Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ao Prao Resort

60 Moo 4. Tambol Phe, Amphur Mueang, Ao Prao, Koh Samet, Thailand

Recent customer reviews

Filter by traveler type

 

Very good

8.0

based on 820 reviews

388 reviews in English

Value for Money
7.3
Location
8.8
Staff Performance
7.9
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.2
Room Comfort/Standard
8.2
Food/Dining
7.6
All reviews (820)
Sort by:
Alexandre R. Families with young children Belgium, December 5, 2011
nice location, clear water

nice beach
5.7
only 2,5 hours drive from bangkok, 8 min. speedboat lovely garden and restaurant, cottage need a renovation, bathroom very small and very old breakfast poor, many flies in the jam and honey,
Travel tip: no tip, because we stayed only 3 nights
Report this review
Melanie M. Couples United Kingdom, December 4, 2011
Great hotel in excellent location

Lovely beach. Excellent breakfast and evening buffet. Free speedboat transfer to and from resort from the mainland
8
Stayed for just one night over the King's birthday weekend and although the hotel was full it was an extremely peaceful and relaxing stay away from the busier eastern side of the Island. Received a big discount on the usual rate which made our stay affordable and much better value than usual. Make sure you stop off at the resort's offices in Ban Phe to catch the free speedboat or you'll have a back-breaking taxi ride over the hills to get to Ao Prao from the ferry pier. Food was excellent and reasonably priced and the service very good in beautiful surroundings. We had to hire a Kayak to explore the coastline and were a little disappointed that the hotel did not offer these free to guests as many Thai beach hotels do. However we will visit again - a quiet and safe beach in a lovely environment although a little isolated.
Hotel Feature Tip: Location is fairly isolated. Make sure you take the free speedboat transfer to sav a couple of hour to and from the mainland
Report this review
Alexis G. Families with young children France, November 27, 2011
So Nice

wonderful place
7.7
the site is fanstastic, we were in the so beautiful and transparent sea all day long. practical: boat from ban phe to hotel is included in the price as well as breakfast. however hotel restaurant is so expensive. the best is to take a 4*4 taxi to ao phai where there is a good and non formal restaurant named silver sand. taxi to go there cost thb one way - no way to negotiate - so you need to find other tourists that want to go there to share the fee. thb is the price whatever the number of person in the car (until 7)
Report this review
Steven G. Business travelers Australia, November 20, 2011
Great value and service

ease of transfer to the island
8.3
the whole experience is very polished and professional considering the logisitcs that are involved. the "package" involves meeting at the land based departure point then a speed boat ride out to the island and transfer up to your room. all is done very efficiently with a smile. the resort is conveniently located on the near side so the boat ride is short. the hotel is old but the room are comfortable. there is little to do at night except relax but if you want more entertainment then you travel over to hat sai kow by songtow to enjoy the crowds and music. it is nice to return back to the hotel in the evening to the peace and quite. recommended for business activities or family getaways.
Report this review
Ho C. Couples South Korea, November 7, 2011
Awsome Place

very beatiful scenery
9.7
It was awsome place. very kind people and nice food. I hope that someday i would go again.
Report this review
Harald M. Families with young children Netherlands, October 31, 2011
Good hotel with good service

Location , plus for little ones : the waves where not high.
7.7
We drove by car from Bangkok. The pier was relatively easy to find. After that the staff took care of everything (luggage). Parking was included, so no need to look for parking spaces. Resort it self is on the quiet part of the Island. So if you look for buoyant nightlife then you will be disappointed. It is situated in a nice bay. The accommodation was good and big enough for fam of 3. The baby stayed in her own cot in our room. If you plan to travel with infants/babies may I advise to bring if possible your own children's' chair. There where two things that I found less positive. Firstly the fisher boats (lots of them) at night really fish close to the reef/bay. You do not hear them but it gave me a particular and mixed feeling. Secondly, but do not let yourself be put off by it, I found the quality of the BBQ one night to be excellent and the other so so.
Report this review
Juliane R. Couples United States of America, October 30, 2011
The lovely respite we needed.

We enjoyed the quiet beauty of the resort. The sunsets were fabulous. The breakfast and service was excellent.
8.3
we most appreciated the resort after making a trip to the other side of the island where we were a bit overwhelmed by the crowded and somewhat dirtier feeling of the places there. the beach at ao prao was not crowded at all - everything was very lovely. we'd go back just to swim, eat, sit on the deck and read. it is a place to get away from it all.
Report this review
Corina W. Couples United States of America, October 24, 2011
Overpriced and past it's prime, but great location

location, friendly staff
7
located on a beautiful, peaceful beach. rooms are overpriced and not well maintained. restaurant food is good. cost of speedboat transfer is very expensive for what you get...and for having to wait until their designated 3 departures each day. nothing to do after sunset on this side of ko samet, but the beach and facilities are far better than the east side.
Hotel Feature Tip: tip: pack your own water. hotel only gives you two small bottles per day for free and after that is 55 baht per bottle...and there is no store on the west side to buy anything at.
Report this review
Peng Y. Families with young children China, October 6, 2011
Lovely hotel and service with a smile"

beach
7.7
lovely beach, nice and clean room, little far from the downtown but acceptable, I will stay here for the next trip
Report this review
Daniel P. Couples United States of America, October 3, 2011
Great service, beautiful views

beautiful beach, great service, nice rooms
8.7
We arrived at the hotel and immedeately were offered help with our bags, drinks, and a warm greeting by the staff. They checked us in quickly, and took us to our rooms. The rooms were a little dark, but large, and cozy. After our checkout, they even had a free speedboat ready to take us back to the mainland. An excellent resort if I have ever seen one.
Hotel Feature Tip: Make sure to contact the hotel before you go. Some at the ports in Ban Phe will try to rip you off with the price of their tickets to Koh Samet, and the hotel will help you out.
Report this review
Previous page 201 - 210 of 388 reviews Next page
Ao Prao Resort Koh SametAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Premier Sea View RoomAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - PoolAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - DeluxeAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Swimming PoolAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - DeluxeAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - DeluxeAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe CottageAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe ExteriorAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe ExteriorAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe Cottage ExteriorAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Deluxe Cottage ExteriorAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - EntranceAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Swimming PoolAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - RestaurantAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - RestaurantAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - RestaurantAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - RestaurantAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - BeachAo Prao Resort Koh Samet - Swimming Pool


Agoda is part of The Priceline Group, the world leader in online travel & related services.

AS-AGWEB-3C08