arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.6
Based on 210 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 210 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.8
  • Staff Performance 8.9
  • Value for Money 8.4
  • Food/Dining 7.5

3.7 Michael M.
United States
October 22, 2015
5.0 at best
1. When checked out. 2. When left hotel 3. Not far from the riverside
I've been on the road since January 5 2010 and started coming to Kampot in 2012. I love Kampot and have stayed in most of the hotels and guest houses in the riverside area and greater Kampot in my 30 plus visits here. This was my first stay at columns and I booked purely from the reviews. I'm not sure how many pieces of happy pizza the previous reviewers ate but wtf? The staff is cordial enough but not really enthusiastic or welcoming. The room was just barely a cut above a $8 guesthouse and that's. only because the shower is large. The room itself is dated dark and average at best. The food was really terrible 7 small pieces of potatoes with over cooked eggs( I asked for over easy) and two strips of paper thin bacon nearly raw. We didn't eat the food and went to breakfast. Value, well their is no value here you're really better off in a 10-15 dollar room with $40 more in your wallet. Really, for this price you can get a 4-5 star in siem reap or Phnom Penh or if you don't mind spending time away from town than go stay at the casino bokor resort it's cheaper and you can do a lot up on the mountain and surrounding area. I didn't write this review to put the columns down its only to keep others from throwing away hard earned cash from misleading reviews. If you must go just book one day or go look at the rooms before hand and compare others in the area.

7.7 HENRY F.
Singapore
September 24, 2015
Comfortable Bed and Nice Room but Check-In slow.
Location, Room and Bed
The hotel is a restored building tastefully done. The check-in should have been better. As the printer is not working, the reception should direct the guest to the room and not to wait for them to fixed the printer to print the passport. Other than that, the room is comfortable with an attic feeling and the bed is very comfortable. Breakfast is a la carte and is good!

8.7 Stewart C.
United Kingdom
September 13, 2015
Well located
Balcony to listen to the night, friendly staff. location
Conveniently located for all restaurants and boat trips. Not on river front - therefore not affected by noise. Had free use of the hotel's bikes, but rather heavy and difficult to steer. We paid extra for a room with a balcony which was good for sitting, listening to the sounds of the town when it wasn't raining.

9.7 steve A.
Australia
August 09, 2015
lovely hotel
food , room , staff
every thing was was up to standard and more well worth the stay

8 Michael L.
Australia
July 10, 2015
A nice laid back place.
The position was good. The staff were excellent. The breakfast was good.
We found all aspects of this hotel to be very good. The staff were very helpful, there was no noise you could not help to feel you were there only guests. We found the Rusty Keyhole Reasuatant a great place to eat. The sunset river cruise with the fire flys was great. Book mountain was good even though it was misty and raining.

6.7 Vu P.
Norway
June 29, 2015
clean, good location and reasonable
clean, good location and reasonable

9 Agie D.
Australia
June 28, 2015
Super location and helpful staff
Helpful staff. Great location. Basic but clean room
Very nice

9.7 Montague B.
United States
June 07, 2015
First rate and delightful!
Charm, comfort and service...
Although including a few quirks (unstable hot/cold water adjustment, steep stairs, limited menu at breaKfast and lunch, none at dinner), this hotel was far and beyond what I expected to find in Kampot. Charming, tasteful, and anxious to please, The Columns was a real treat. If you can afford it, well worth the price. I most certainly would stay here again...

10 Steven S.
New Zealand
April 25, 2015
Lovely boutique hotel
Room, Staff, Breakfast, Location
Only gripe and to watch for - no elevator. Otherwise lovely place to stay close to the river

8 John M.
Australia
April 21, 2015
Columns
Location, great rooms and great staff
Fantastic hotel and would receommend it to anyone. Plus they lend great old blue bikes to guests.