Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 290 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 7.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.9

Joachim N. from Germany
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Fantastic Deal outside the high season
Big garden, big Pool, good food in the restaurant, Clean Hotels
no bid cons, just the beach could be cleaned by the hotel staff. we had to do it ourself in the morning which took us 30 minutes (3 fathers who did not wangt their children play in dirty sand and also did not want to bath in dirty water). the beach is actually quite small so it would not be much effort to clean it.if you want nightlife do not go here.but at least there is a shuttle bus to patong and back in the night.
we stayed at the hotel outside the high season. Fantatstic. Occupancy was about 10%. I do not know how noisy it is in hot season. I can definitively recommend the restaurant.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Rachael G. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Amora
The pool was lovely. The beach was quiet. Our room was adequate, clean and quiet.
The rubbish on the beach. I am told (By a taxi driver) that this only occurs for a bout 3 weeks during Monsoon season
Weenjoyed our stay here however due to monsoon weather th beach was covered with rubbish, which was very disappointing and meant our only option was to lie by the pool. The resort and pool are fine and its a very quiet area if that is what you are looking for.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Aziz H. from Indonesia
Business travelers
Stayed 6 nights in May 2010
Good Hotel at Bang Tao
The room is big and spacious, the building is a little bit old but clean. Breakfast is good. Close to beach and Laguna golf course
Far from shops. Staffs are ignorant and hardly speak English. No elevator, but stairs are not too climby.
I stayed at Amora for a golf tournament trip. It was so closed to the course that I went to. 10 minutes drive to the Laguna Golf Course. This hotel is apparently not aiming to the euphoria of Phuket entertainment, so don't expect for cafes or great pubs surround the area. But it was really close to Bang Tao beach. You can walk and enjoy the sunny and clean beach of Bang Tao. The hotel is less noisy and not too crowded. You can easily relax to enjoy the atmosphere of Bang Tao beach. The facility is also ok. There are 2 big swimming pools if you are not really in the mood to swim at the beach. Overall, it was a good budget hotel for a specific purposes, which for me is to play golf. I recommend this for families and golfers (especially those who consider value of money).
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Linda M. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Nearly there
Pools lovely and clean and very good size. Rooms nice if a bit dated. Proximity to beach great.
Why oh why make the drinks so expensive. You only encourage guests to go elsewhere.
Hotel overall good and clean if in need of a bit of updating here and there. Main beef is with the bar prices. Our first night the lounge bar which was meant to be on happy hour from 9-11 was closed so they sent us to the restaurant bar who wanted to charge us full prices. No way, 160 baht for a large Heineken, I don´t think so. Staff were at the beach bars all day and I only ever saw then serve drinks when it was happy hour. Make the prices reasonable all day and you might sell something! The village was very quiet. Don´t walk to the village by road, use the beach, much quicker and nicer.
Reviewed June 09, 2010

Carolyn P. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2010
Would not recommend
Very close to beautiful Bang Tao beach
Staff were terrible - so unhelpful and tried to rip us off. Food was terrible, rooms average, beds very hard.
I would not recommend this hotel at all to any of my friends. The customer service was shocking - the staff even tried to obtain higher prices in relation to taxi's then it should have cost. We had an incident with a taxi and the staff would not call any other taxi company for us - they wanted us to use their dedicated taxi service, in which we did not want to as they taxi driver yelled at us. Worst experience in terms of hotels ever!
Reviewed May 19, 2010

MARIE N. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in May 2010
Great Hotel for price..Will stay then again..
Enjoyed the breakfast..Good choice of foods..for Ausralians. Close to beach..50 metres from room. Polite staff..Was not crowded in May..Two swimming pools..enjoyed the large one out the back from eating area..
It is a distance from Phuket so you need some type of transportion but taxi or motor bikes seem the way to get about...Taxi costs are cheap in Thailand.
For the price I believe we got good value. Food was good..Had good room service for tea one night after full day at Phi Phi Island. May is quiet time of year so not a lot of guests there..Reminder me of Tahiti accommodation. Will definately return there again..
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Peter E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2010
Amora Beach Resort
By far the best part of this hotel is its location.
Staff are not overly friendly, don't eat at the hotel restaurants, too expensive and not as good a quality as the beach restaurants
This is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel and it won't be the last. 20 mins north of patong beach on Bangtou Bay it is quiet yet plenty to do. Simply walk to the beach, 50 mts from your room and there is water skiing, bars, restaurants, sailing or simply relax under a tree. The hotel provides a shuttle bus for transfers to Patong Beach and Phuket Town for shopping. I go every year for a week and love this place
Reviewed May 08, 2010

Peter E. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 10 nights in April 2010
Ban Tou Bay Amore Resort
Location 20 mins North Patong Beach
Hotel food and staff are not up to speed, not to worry though all the best facilities are 50mts from your room on the beach, they are excellent
This is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel and it won't be the last. 20 mins north of patong beach on Bangtou Bay it is quiet yet plenty to do. Simply walk to the beach, 50 mts from your room and there is water skiing, bars, restaurants, sailing or simply relax under a tree. The hotel provides a shuttle bus for transfers to Patong Beach and Phuket Town for shopping. I go every year for a week and love this place
Reviewed May 08, 2010

Sunisa A. from Thailand
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2010
family hotel
good location, close to the beach, beautiful seaview
not enough foot towel, only one in room, should have hotel minibus provide for customer who want to go outside for little shopping..they should not be forced to take only taxi to go market which not that far but sometimes they can not walk.
Nice location, has all faciliries, swimming pool is large suit for all ages, green garden good for relaxing and do Yoga, breakfast is ok but should change some asian menu otherwise everthing is fine., not far from Departmentstore and have big open market . this hotel suit for family holiday also.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Claire P. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in April 2010
Great hotel
Pools, location, breakfast
Room was a little basic
The hotel was lovwely- we had such a great time here. We loved it so much we booked an extra night for when we got back from going to some other islands and before we headed off to Bangkok. Two great pools, nice and quiet and not overcrowded. Rooms were a good size but a little basic. The breakfast had a great range and was very tasty. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Reviewed April 20, 2010