arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.5
Based on 797 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 797 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.4
  • Location 6.5
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.8
  • Service 7.7
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 7.0

Todd K.
United States
November 10, 2012
Better choices are available in Chalong Beach area
Friendly, helpful staff. Nice pool setting near the beach.
Aochalong Villa is a relatively small hotel, set back from the main road along a mostly unpaved road that takes about 5 minutes to walk to from the hotel. The hotel offers a free shuttle cart that will take you out to the main road. Unfortunately, we were unable to find a good restaurant after being dropped off at that point. The hotel restaurant is OK, but the restaurant staff has a hard time understanding English and some of the things we ordered were oddly prepared. Our room was rather cramped, and the hotel could use some minor repair work. WiFi worked reasonably well in our room. Chalong Beach, as with most beaches areas along the eastern side of Phuket, is mostly rocky and what little sand there is is apparently trucked in, so don't come expecting to take long pleasant walks along the beach.

Su L.
Singapore
October 31, 2012
Quiet and lovely hotel
great escape from the likes of patong beaches
arrived in the evening at aochalong after a day trip starting from patong. was quite surprised that the hotel was so far off the main road. check in to a room with garden view, and quite happy with the interior and balcony. have free wifi without need of password. took a little walk and found the place to be tranquil and charming thou not in the best maintenance. had a good look around the hotel the next day, and totally loved the pool near the beach, very nice view and good depth. the beach and seawater itself is not so welcoming, but we enjoyed the view enough to make up for it. initial booking was for 2 days but we ended up staying for 5days.

Su L.
Singapore
October 31, 2012
Lovely hotel for couples
Nice pool with great view, friendly and helpful staff, counter staff fairly good command of English
Extended our stay for 3 days after getting a good deal from Mikes Bike Car rental just along the main road of Aochalong Villa. Mike is a friendly Australian, and spared no efforts sharing his knowledge of the area. Although the Hotel provide free ride to and from the main road, renting a car really makes our stay more easy and enjoyable. Was able to buy cheap fruits from the local night market, a whole pineapple just cost B60, and have meals further till places like Rawai beach. The hotel staff was so helpful, when I tried to borrow a knife to cut some oranges, the kitchen staff offered to cut them for me, and she end up peeling the skin as well until I noticed and stop her.

Daniel G.
Netherlands
October 30, 2012
Bit far off, but nice place to stay
Cheap rates, and vieuw is quite nice
This hotel is around 15 minutes with a cab from central Phuket town. It's a bit far off the main area, so if you like to relax for a good price than this is perfect. The staff is friendly and the english speaking guest relations manager is very helpfull. I would rate this hotel a 3+ star rather than a 4 star.

jonathan H.
United Kingdom
October 29, 2012
Quiet, clean, but very slow
Quiet beach-front pool and garden
We got a very good deal on a last minute stay with 2 rooms, the staff were friendly and the resort was quiet and relaxing. We had an issue when checking in as we had actually turned up a day early owing to a booking error on our part, but the reception staff were very obliging and the issue was rectified promptly. Nice rooms that were clean and tidy, well kept gardens, but the service was just impossible. The bar staff spoke no English whatsoever, which I can forgive as we are in Thailand after all, but what was confusing was that both my brother and I speak Thai and the barman didn't understand Thai either! The hotel also seemingly has a stock control issue during low season, as some straight-forward drinks we ordered were not available (Bloody Mary, Gin and Tonic etc).This wasn't rectified the following day either. After waiting for 45 mins and 4 failed attempts to be served 2 cold beers by the pool, we decided that perhaps this wasn't the place to attempt to order any food...If this is the service when in low season (I counted 9 guests in total), I have no idea what it would be like when the resort is full.

Jason W.
United States
October 28, 2012
Clean and comfortable accommodations
Off the beaten path, beach front, nice pool
Overall great value but somewhat dated decor. Our villa 106 was exceptionally clean and comfortable and had a great view of the bay. The staff were friendly and the pool was nice. The beach was a little murky but we expected this because the resort is located on a busy bay. It's important to be careful when walking down the winding brick lined paths because I broke a toe very easily and I wasn't even drunk. Special thanks to Steve for organizing a great day trip and providing recommendations for food.

Piyamard C.
Thailand
October 26, 2012
Nice Hotel but bad road
Good Price , Quite Place
I stay with my daughter one night. It is a very nice pool where can see the sea. It is very quiet. If you do not have a car that will be difficult for you to go to the convenience store. The way is to go to hotel is bad and very dark at night.

massimo R.
Italy
October 25, 2012
Charming medium sized resort
Very polite staff, very relaxing resort setting with good swimming pools and on beach front.
Both western & thai food at a good quality price ratio. Beatific vegetation, very nice staff and nice pool bungalows. It's very clean and comfortable beds, very welcoming to young kids.

Maureen M.
Australia
October 17, 2012
Very Friendly staff lovely gardens and pools.
Very clean inside and out. Wet Edge Pool overlooking the Bay.
We enjoyed staying here so much that the next time we go to Ao Chalong we will stay again.

yucheng L.
China
October 16, 2012
Aochalong Villa & Spa, Phuket
“One night was enough”
The staff at reception were very welcoming and the pool area and the pools very pleasant. We had chosen the poolside 'Villa" which consisted of a large room and pleasant spacious terrace. The room was frankly odd. Dominated by a massive Tv but apart from a couple of bar stools no way of sitting and watching it,plus with an adjoining door we could clearly hear the family next door. The sleeping area contained a king bed on a slightly raised dias. The bed on the floor was extremely hard as was the pillow,we both had a lousy nights sleep. I have no idea what the rooms are like but I would certainly not recommend the Villas.