arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1526 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 5.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.7
  • Service 6.5
  • Value for Money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.1

5 Won C.
Malaysia
November 11, 2013
Needs a complete makeover and live to its promise
location, location, location
The decor reminds me of hotels I stayed in when China first open its door to outsiders i.e. like a communist relic. I booked and paid for a room with outside view and informed prior hand that I will be arriving late. But, I was given a room without outside view on arrival on the basis that I arrived late and all the rooms has been given out. So what gives?

6.7 David B.
New Zealand
November 09, 2013
No-window rooms are poor.
good location to transport and diverse amenities; sightseeing in walking distance; clean
Having booked a no-window budget room 3 times before, I was dismayed to arrive to a different experience. Whereas previously the 'no-window' had an internal window opening onto an internal tower, this time there was truly no natural light or ventilation at all. On enquiry, I was informed that each other time,I had been upgraded. On this occasion I selected to upgrade, but the extra cost was above what an internet booking would have cost. I do not recommend booking the the budget option of no-window on line. Otherwise the stay was fine.

8 CHOO C.
Malaysia
November 04, 2013
nice , comfy
nothing is nice, is a budget hotel in Shanghai
I took a no window room, because of short night staying. But, it was too hot, because during this season the outside temperature was 20, and hotel don't switch on air conditioning. and the room without window, the no air circulation. I complaint to front desk, and the Assistant manager upgrade me to window room with no extra charges.

7 TAN L.
Malaysia
November 02, 2013
Awesome Shanghai with super high skyscrapers
location, good accessibility to public transport n near to eateries.
We like our stay in the Charms Hotel very much. It is centrally located and only a few minutes walk yo Nanjing Pedestrian Street. The staff is friendly and efficient even though they are always busy with guests. The room is large which we like except it is a bit dim. The room was not equipped with toiletries and was disappointed especially we checked in at 2.30 am. Overall, we will be quite happy yo stay in this hotel again for our next trip as it is easy to go anywhere from the hotel as taxis are essy to come by. certainly value for money.

8.3 Bob T.
Australia
November 01, 2013
Relaxed, Free n Easy and comfortable.
Friendly and helpful staff, nice and comfortable room, very close to all shoppings, amendities n attractions.
Very comfortable, relaxed atmosphere. A very friendly Hotel with helpful staff. Great buffet breakfast and with free Wifi in room which makes communications at ease. Fully recommended especially if one is a keen shopper for inexpensive and good things. The great Nanjing Road shopping walkway is only a street away. Walking distance to the infamous - The Bund.

6 Heerim K.
South Korea
October 30, 2013
not bad
good location
You could walk to Waitan along East Nanzing road. The subway station is nearby this hotel.

5 Ho M.
Hong Kong
October 27, 2013
Shanghai is amazing,a lot of new and tall building
good location, easy to travel and reasonable price
The hotel is a bit old, the room is small and dark. the breakfast was no good. It is only good at location. it was easy to find taxi in the morning when going to the airport. the service of staffs are so so.

7 HAJI M.
United States
October 27, 2013
GOOD.
BEST LOCATION.
INITIALLY I GOT A VERY SMALL ROOM WHICH THE HOTEL MANAGEMENT CHANGED TO A LARGER ROOM WHICH WAS QUITE COMFORTABLE WITH A GOOD CITY VIEW. THE LOCATION OF THE WAS GREAT. STAFF AT RECEPTION WAS RESPONSIVE AND POLITE. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO MY FRIENDS ANY TIME.

6.7 Kok L.
Malaysia
October 25, 2013
Rating : 3 out of 5
Large room size, great price, great location
It was a large room with reasonable price, and it's about 600m from nearest Metro station (People's Square Station). Surrounded by lot of shopping, restaurants and entertainments such as Nan-Jing Road and about 1km to The Bund.

6.3 Chit L.
Malaysia
October 24, 2013
The hotel is in a good location,
good location, friendly staff and Clean.