Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 820 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 820 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.7
  • Location 8.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.4

Nial M. from Australia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Good hotel
Stayed 3 nights in the twin share room with my daughter, room was clean and everything worked. Staff were helpful and the location is only a short tuk tuk ride to most things in town. Multifit power points and rain head shower were handy. Air cond didn't work real great but there was also a ceiling fan which helped.
Reviewed April 21, 2016

Kelsey B. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Luxury for backpackers
I stayed in the dorm room for one night. It was so nice I did not want to leave. It had large beds and a fancy shower/bathroom. Just like the pictures. The pool was also very nice. It was a quiet relaxing place, don't expect to meet many people though. Unfortunately the staff was not very helpful. When I asked for a map they did not have one and and just gave me a generic one without and help. When asking about exchanging money they did not know where I should go and never gave me an answer. Not sure if they were annoyed by me because I am a backpacker or if they were simply understaffed. Everytime I had a question or wanted to drop off my key I had to wait because only one person was working the front desk which was inconvenient. I think if they had two people working this could be avoided and they'd be less stressed and more helpful. The food staff and the owner were very friendly and helpful though. Lots of tuktuks outside who can take you to popular locations for cheap.
Reviewed April 10, 2016

Robert B. from Netherlands
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2016
Oasis of tranquility
Larry and his team are doing there at most to make your stay perfect. The quiet garden and the pool are great after a day of sightseeing in Phnom Penh. But the place is more busy then it used to be in the past, because they have a hostel now, for backpackers for only (!) $10 a night since 2016. This attracts a lot of less wealthy youngsters who normally never stayed in this price range! Soo more people at the pool!
Reviewed April 08, 2016

Dave P. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2016
Peaceful place to stay
I've been coming to The Billabong for 10 years now. The rooms have improved and the ambience pleasant. I had no time to use the pool this visit; but the garden is a refuge from the busy city nearby The change of name to "Billabong Hotel and Hostel" implies a change of ownership since I last stayed there a year ago. It seems cheaper in price too. The food and drink prices have dropped; but the food choice and taste was disappointing in many ways. The Buffet Breakfast was OK, the Asian food was tastier than the Western offerings. I've had better F+B in other Hotels in the City but provided the room prices stay the same I'll stay here again.
Reviewed April 05, 2016

Ben D. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2016
An oasis in Phnom Penh
The Billabong is a peaceful hotel with a great staff and clean rooms. I enjoyed escaping from the crazy city here and will stay again next time I'm in PP.
Reviewed April 04, 2016

Teresa T. from United States
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Absolutely perfect respite from the city!
It's in a perfect location - walking distance to many attractions - and great all around! The rooms are HUGE and clean, with great A/C, impressive TV selection; perfect for taking a rest. The pool is beautiful. The staff are very friendly. The only downside is that they booked a driver for us to Sihanoukville which cost $75 but when we booked a return trip directly with the company it only cost $50. Otherwise, no complaints at all!
Reviewed February 28, 2016

CHUAH L. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in March 2015
Interesting vacation
cleanliness, near the market , availability of local transport
The swimming pool view in front of the dining area was impressive.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

debra T. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2016
great place
pool ,room size and location.
we only stayed over night but could have stayed a lot longer.hotel and staff were just great. just outside of hotel all the transport to get around with.
Reviewed February 17, 2016

Adisyn P. from United States
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in February 2016
Relaxing Retreat on quiet street
Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable
Four friends and I stayed at the Billabong Hotel for 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay! The rooms were clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed our time at the pool. The front desk staff were always helpful to give advice for tuk-tuk pricing and directions. The breakfast was really good too, I especially loved the egg station where you could get your eggs exactly like you want. Wished the pool stayed open a tad longer, but other than that we had no negative feedback for this hotel.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

Philip M. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in January 2016
Great Location and Great Value for Money
Love this hotel and stayed here many times on uor trips to Phnom Penh.Location is fantastic,close to main shopping centre and central market and other major tourist attractions like Royal Palace,Silver Pagoda etc.Only short tuk-tuk ride to riverfront with main restaurants and many eating places and bars to choose from.The rooms are a good size, clean and tidy and the bed and pillows very comfortable.A/C works well and also has overhead fans which we appreciated. Wi Fi worked well in the room and surrounding grounds. The swimming pool is a good size and surrounding areas are beautiful and very much appreciated after the days activities are finished. Staff and in particular Gaga at reception were extremely friendly, polite and helpful with a very good attitude.Food was good and breakfast was good with many options.Would highly recommend this hotel to any travelling to Phnom Penh. Good value for money.
Reviewed February 01, 2016