arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.8
Based on 139 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 139 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.6
  • Staff Performance 7.4
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.3

9.3 sara K.
India
October 15, 2012
Donghu Garden Hotel
great hotel, great location, great staff
This is my second time that I stay in Donghu hotel (main building)and i plan to return next year as well - the room was spacious and comfortable, nice view of the street, very sweet houskeepers (i was sick for some days and they took care of me) The building is a bit old so maintanance is not always so perfect. this is the only down side of this great hotel

6.3 L.Y.C L.
Mauritius
September 29, 2012
good location but room not so good
abc
good location reception staff very pleasant good english speaking

8 Warren S.
Australia
August 16, 2012
Good hotel in very good location
Location
The Donghu hotel is a good but relatively simple hotel in a very good location.

9.3 Michael F.
United States
August 15, 2012
Lovely Hotel
It is a classy place
It really is one of the best hotels in Shanghai. The location is great as well although there are a lot of foreigners there considering you are in China. The place even has a pool although it is in another building and indoors. The food and drinks in the rooms are oddly cheap but the restaurant is overpriced. There are many restaurants around the hotel.

8.7 Ian S.
Australia
July 11, 2012
Well situated hotel
Pleasent and quiet part of Shanghai
Stayed for 2 nights. Comfortable bed and nice room. Also close to a variety of restaurants.

8.3 sasikan B.
Thailand
June 26, 2012
Great location, near all cool shop and bar
located at downtown
hotel is pretty old, with antique feeling. but if you scare of spirit, this hotel might scare you off from it's look. But i didn't experience any. It has big room with all required facility. Only lane internet in the room night be trouble for people travel without computer.

8.3 sasikan B.
Thailand
June 26, 2012
great location
boutique
hotel is feel like it could be hunted a bit. but i haven't seen anything. beside that, it's located in heart of shopping area, bar and restaurant. recommended if you don't have much money to spend and would like to explore shanghai

8.3 Paulina C.
Canada
June 26, 2012
lovely hotel
best location
it is always a pleasure to stay in this hotel . It is not my first time here , I always go when im in shanghai .I love this location

7.7 Jennifer D.
United States
June 02, 2012
Great location, standard service
Great Location, reasonable price, near subway stations and major shopping roads
We spent two nights in the Donghu in the main building and had no problems. The location is the best feature of the hotel, right in the center of the French Concession, close to many nice shops and restaurants. We particularly enjoyed the Mexican place around the corner! The "gym" has only one treadmill, and it is very loud and squeaky. If you can handle a hard mattress, this is a fine place to stay. Be sure to request the main hotel over the "annex", as there is a lot of construction going on over there!

5 Ang B.
Singapore
May 27, 2012
位置不錯但服務一般,房間設施老
靠近地鐵和淮海路商場,吃東西買東西很方便
It was an average experience staying at Donghu. Knowing that it was a historical building, my partner & I wished to see more of it so we took a walk within the building after checking in. We were just crossing into the next corridor and we were stopped by a hotel person saying that we were not allow to wander within the hotel vicinity, which was completely weird and got us felt so unwelcome. The room we got was of decent size but the facilities were dated and the toilet was pretty rundown. Thank god we were staying only for a night.