Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Amora Hotel Wellington

170 Wakefield Street, Wellington Central, Wellington, New Zealand (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Duxton Hotel Wellington
Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Guest Room Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Lobby Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/Lounge Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Reception Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/Lounge Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Interior Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Executive Lounge Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Executive Lounge Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Food and Beverages Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/Lounge Amora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Surroundings
Area: Wellington Central Number of Rooms: 192

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type




based on
30 reviews

Value for Money
Staff Performance
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
Room Comfort/Standard
Solo travelers (30)
Sort by:
Aberielle R. Solo travelers New Zealand, November 22, 2015
Great stay

The twin deluxe room was fabulous and spacious. The food was delicious. The hotel location was handy to the city and Westpac Stadium
Report this review
Leonie K. Solo travelers New Zealand, September 14, 2015
Pleasant stay

Location, location and location
Very pleasant stay. Just some of the finer points with regards room service were lacking. Such as ordering a boiled egg served in a egg cup and not being given a spoon to eat it with. Ordered dessert, again no spoon. Room service food only just warm. Forgetting the ice bucket I ordered.
Report this review
Anna S. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 19, 2015
Lovely hotel but a bit faded

cleanliness, staff, location
Great. Have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last few years. I have to say it is looking rather faded and some of the furniture looks like it needs to be replaced. Not quite as nice as it was a few years ago.
Report this review
Sharalyn H. Solo travelers New Zealand, July 12, 2015
Weekend away

Location, Staff, Gym
I was treated to a weekend away for some R&R and to catch up on sleep as we have two under two! I really enjoyed my stay. The staff were very friendly, professional and accommodating. The gym was simple but had what I needed to get in a couple of sessions. The location is perfect. Walking distance to all the hustle and bustle of Wellington. It was a little noisy at night, but is tone expected with such a central location. It was still quieter than at my house!! :)
Report this review
Vinod C. Solo travelers Australia, April 13, 2015
Nice and comfortable stay

Staff were very pleasant. Especially in the club lounge. Location of the hotel is very convenient and right in the heart of the City. Room was very comfortable.
It was a very pleasant stay and I would like to go there again.
Report this review
Carol P. Solo travelers New Zealand, March 22, 2015
Always a pleasure

Comfortable beds, clean rooms, wonderful staff
Another wonderful stay in a room with a view. I'll be back for sure. Thank you
Report this review
Mari K. Solo travelers Finland, December 28, 2014
Great stay

Location, views, room comfort
The hotel is located at the Wellington Waterfront. The main shopping area and restaurants are in the walking distance, Te Papa Museum is just across the street. The railway station is about 20mins walking distance. The room was clean and comfortable with amazing views over the Wellington Harbour. My room came with free Wifi which was an additional bonus.
Report this review
Judith T. Solo travelers New Zealand, October 4, 2014

Friendliness, obliging, attentiveness.
Could not fault the reception that we (two individuals) received. Friendly greetings and the staff were prepared to provide a room immediately if we had wanted it (had arrived at 8 am) but that was not our expectation - only wanted to leave our luggage. We had a high tea on one afternoon of our two day stay - very obliging at our last minute request, attentiveness of all the dining staff and an exceptional variety of items to eat - they even packaged up what we couldn't eat for us to take to our room. Arrived back late from a show on another evening but provided a well prepared supper in their lounge area - again - excellent value in service and food. The front staff were knowledgeable about bus routes and other information about the area. Found the accommodation very easy walking distance to everything we wanted to attend. The features of the hotel are very welcoming but at the same time - very impressive. Almost forgot - we also spent an hour quietly reading in the beautifully furnished library space - with glass walls so could still see the rest of the hotel activity. Absolutely would stay there again - because of the facilities but probably more importantly because of the quality of the staff.
Report this review
Maree S. Solo travelers New Zealand, September 23, 2014
Great location

Location. Nice furniture. Nice large room
I enjoyed my stay and would return. Reception staff were too busy when I wanted to check in and also when I wanted to check out
Report this review
Graham H. Solo travelers United Kingdom, July 27, 2014

The standard of accommodation is outstanding - almost 5 star! The staff are superbly friendly and helpful. I especially liked the club facilities - well worth the extra
Perfect! 2 minor grumbles: no smoking everywhere but I guess that's the law; Car parking expensive and inconvenient
Report this review

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Amora Hotel Wellington WellingtonAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Guest RoomAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - LobbyAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/LoungeAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - ReceptionAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/LoungeAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - InteriorAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Executive LoungeAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Executive LoungeAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Food and BeveragesAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Pub/LoungeAmora Hotel Wellington Wellington - Surroundings

Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.