Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1546 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.4
Sort by

CAROL O. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Lovely hotel, great location, wonderful service
Personal attention, spacious and comfortable room, good coffee!
I arrived in Beijing at 8 am after an overnight flight from KL and the Kapok hotel staff prepared my room for 9:30 am (very early check-in). The room was beautiful and spacious. The staff were very attentive, friendly and professional. The breakfasts were superb and very reasonably priced. The business office was very helpful in booking tours. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Beijing and I recommend that you do so, also.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

stephen D. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 13 nights in March 2012
nice hotel
close to forbidden city and wanfujing
very nice hotel .. breakfast is a bit dear .. the nearest subway station is 15 to 20 minute walk away .. hard to get a cab from here .. the business centre in basement is helpful for some reason when you check in they use your credit card for renmimbi even if youve prepaid a deposit they say it is refunded when you leave .... just dont use the mini bar!! its a clean good hotel but when i went to check in apparently they was problems with the electricity supply and so i was put up at the novotel down the road for 3 days !!
Reviewed March 24, 2012

SZE W. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Boutique Hotel with great service
Great location - close proximity to Forbidden City and Wangfujing Shopping Street
boutique hotel is well-located - walking distance to forbidden city and wangfujin shopping street. hotel staff can speak good english, hence most of the guests are foreigners and rarely locals. the hotel room is clean and could accommodate triple sharing. like most boutique hotels, most taxi drivers have not heard of the hotel but could easily locate hotel when the map is shown.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Angela S. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Lovely Hotel, excellent location
Perfectly located for shopping and sightseeing
small, clean well run hotel. the staff are friendly and helpful and several are english speaking
Reviewed March 19, 2012

YASHODA K. from India
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Clean new and very good location
Internet was good. Choice of TV Channels very limited. Should have CNN and BBC. Location is fantastic. Front staff is cordial and helpful. Overall very good experience.
The availability of drinking water should be unlimited. Dining facility should provide Indian Vegetarian cuisine also.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Ashley H. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2012
Great Location
Location
This was a great hotel, good staff and facilities and even better location. Walking distance to many sights such as the forbidden city and the area is great to go out for a walk and see how to the locals live.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Hui L. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in February 2012
hotel with good location!
close to forbidden city, friendly staff
staff was friendly to us, however, do not accept their offers for booking taxis. it will be much cheaper if you just flag down a cab by the roadside, which will cost around 90RMB to the airport. the hotel staff will quote are 200-300 RMB for one cab! it's around 10-15 mins walk to the closest mrt station, but you can always take a cab because it's cheap. there is subway opposite the hotel.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Geoff W. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in March 2012
Excellent location
Location, friendly, English-speaking staff
Arriving from Shanghai on the Bullet Train, I had the foresight to have the reception staff at our hotel there write the name of The Kapok Hotel in Chinese to show the taxi driver. This was to no avail as he neither spoke English nor read Chinese! I steered him there via my sense of direction and a vague Lonely Planet map. Once at the hotel we were greeted by helpful staff. A non-smoking room in The Courtyard category was unavailable so we were up-graded to a Business Suite on the top floor, overlooking the front street. The room was huge, with luxury bathroom, lounge with large screen TV, and WiFi as well as in-room computer. The bed was great. Breakfast was not brilliant, but adequate. There are plenty of restaurant options close by, and the famoue night market is 100m up the street, with The Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square a couple of hundred metres in the opposite direction. We had a very pleasant stay.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

ernest P. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in March 2012
Great Hotel, great people
very close to forbiden city
when i come for check in, there were problems with the rooms, so the manager take me to novotel in wangfujing area instead. they are very responsible and really friendly, not only they upgade to more expensive hotel, they also pay for breakfast and rooms with view without extra charge. kapok hotel itself very close to forbidden city, it is 200 meters away from the east gate, take shuttle to main gate and only pay 1 yuan, very close to metro subway. hotel looks very modern and clean, i think this is the best hotel near forbidden city, i saw some of other hotel close by is very creepy and rundown.
Reviewed March 08, 2012

Wee N. from Singapore
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Interesting Boutique Hotel
Located near to Wangfujing
We love the hotel unique design and the room setup. The room is spacious and the bed is nice to sleep on. The only disappointment is the so called Courtyard view. It is a man made garden and it seemed that it has not been maintained well.
Reviewed March 05, 2012