Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Angaga Island Resort and Spa

South Ari Atoll, South Ari Atoll, Maldives Islands, Maldives

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Excellent

8.4

based on
87 reviews

35 reviews in English

Value for Money
8.6
Location
9.0
Staff Performance
8.4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Room Comfort/Standard
8.4
Food/Dining
7.4
All reviews (87)
Sort by:
Jens B. Couples Germany, November 12, 2015
Small, calm island

Location, Location, Location
8
We went for 7 nights only, mainly to enjoy the special settings of the Maldives, relax and discover the underwater world by snorkelling. We achieved all this as the Angaga is a small, unhurried resort in a great location. What we expected. Staff was very attentive and friendly. The location for snorkelling and other water sports ideal. The food, plenty to choose but always buffet-style which was OK-ish for 7 days for us, however I would encourage the team at Angaga to offer a more selective/individual dining experience. With such a great location and far travel for many, I think in the dining experience department they can still grow. Two tiny little things that nagged on me - you can't buy any water or other drinks for that matter outside the two bars. The same for Wifi, you get free Wifi in the bars, outside you have to pay for it. Not great if you stay in a over-water villa. It just feels this is pushing the commercial aspect a bit too much. Other then this, really nice, little place.
Report this review
Anita D. Solo travelers Croatia, September 27, 2015
Excellent vacation

Great location, small and clean island, great service
9
It was very short and relaxing stay. Great service and beautiful nature, very clean island and facilities, good English speaking staff, nice choice of excursions and small entertainments.
Report this review
Razvan S. Couples United States of America, October 25, 2014
Paradise

the water bungalows, staff, location
9.7
The Maldives and Angaga was more then I could have imagined. It was simply paradise. The water was amazing, the staff was great and couldn't have asked for better weather. Everyday we were in awe about the Maldives. If there was one thing I could go back and change was to stay an extra week.
Report this review
Cecilia C. Couples Singapore, June 19, 2014
Relaxing and serene

House reef, nice beach and clean room
9.7
The location of the resort is excellent with house reef and clean beach. Free Wifi accessible in the bars. Room were cleaned twice a day. Friendly staffs.
Report this review
Heng C. Couples Singapore, May 21, 2014
Great!

Friendly staff
8
Great!
Report this review
Jason A. Couples Singapore, February 23, 2014
small cosy resort

friendly staff, laid back lifestyle
6.7
-
Report this review
Ngak H. Couples Malaysia, February 4, 2014
Very nice and relatively cheap compared the others

friendly staff, great location for snorkelling, affordable.
7.7
This is a three stars hotel, as according to the staff working at the Hotel ( who has worked in over 8 different hotels around Maldives ) Internet is accessible free of charge, stronger signal at the lobby, even though the staff the Hotel charged for the WiFi. Nice sunset is a daily event. You can upgrade to full board, or all inclusive at the Hotel ( cheaper than booking through agoda website )Only 1 restaurant on this island. and only accessible by seaplane. Very friendly staff that made your stay comfortable. Definitely the Hotel for guys who like underwater world. ( Much nicer than great barrier reef in Australia)Look for the person in charge of sports centre next to the Hotel lobby on the beach, Mr.Adhu,(Independent from the Hotel ) speaks a bit Chinese, and definitely helpful for non-swimmers, to make arrangement out to the seas, it is much cheaper than booking through the Hotel who cater for all gusts at the Hotel.
Report this review
Ngak H. Couples Malaysia, February 2, 2014
It was a nice hotel, and relatively cheap.

snorkelling, friendly staff, food was OK
7
Maldives is a Muslim country, do not bring your own liquors or wines, they will be held at the custom. Do bring as much drinking water as possible, drinking water can be brought on board the sea plane. The only accessible transfer from male to Angaga is by seaplane, the view was OK, but it costs USD365 per person for return trip, recommend to look for hotel nearby Male where sea transfer is available to save for the vacation. ( One way by sea plane is good enough to see Maldives from the air ) This is the place for snorkeling and diving, very nice coral and lots of fishes. If you do not swim or snorkel, contact the sea sports person in charge ( Mr.Adhu )he is willing to help and cater for anything of your choice, including teaching you how to snorkel, my wife, who has never step into swimming pool in her life, started to enjoy snorkeling at the sea with the help of Adhu. Also, we booked 2 nights at the beach bungalows and 2 nights at the water villa, but was put directly to stay at the water villa for all 4 nights. ( Recommended to book one night at water villa and chances is that you will be upgraded to water villa free of change, otherwise, the charges you pay at the Hotel directly is still cheaper than you book directly from Agonda. Do not join the snorkeling trip or whale watching trip if you cannot swim or snorkeling, ( Hotel does not provide any life guide ) you need to get into deep water. Mr.Adhu, who operate independently from the hotel, offer a better and negotiatable rate. He is very responsible, great passion, very nice and friendly person.
Report this review
Yit M. Families with older children Singapore, December 28, 2013
A fantastic holiday in a paradise on earth!

Crystal clear waters, amazing marine life, lovely sandy beach
7.3
It was an amazing 6-day family holiday,from the seaplane transfer from Male airport, to our return trip from Angaga resort. There were just enough activities to occupy us if we wanted, but none of us felt that we were obliged to participate. Staff were generally friendly and attentive, and we appreciated the twice daily room cleaning, as we needed clean towels throughout the day. One minor point though on the food - although we had absolutely no complaints about the quality and quantity, we felt that the standard of cooking could be improved. Fish dishes, for example, tended to be bland and not reflective of the quality and freshness expected of a sea resort. One afternoon we noticed baskets of fresh tuna being delivered to the kitchen from a fishing boat, but we never saw any fresh tuna dish served during our stay. Regardless, it was an awesome experience overall.
Report this review
Yuen M. Couples Hong Kong, November 17, 2013
Clean room and value for money, food can improve

Clean room, can snorkel right away from the beach or room, good value for money for over water villa
8
1. Good value for money for over the water villa, it's just one third the price of branded resort, but guess we share the same good view 2. Clean and comfortable room. Can dive right away from room. 3. Food can be improved as not too many choices, especially when guests are expected to have meals from the same restaurants for a few days 4. Do not join the island hopping tour of the hotel, as you will be brought to an island sparsely populated with NO sightseeing and all the stores only open when the ferry arrives, the shoppings aren't particularly attractive 5. Spa department is the most efficient within the hotel. All the masseurs are professional from Bali, treatments are quite reasonably priced 6. Recommend the whale shark watching tour. Remember to bring your gears to snorkel to see if for yourself. 7. Watch out on the check in time. We woke up at 4AM in Male to catch the 6AM seaplane.
Report this review
1 - 10 of 35 reviews Next page
Angaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives IslandsAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Duny Thai SpaAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Spa - Relaxing AreaAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Fitness RoomAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Diving SchoolAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Diving SiteAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Diving SiteAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Recreational FacilitiesAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Table TennisAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Water Villa - InteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Water Villa - InteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Water Villa - TerraceAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Water Villa - TerraceAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Water Villa - BathroomAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Superior Beach Bungalow - InteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Superior Beach Bungalow - ExteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Superior Beach Bungalow - BathroomAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - RestaurantAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - RestaurantAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - RestaurantAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Main BarAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Reception - InteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Reception - ExteriorAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands -  Superior Beach Bungalow Angaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Island OverviewAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Aerial ViewAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Island ViewAngaga Island Resort and Spa Maldives Islands - Floor Plans


Agoda.com is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3B05