arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 471 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 471 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Aaron F.
Australia
February 16, 2013
Not what I expected
Great swimming pool
We were given a 1 bedroom on the first floor without balcony overlooking the reception rooftop, which didn’t match the website description. The room was dark, stuffy and smelly. After some insistence and wonderful staff assistance we were moved to a 2 bedroom overlooking the road. Room was large, clean and bright. The free Wi-FI is only available in the lobby and swimming pool areas, not in the rooms, which is a bit of inconvenience if you (like me) have some work to do during your stay. Hotel is a good option if you want to be close (but not in the middle) of the action of Riverfront, need/want space and love swimming laps. The pool is fantastic and attracts lots of local visitors.

brooke M.
United States
February 14, 2013
Upscale Pure Phnom Penh
Great rooms...it was wonderful to be able to cook some comfort food for my son (Lucky Supermarket at Sorya Center was able to supply his favorite Mac N Cheese and Cambells Green Pea Soup which was a rest and relief for us both to share in after a very extended stay in Cambodia)...nice wood floor in room, comfy loungy cushy chairs and good extented cable tv, pleasing balcony and spacious dressing room. The bests super hot jacuzzi anywhere, when the city does fireworks you can watch them poolside.
I justs dont like that area (personal taste and opinion)...it was nice that the main road was closed when we chose to be there. Thats the main reason why we chose to be there whence King Sihanouks Cremation Ceremony took place.

laurent P.
Belgium
February 09, 2013
The quality has taken a nosedive at himawari
location, biz center, swimming pool
I am a long timer at Himawari. Over the last 2 years I have stayed there about 8 or 10 times. Everytime, I notice little changes (bad) but nothing fundamental. Nevertheless, my last stay was a total disaster as I really notice that Himawari has now opted to become a low cost, low quality and high price hotel in PnP. 1/ Airco haven't been cleaned/maintained for a while and most of them are leaking. 2/ Amenities inside the room are really basic basic. During my last stay, they have removed the shoe mit, reduce soap and shampoo. 3/ No fruit basket anymore 4/ No drink voucher upon arrival 5/ No welcome drink upon arrival 6/ No newspaper at your door anymore (for a while already) 7/ Poor breakfast, poor quality despite the fact it is a buffet (or it sets as a buffet) - see my previous comments. 8/ The staff is getting less friendly and efficient compare as before. Probably an oppressive (new) management. At USD/nigt, I think Himawari has become a reap-off. Travellers should look somewhere else. Ah Yes, one more thing. The management is now singaporean and I noticed people from SG get special treatment care. This hotel is now totally asian oriented. Beware western people !

Denise H.
United Kingdom
February 07, 2013
Great location
The hotel was on the riverfront near the Royal Palace and near to lots of restaurants and bars.
Although we had booked a twin room, we were shown a double, but this was soon changed even though it was not easy to communicate as many of the staff spoke very limited English. The 'suite' meant the room had a kitchen area with cooking facilities and a fridge which was useful for keeping the complimentary bottled water (2 bottles+ per day) cool. The bar had a micro brewery with several beers on offer. Happy hour meant two for one on these beers and the house wines and it was pleasant to sit with a drink and enjoy the view of the river as darkness fell. The pool was a reasonable size and there was also a spa pool with very hot water --quite a shock when you first tried it! We enjoyed our stay at the Himawari and would recommend it to others, the only drawback being the communication problems with some staff members who had little or no English.

Christopher D.
United Kingdom
January 31, 2013
Bad service
Near everything
We were given a 2 twin beds and were told someone would push our beds together. No one ever should up so we did it ourselves. Also, we were never offered a room with a single bed during our stay. We considered leaving, but didn't want to take the time out of our schedule to do so.

Pui T.
Hong Kong
January 28, 2013
Upgraded to Suite!
Huge rooms
I'm glad that I was upgraded to a larger room, however, it was single occupancy in a two-room suite, I must say that it was actually too much for me. Decent breakfast and dinner at hotel restaurant.

Joseph M.
United States
January 25, 2013
Very good location, one of few hotels on river
riverview,spacious rooms
We booked two rooms and both were spacious but desperately in need of updating. Wifi was adequate but not great. Service was good. A far better choice than nearby Cambodia, where we had booked the best rooms, which were not only well worn,but dirty with stained carpets. Wi-fi there was poor to non existant and the staff not at all helpful.

Keer F.
Malaysia
January 22, 2013
big pool, good gym, big room but very lousy bed!
location, breakfast
it was recommended by some business contacts but would not stay there next time because the bed is really bad - back ache every night. the gym and pool are good, breakfast not so bad though its repetitive like every other hotel.

Emmanuelle H.
Australia
January 15, 2013
Big hotel, comfortable rooms
Location
We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. It is a big hotel so a bit impersonnal but overall good service, good facilities, the rooms are really big and the location is fantastic.

Wong S.
Hong Kong
January 11, 2013
Lovely room
Good location and rooms are lovely, clean and neat, with great view over the city
it was a pleasant and comfortable stay at the hotel, the cafe by the river is lovely, food varity at breakfast was good. Rooms are clean and neat in general.