arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 58 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 58 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.1
  • Location 7.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.1
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for Money 6.8
  • Food/Dining 6.5

5.7 fadi J.
Jordan
August 26, 2013
It’s about the average
The staff are helpful, the location is quit and close to the subway.
The AC is working ineffectively, the furniture the room is very old

6.3 Emily H.
Canada
December 24, 2012
Comfortable and quiet
scenic, comfortable rooms, great decor, large bathtub, huge pool, close to the metro
I stayed four nights and might return if I wanted a quiet place close to Renmin University. For visiting Renmin U, it's a great place. The links to other districts are convenient. Disadvantages are that the neighbourhood is ugly beyond the hotel grounds, especially in winter. I also found the service attitude lacking in courtesy. The staff are not trained well as they are in international chain hotels. I didn't even get a thank you or goodbye when I checked out, and this was a general shortcoming. More than one staff person had the chance to look me in the eye and say thank you or goodbye but instead they treated me like I was serving them. For this reason I am unlikely to stay again. It's too insulting. However I might visit just to use the pool. To my surprise, I had to pay 90 percent of the outsider's fee for using the pool even though I was staying at the hotel (not in the VIP building). I have never had to pay to use a pool while staying at a hotel before. Another annoyance, though small, is that the toilet paper is very poor quality. I don't mind coarse paper but paper that won't tear off into squares is troublesome. Also, the in-rrom safe was difficult to operate and should be better in a four-star hotel. On the plus side, the hotel has its own drinking water and it was nice not to have to worry about that (I drink a lot of water).

7.7 Curt A.
Norway
December 13, 2012
OK hotel
The locationw as perfect for me
the location of the hotel was perfect for me, right next to where i needed to go. i would not choose the hotel because for the hotel quality though. the staff was friendly, and the food was ok, but nothing fancy. would not necessarily choose the hotel again, only if i needed to go to that area.

10 LI Z.
China
December 11, 2012
Wonderful price
reasonable price
It is a wonderful place to invite friends. I recommend you to come again and again

10 LI Z.
China
December 11, 2012
good place to go
very convenient to the stores
I would like to come again and enjoy the shopping around this area

9 paul M.
United Kingdom
November 20, 2012
Traditional buildings and friendly staff
Well organized staff, self sufficient complex and traditional buildings.
Suite provides excellent accommodation . Location a few minutes from Renmin subway just a few stops to the Summer Palace. Hotel offers many amenities within its unique complex. The staff are friendly and helpful with several speaking very good English. Be careful walking round the site at nightfall as the pavements have intermittent raised steps.

10 Jane H.
United States
November 01, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
clean, helpful employees who spoke english, nice grocery store, well kept grounds.
I felt very safe at this hotel traveling solo as a woman. Everyone was very kind and courteous to me.

7 LIU K.
Hong Kong
October 26, 2012
large , clean and tidy
15 mins walk to train station
it takes about 15 mins walking distation to train station....the room is large and clean....however , it is a little bit expensive....

5.3 Andrew R.
United States
October 24, 2012
Good location - generally poor service.
Close to Haidian and universities; quirky reminder of 1950s China
The hotel's location -- in a gated compound of apartments, research institutes, etc. -- evokes pre-perestroika USSR, or Cultural Revolution era China, in a number of ways. The hotel itself is enormous, spread over several buildings, and in mostly good repair. Rooms are smallish, but basically clean and serviceable. The supermarket in the basement of building 2 is worth a short trip. You can imagine foreign experts and Party apparatchiks buying Bulgarian butter and other items unavailable to the masses. I think the Bulgarian butter's still there, actually. Staff are almost uniformly unhelpful, and certainly uninterested in making the visitor's stay a pleasant one. Questions regarding the surrounding area (recommended restaurants, directions to local venues) were typically met with a disinterested shrug. Issues with access to breakfast took several long trudges back and forth between the restaurant and the front desk. At least I worked up an appetite. Probably the poorest service I've experienced in Asia, but this might be typical for China, as I'm a first-time visitor there. Dining room service at breakfast consisted of whisking half-finished plates from the table when I went back to the buffet for coffee. Must've gone through three place settings one morning ...

8.7 Noam T.
United Kingdom
October 03, 2012
Great hotel for business travel
Clean, Friendly, central and quiet
Really enjoyed my stay, staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good english. The room was comfortable and quiet and the location was good. I would stay here again