arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 8.0
Based on 85 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 85 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.1
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.6
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 7.9

Anne K.
Australia
September 11, 2014
Rooms disappointing, staff made it memorable
great job guys
Very disappointed in the landmark suite we had, at 50% off and it was still expensive for PP. The bathroom was just behind a partition in the corner of the room, everything was a bit tired in the room and the one antique dresser or the Belgian linen didn't really compensate. Suite was tiny, moisturiser had lumps, nothing was quite right, breakfast portions were mediocre, bar staff couldn't tell the difference between soda and tonic on multiple occasions. The French GM lurked too long and would be better spending his time on ensuring the rooms are as they should be. But we couldn't fault the staff, esp who accompanied us on our river cruise and whose stellar service was the only thing from labelling this hotel . The public areas are beautiful but the room we had was a let down and if I'd paid full price I would have asked out refusing to pay as they were simply just lacking.

Jane B.
Australia
September 10, 2014
A stylish haven
Retro colonial feel, Raymond the Tuk Tuk driver, the ambience, swimming pool and gardens
Wonderful. The staff were fantastic, the hotel was a stylish throwback to colonial but with all modern comforts. A lovely stay.

sophie G.
France
August 19, 2014
It is the most beautiful hotel I have stayed in
The decor, Cocktails, Atmosphere
We had an attic room which was very small, and designed for singular occupancy (no door to the bathroom) but we didn't know that until arrival. My parents booked the suite which was absolutely amazing. Very spacious, packed full of antiques, and beautifully decorated. The hotel itself is owned by an antique collector, so the decoration was exquisite. Check out was very lengthy, the pool is small (just big enough for a dip, but not for a swim), but the bar area around the pool is lovely.

Trevor T.
United Kingdom
July 07, 2014
Good clean very friendly small hotel
Quite small and friendly , food was out standing . Good value
Very enjoyable the staff and management where very friendly and helpful more than you ask for Highly recommend staying at the Governors House

justin C.
Malaysia
June 25, 2014
lousy room conditions
location,staff service and design
i had a very bad experience, as I had 2 change rooms a few times,air cond not working properly, weak wifi and a lot of mosquito

Shane G.
Singapore
June 16, 2014
Pleasant, excellent staff
Friendly staff, well kept rooms, luxurious setting
The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly, very attentive and they made me feel at home. This was my second time there and they did not disappoint. For the prices, I would definitely think there are few hotels that could match the quality offered. However, the poolside area always has many mosquitoes.

Junxiang W.
Singapore
May 26, 2014
Nice quaint hotel
Good Breakfast, excellent staff, nice decoration
Artfully decorated hotel with very lush garden, creating a relaxing atmosphere. Nice breakfast selection. Room is clean but air conditioner is noticeably weak in the room that I stayed in (Room #11) compared to the room that my colleague stayed in.

Zhiyong H.
Singapore
May 19, 2014
Better then expectation
service, food, room condition

Richard M.
Australia
April 14, 2014
A pleasant boutique hotel
Bespoke, pleasant and friendly staff, atmosphere
On the whole our stay was pleasant and the staff very friendly and interested in conversing. The internet was frustratingy intermittent however. The bed was comfortable and we had a small balcony that we used a bit for reading, which was nice. The hotel has a couple of it's own touk touk drivers available for guests which came in very handy. A lovely bespoke hotel for people who want something a little different.

Amanda S.
Malaysia
February 14, 2014
nice and clean, friendly except lots of mosquitos
Nice environment, good breakfast, clean
Pro : The environment are really nice and staff are friendly. Breakfast are really nice. I called in a room service for dinner and was good too. Con : I have tried changed 3 diff room but still attacked by mosquitos .. after put on some repellent stuffs in the room for 1-2 hrs it getting better though u cld sometime still see it flying pass you ... that probably the most irritating thing to me given this is a good hotel. Also they do not hv lift so hv to carry your luggage up / down .. though they offer carry up when chk in but when checking out we are in hurry so just carry down ourself.. I hv a bit injured in leg that time so this bother me. The traffic of the road outside hotel was terrible we caught in bad traffic jam before able to reach the place. There also not many restaurant nearby though the food in hotel are nice. So I will suggest this to be business guest but probably not recommended for leisure guest. Pool in the hotel quite small too and I rather not to swim there.