parking at the front of the hotel, with a security guard at the front to keep an eye on the scooters overnight. the room was very average for a 'deluxe room'. there were only two pillows provided for the very firm (read hard) bed. only one key was able to be provided which was a little annoying as when my partner and i split off to do different things during the day we had to meet back at exact times so the other could get in to the room. although not an impressive hotel, the location was so convenient. as soon as you walked out of the hotels driveway you were in the thick of the shopping/restaurants and Bangla road (with all the bars) was a 2 minute walk away. i would recommend the hotel if you want a clean room with wifi within walking distance of everything. if you wanted beach views and luxury, try another hotel.

8.3 Imtiaz S.
Canada
January 05, 2014
Good place, good value
Location, Swiming Pool, Nice bathroom
Everything was good about Amata! Only one small problem was that we got stuck with a lack of view. We were facing a neighbor's wall, and that wasn't good.