arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 155 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 155 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 3.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.4
  • Value for Money 6.9
  • Food/Dining 6.4

ron O.
Israel
February 25, 2016
Very noisy construction site next by
Location is excellent but you just cannot be at the room between 7:40 to 17:30 The noise from the next door construction site is terrible. Staff but the owner doesn't speak English. Only at the last day we understood that only if you ask especially only than they will come to clean the room. They don't believe in blanket,only bed sheets,so you freeze with a/c and boil without it

Mark H.
Australia
January 28, 2016
Cheap but Pretty run down
This hotel is a small place very close to the river, the staff were very helpful and pleasant, but the building has seen better days, breakfast was not includerd so I am not sure about the food but they have a small kitchen and their attitude is good so I would think the food is probably cheap and good

FARAH H.
Malaysia
December 28, 2015
Good location, helpful staff
Location, price, nice staff
I chose The Local because of the location. It was right on the touristy riverside (not directly opposite the river, but it was the third building on the street from the riverfront), is a walking distance to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum (5-minute walk), and a walking distance to the night market (15-minute walk). This is a small hotel (4 rooms in total) run by a friendly guy named Yat. For the price that I paid (balcony room), I didn't expect much going in. The size of the room was fine, the bathroom, although rather small, has a bathtub which I liked. There was no breakfast included, but I never had an issue finding food as the hotel was located among restaurants, bars, and supermarkets. The room and the bathroom were not very clean, the bathtub is old and there was some (perhaps irremovable) stain on the it and on the sink, however, this didn't bother me so much. BUT, on my second morning, I woke up to two cockroaches and a baby centipede having a night safari in the bathtub. I found another cockroach the following morning. The "rain shower" didn't work so well as it was placed rather close to the wall, and directly above the slope on the bathtub so I couldn't really stand properly.

Jihan M.
Philippines
December 01, 2015
Stay only for the location
Location, nice staff
We stayed at the penthouse. The flight of stairs are steep and it looked dangerous. It may not have been a problem if they had an elevator. I won't recommend this hotel if you don't exercise. Climbing to the rooms can be exhausting. The rooms are also a bit dusty. If you have allergic rhinitis like me, I recommend you bring anti-histamine. I had a good night sleep once I took one. One thing that bothered me the most though was their bathroom! It rained the night we stayed there, then the next morning when we checked, all our toiletries were soaked from the rain. There was probably a leak or something on ceiling. It was disappointing. I feel bad for the staff. They were all nice.

Timothy H.
United States
November 13, 2015
Great place
The staff the location. Atmosphere
I had a very enjoyable experience

pookie H.
Thailand
September 30, 2015
good
clean,staff,location
Good

Wilson C.
Malaysia
September 05, 2015
Phnom Penh Trip
Location only
The stay here is bad as there is a construction still ongoing just beside the hotel. There are no basic toiletries provided and the room is very dark and dirty. The hotel gate will close at 11pm and I was lucky to go back on time or else I will need to stay outside. However, the staff there is friendly and the wifi is acceptable.

Nithiyaraja S.
Malaysia
August 28, 2015
Horrible place
It was a horrible experience. The room looked more like a barn then a room. The toilet was dirty, the stairway to the room floor was extremely dangerous.

Jonny W.
United Kingdom
August 17, 2015
Good guest house
Location, room facilities and staff
Good guesthouse but badly let down by the slow building work next door. It wasn't noisy but just creates loads of dust everywhere, especially on the balcony to the double room. It's not the hotels fault but I would not stay here until the building work is finished next door, or at least screened off better.

Victoria B.
Australia
August 11, 2015
Warm welcome for mum & toddler on a budget!
Lovely staff, very friendly with children, great central location
My 15 month toddler and I arrived at The Local after a 5 hour bus trip and the staff were genuinely warm and welcoming. They took the baby from my arms and played with her, heated up a bottle of milk, took us to drop off our laundry, and fulfilled my request for a small mattress on the floor. The location is great if you want to be on the river as it's located on a sidestreet just around the corner from the riverfront bars and restaurants. We didnt eat in their grill downstairs as it was a bit pricey. There are only 4 rooms in the hotel and our one was cute and shabby but quite small and probably the worst mattress I've had so far in Cambodia - the springs were literally poking through. But for $18 a night, with fridge, kettle, bath tub for the baby to splash in, tv and air con, plus the added bonus of very nice staff (this really makes a difference when traveling alone with kids) I'd definitely recommend The Local Riverside. Thanks!