or

Every time an Agoda customer checks out of a hotel we send them an email asking them to write a review of their stay. This is the only way reviews can be submitted. Every review must then be approved by our content team before being posted on the Agoda website. Therefore, unlike many other travel sites, ALL Agoda reviews are certified and genuine.
Enter your dates to check availability and book this hotel

Ariva Gateway

No. 9 Jalan Bukit Mata, Kuching City Center, Kuching, Malaysia 93100 (Show on map)

Book now!

Formerly : Somerset Gateway Kuching Serviced Residence

Ariva Gateway Kuching - Superior Room Ariva Gateway Kuching - Superior Room Ariva Gateway Kuching - Superior Room Ariva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom Deluxe Ariva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom Premier Ariva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom Premier Ariva Gateway Kuching - Interior Ariva Gateway Kuching - Interior Ariva Gateway Kuching - Lobby Ariva Gateway Kuching - Swimming Pool Ariva Gateway Kuching - Coffee Shop/Cafe Ariva Gateway Kuching - Exterior Ariva Gateway Kuching - Exterior
Area: Kuching City Center Number of Rooms: 70
Free Wi-Fi

Recent customer reviews

Filter by Traveler Type

 

Good

7.1

based on
726 reviews

Value for Money
7.5
Location
8.1
Staff Performance
7.2
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
7.1
Room Comfort/Standard
7.5
Food/Dining
5.5
All reviews (726)
Sort by:
Michael C. Business travelers Malaysia, July 17, 2013
Nothing much to do here

Security is ok, as use seperate lift to hotel room
6
As for business trip my stay only for take bath and have a nice bed. The website mention got high speed internet but unfortunately it is unable to connect, called to front desk they mention will fix it, but still for 3 days I'm unable to connect. Other then the connection, everyting else are average.
Teo C. Couples Singapore, July 16, 2013
good stay, relaxing holiday

clean, friendly staff, many shopping area arround the hotel
8.3
very good service manner and friendly receptionist. room service also very good and clean. very enjoy staying at this hotel.
Jeff K. Business travelers Malaysia, July 14, 2013
near pullman hotel

spacious with breakfast, 20 minute walk to food festival
5.3
I booked 4 apartment unit ended up 8 queen bedded room, disappointed on the front desk coz its a mess. started check in at 12pm to lock in the room before the 3pm check in time, Till 5pm we still haven't get our room & few more patron are on que for the same matter too. There are 2 lift up to this 6th floor building & is not reliable coz 1 of my colleague got stuck in the lift once.
Ten P. Families with young children Malaysia, July 14, 2013
Good services

Good services, clean room and well facilities
6
Overall is good, when I step in the room which I had booked and discover that washroom got some problem , and the receptionist direct change a more better room to me without extra charge. Inside the room got the washing machine and small kitchen which suitable for the family. Besides that the hotel is quite near the seafood hotspot which just few step away from hotel.
Ailin G. Families with older children United States of America, July 13, 2013
Very average hotel, more budget than luxury

It was centrally located and within easy walking distance from the riverfront to the Sarawak museum. The 2-bedroom suite that we stayed in had a washer and dryer - a surprise bonus for us.
7.7
The hotel has an odd entry - up some stairs to a ground floor bank of elevators, then up to the 4th floor to the hotel lobby. Not convenient if you have heavy suitcases and no porter to help. The staff need proper training - our fellow travellers' request to change rooms due to poor inernet reception in their room was met with promises that everything would be moved for them while they went sightseeing that day. Nothing was done and no one seemed aware of what had been promised. A repair of our inoperable washer had the same result - nothing was done despite assurances to the contrary, and it took firm directions in person at the reception desk to get anything done. Wifi reception is only receivable if you're on a lower floor, although it is free. Cleanliness was a definite issue in the bathrooms - shower curtains were mildewed and smelled, and the corners of the tub were black with mould. I was tempted to go out to buy some bleach to pour over everything. We travelled all over Malaysia for a month (and I have lived there in the past) and this was definitely not one of the better hotel experiences we had. We had pre-booked and paid for 2 nights and then another 2 nights after an overnight jungle excursion. If we had not already had the non-refundable second reservation, I would have definitely booked elsewhere. A one night stay at the end of our trip at another hotel across town for the exact same rate showed us what a better hotel experience we had missed out on.
Joon T. Groups Malaysia, July 12, 2013
Nice Location, Poor Staff(Manager) Service

Central location, Easy Access, Nearby a lots of nice food surrounding.
4.3
Very poor Manager!!Not dare to facing problem!!Less Staff to provide a good service to customer. Poor system arrangement of room,the room can be double booking by 2 different customer.The Service of Receptionist is average, but the Manager is BAD!
Tee S. Business travelers Malaysia, July 10, 2013
so far so good

nice staff, Centrally located
6
Easy access to the airport and High speed internet and Fast check-in and check-out.
Wei M. Business travelers Malaysia, July 10, 2013
You get what you pay for

Centrally located, close to to river, cheap
6
The room is big and the price of the hotel is affordable. You get pretty good standard of service at a low price. Limited choice of breakfast and the room is worn out.
Eugene V. Families with older children Netherlands, July 8, 2013
value for money

location, spacious rooms, friendly staff
7.3
We stayed in this hotel for three nights with our two daughters (13 years of age) in July 2013 while enjoying our vacation in Kuching. The hotel is situated on walking distance to the centre of Kuching, approximately 1 kilometre. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment. This apartment has a surface of approximately 80 sq metres. The living room is has a flat screen television and kitchenette. One bedroom with a separate bathroom attached to it, the other bedroom also has a bathroom attached to it but was a little smaller, tough still spacious. The apartments are well equipped and have air conditioning. Everything was clean but a little outdated. The apartment is cleaned daily. There was a safety deposit box, but this was out of order. A free WIFI connection is available, but the quality is poor according to European standards. The hotel has a large pool of approximately 20 x 10 meters, with a depth of 1 meter. The pool is not suited for children who cannot swim. The staff is very kind and attentive and made our stay very enjoyable. In summary: If you would like to stay in a affordable hotel in Kuching, this place might be what you are looking for. It’s good value for money. However, If you are looking for a true comfortable, top-end luxurious stay I suggest to look for another place to spend your holiday since the apartments are a little bit outdated.
Johnica H. Couples United States of America, July 8, 2013
Disappointing overall

Central location, wifi, near Top Spot seafood restaurant
5.7
This is an old hotel and the rooms really show it. Old carpet and bed. The mattress and pillows were very uncomfortable and all the towels and bedding reeked of cigarettes. Many things were broken. Breakfast was small and stale. And the pool is a joke! The photo online is very misleading. Its tiny and theres no deck to hang out near it. The only good thing about the hotel is that it's located next to two great restaurants: Top Spot and Lyn's Thandoori. However, Kuching is a small city and you can walk to any place in about 10-15 min. So I would recommend just staying at a nicer hotel further away, like Lime Tree!

Book now!

Sale ends soon!

Ariva Gateway KuchingAriva Gateway Kuching - Superior RoomAriva Gateway Kuching - Superior RoomAriva Gateway Kuching - Superior RoomAriva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom DeluxeAriva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom PremierAriva Gateway Kuching - 2 Bedroom PremierAriva Gateway Kuching - InteriorAriva Gateway Kuching - InteriorAriva Gateway Kuching - LobbyAriva Gateway Kuching - Swimming PoolAriva Gateway Kuching - Coffee Shop/CafeAriva Gateway Kuching - ExteriorAriva Gateway Kuching - Exterior

Customer Reviews - Ariva Gateway, Kuching

AS-AGWEB-3B08