arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 1153 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1153 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.4
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Staff Performance 7.3
  • Value for Money 7.5
  • Food/Dining 6.5

Eleanor B.
Australia
July 26, 2013
Great, cheap and convenient
Breakfast included, helpful staff and comfortable bed.
We only stayed one night during transit but the room was great. Wifi was fast, breakfast was a choice of western or Asian - we stuck to Asian and it was a tasty noodle soup, can't complain. The staff organised our bus to ho chi minh and all was fine.

Kurtis D.
Australia
July 24, 2013
Average hotel, unpleasant area.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The hotel itself is fine but the area is somewhat dodgy. Too persistent and over priced tuk-tuks.

Arjen B.
Netherlands
July 22, 2013
Effective but not plesant because of overboking
Size of the room
I don't like this hotel because of the following points: - booking: the deluxe double room with canopy bed wasn't available at time of arrive; - the staff was not decisive in solving the problems (wrong reservation, broken lamp, etc); - promises from de website are not fulfilled: balcony (not to use because there is an AC), welcome drink (never had), romantic restaurant (rather dull and business), Wi-Fi in the room (no signal). - atmosphere of the hotel as presented on the website, is totally inconsistent with reality.

Ivana A.
Indonesia
July 21, 2013
Average Service, Decent Room, Large Bathroom
Large Room and Bathroom, Strategically Located
I highly recommend this hotel for business traveler as the location is strategically located in the heart of the city. The room is decent, clean, and also quite spacious. The bathroom also big. I really enjoy the fact that the water flow in the shower is very strong. :) the room and the hotel itself is a bit old. The service is alright. The staff in the restaurant doesn't really speak english. We ordered vegetarian food and have to sent back the food 3 times because they kept putting bacon inside the dish. In the end, we walked out without eating the food. All in all, if you are looking for decent room with reasonable price, I think Royal Inn can be the option.

Chua L.
Malaysia
July 18, 2013
A comfortable stay
clean and big rooms and bathrooms
The service was good and the room was spacious and clean.

Fabian T.
Singapore
July 18, 2013
Nothing Special
Nothing Special
Nothing Special. There is a CIMB bank in front of the hotel. A few massage centre. 10mins walk to the casino. 10mins driving to the city/town area (River front).

Tsun S.
Hong Kong
July 15, 2013
Generally good, with comfortable bed and bathroom
Clean, tidy, nice staff
Generally good, with comfortable bed and bathroom. Staff were nice and very helpful. Breakfast was not buffet.

Thalia H.
Australia
July 13, 2013
Comfortable, conveniently located hotel
Pleasant staff, good internet, tuktuks out the front
I had a comfortable stay even though I had picked a room with no window. Aircon was more than adequate and staff are really helpful with a good level of English. Western breakfast was a bit boring, however, Asian was fine.

Pedro D.
Malaysia
July 11, 2013
able to relax in a quiet view
clean, friendly staffs & nice bathroom
godd and pleasant stay as at first i booked for only one night but due to friendly staffs i continue for another two days.

Minh-Duyen N.
United States
July 05, 2013
Okay. Budget. Basic.
located near Independence monument, professional staff,
It's definitely a budget stay and feels more like hostel quality. Halls smelled damp and with a slight urine odor. Quality for price is okay. Having visited Cambodia before, I've stayed in better quality hostels at a lower price. The Royal Inn Hotel was okay. I chose it because the pictures provided by management seemed nice and it had good reviews on Agoda. I was hesitant to book here because the hotel received poor reviews from trip-advisor. I think the reviews from trip-advisor are more representative of the actual quality of the hotel. I had a standard room, which didn't look at all like the pictures (which I think were actually of the deluxe room). The room was fairly clean but the shower had black stains around the corners -- I'm not sure if it was mold or just grime. The standard room doesn't have any windows and are not even close to being as big as the pictures seem to suggest. However, the room was refreshed daily, which was nice. The staff charged me 20 cents/minute to use their phone to call domestically, which seems pretty expensive given that a pre-paid sim card charges only 5c/min. Other places have not charged me for using their phone. The location might be good for a someone looking to stay somewhat near the waterfront but is far away enough that you still need to hire a tuk-tuk or moto. If you want to be close to the riverfront area, I would recommend looking for a place farther north. I prefer to stay away from the riverfront because the prices(moto/tuk-tuk/food) are too high and the quality of food is mediocre. Despite being located outside central riverfront, the downstairs restaurant and the restaurants right next to Royal Inn were expensive by Khmer standards. The hotel is also located a bit of a distance away from all the major markets - russian, central, orrussey. Overall Phnom Penh is small so distance isn't important but if you're looking for a hotel within walking distance of large activity hubs, this isn't the place.