Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1546 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.4
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for Money 8.3
  • Food/Dining 7.4

William Z.
United States
August 08, 2011
Great location, but no in room wifi.
Ultra modern decor.
the courtyard seemed to be geared to smokers and only had a view of the hallway. the bathroom was really cool how it was surrounded by glass. it was also really close to the forbidden city and wangfujing shopping street. i'd recommend it to anybody travelling to beijing.

Wicks M.
Australia
August 05, 2011
A well located and beautiful hotel
Location and attention to detail wiith the decor
this hotel, located within easy walking distance to the shops and key sights of central beijing is lovely. the rooms, while small, are beautifully finished and stand out as being different to the normal hotel a business person stays at. people were helpful and friendly and english was not a problem. my only complaint was the air conditioning was inefficient

Esther C.
Canada
July 29, 2011
Good location and clean
English speaking and friendly staff, good location, bathroom clean
glad i made the right choice in choosing this hotel. a very convenient location, just walking distance to tiananmen square and the forbidden city and the wangfujing shopping area. also just across the hotel is subway, a good western outlet for a change from chinese food. quiet location too. only have problem getting taxi from the shopping areas back to the hotel, probably it is a just a short distance or the traffic that deters taxi drivers.

Poung L.
Singapore
July 29, 2011
Hotel Kapok Wangfuljing
Normal 4-star hotel
What would be expected of 4-starred hotel. Nothing outstanding. Front desk staff has problem understanding english. Unique room feature, a small garden just outside the room. Bathroom is glass-partitioned floor to ceiling with only drapes to offer privacy. If drapes are not drawn & front door is open, anyone passing your front door will have full view of the bathroom. Walking distance to shopping boulevard is a good 15-20 mins. If you can stand the Beijing winter, make sure you are well bundled up. At this price, there are newer, better hotel in better location more keen for your business. Not that it is a bad hotel, just that they need to respond to competitive environment to entice guest to 'want to come back'.

Li C.
United States
July 27, 2011
Ok hotel, it's decent
interior and exterior design
Overall, the hotel is okay. It has a nice interior and exterior design. The room is a little small and the glass bathroom doesn't offer much privacy.

Patricia K.
United States
July 27, 2011
Great Location and Great Rooms
Nice, clean rooms and nice bathroom
we highly recommend this hotel. it was reasonably priced with all the extras in the room. the rooms are very clean and roomy. service was very good. breakfast buffet was better than others we have had with both western and asian food. the lunch and dinner menu leaves much to be desired, but it is all about getting out to experience beijing. other reviews have mentioned noisy rooms on the road. we had a suite on the second floor on the street side and we did not hear any road or people noise. yes the beds are hard, but better than most i have found in china. my husband and i really liked their bed and the several pillows with different levels of firmness. fyi - there is a great massage place right to the left as you walk out the lobby "dragonfly". this would be a night room in the us. enjoy!

John M.
Australia
July 27, 2011
Great hotel, great location
Location, style
the staff were very helpful, the rooms are well presented & it's such a good location. can't help feeeling the concierge was trying to sell us a tour rather than give unbiased advice - shame.

Natalie G.
Australia
July 26, 2011
Good location, Good breakfast, Good service
Very close to Forbidden City
We booked a Courtyard room thinking we could access an outside area from room but on 3rd Floor it was only a window view of Courtyard area. Beds were quite hard and bathroom is large with only a curtain for privacy. Breakfast was simple but fresh and variety of choices. Staff were friendly and very helpful in contacting our next hotel in Shanghai to find out and write down address in Chinese (for taxi driver).

Andrew M.
United States
July 22, 2011
Lovely location; exceptional room; friendly staff
Quality of rooms & staff
Travel to Beijing quite often and had previously stayed at an 5 Star International Chain Hotel voted "Best of the chain.". With the exception of Western food service, Kapok is equal at a much lower price.

Beate J.
Germany
July 15, 2011
very modern and well kept in good location
very modern and nice, nice staff, good located
Very modern and nice clean place, rooms are well equiped. Good place to start to explore the city, breakfast is also really nice.