Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 210 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.3
  • Value for money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 8.2
Sort by

Steven W. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in September 2015
You should stay here!
Price, Location and Extras (breakfast included, free WiFi - not great coverage, and they turn off the modem every night until about 6:30AM - and five pieces of laundry done each day per guest!)
I always enjoy staying at the Anise hotel, and this time was no exception. I've stayed on my last 6 or so trips to Cambodia over the past two years and I highly recommend this place. It is very clean and the staff are excellent! The only issue right now is that there are two (or three) construction sites right around the hotel, so it's a bit more noisy than normal. I don't know how long the construction will continue, but it's something worth considering....
Reviewed September 14, 2015

Steven W. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
A Great hotel offering so much more than others
Price, Location and Extras (breakfast included, free WiFi - not great coverage, and they turn off the modem every night until about 6:30AM - and five pieces of laundry done each day per guest!)
Great! I only offer the caveats because it is such a great little boutique hotel that could so easily be a fantastic hotel: The rooms are clean, the staff is well-trained and very courteous, the food at the restaurant is high quality (both Asian and Western cuisine), Happy Hour is a nice touch, the laundry service is phenomenal, the location couldn't be better. So what's the problem: sketchy WiFi service, water heaters in the showers worked most of the time, no elevator (we stayed on the 4th floor this time), and no swimming pool. Overall, you won't find a better hotel for this price in Phnom Penh!
Reviewed September 04, 2015

Jiro Y. from Japan
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2015
Annex was not so good
The location was good.
This time my room was in Annex. The stair was too steep and the room was not so clean. The room in main building is much better.
Reviewed June 23, 2015

Bradman H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in June 2015
Not so bad,lots of construction near by
Breakfast,location and hey your in phonm phen what's not to like
Room was a little dated,breakfast was ok.pretty close to everything and good if you want to be a little away from the bulk of tourists.
Reviewed June 18, 2015

Kate J. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2015
Charming, Efficient & friendly
decor, efficient staff & value
Will come back to this oasis... But a warning : Building sites abound in BKK1, four in 200 yards of this hotel.
Reviewed April 09, 2015

beverly S. from United States
Couples
Stayed 8 nights in March 2015
lovely hotel at an awesome price
location, value, staff
Family and friends(who live near Phnom Penh) suggested this hotel and we are glad we chose it. Location is great--restaurants and shopping in walking distance. Charming first floor with a very good restaurant. Happy hour includes $.75 draught beer. Restaurant and hotel staff are excellent--helpful, professional and charming. Our room was simple(furnishings a little on the worn side) and spacious. The room rate-around $50/2 people-included a very nice breakfast AND free laundry(5 pieces /person).Only problem was a leaky toilet and shower problem that kept the bathroom floor wet most of the time--had a little trouble communicating this situation. I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful midrange gem.
Reviewed April 03, 2015

Khine M. from Myanmar
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2015
Hotel is very convenient for attraction places
Some of the staffs
Valued for money
Reviewed February 27, 2015

Subbalakshmi K. from India
Families with older children
Stayed one night in January 2015
Great Stay
Staff , cleanliness & ease of getting around
We loved our short stay but the staff is good and they also arranged a tuk tuk so that we could see around the city given the short time we had , we thought it was fantastic. The ambience of the restaurant was very good and we enjoyed the food very much. The only issue would be hot water and the lack of lifts (esp if you are staying on the last floor)
Reviewed January 27, 2015

Chan K. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in November 2014
Suite is not fantastic at all
Floor is not sweep......if you are bare footed you will feel its dusty......aircon took so long to get it cool......I was perspiring for the first few hours...
Reviewed January 17, 2015

Steven W. from United States
Couples
Stayed 12 nights in November 2014
One of the best hotels in Phnom Penh!
Location, Staff and Added Benefits!
This truly is one of the best boutique hotels at which to stay in Phnom Penh. The location is central to just about everywhere. The rooms are clean - the whole place is kept very clean. The staff is helpful and courteous. I've stayed in a few hotels in this part of town, and the Anise offers the best value: the price of the room is unbeatable when you consider that breakfast is included (and the breakfasts are quite good!) and each guest is allowed 5 pieces of clothes to be laundered daily – all included in the price of the room. The only drawback, and this is minor, is that the internet is often slow (not doubt due to the number of people using it - the restaurant associated with the hotel is quite popular among local expats as well as tourists staying at other hotels nearby).
Reviewed November 26, 2014