arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.3
Based on 196 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 196 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Staff Performance 7.0
  • Value for Money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 6.2

7.7 AU Y.
Hong Kong
December 13, 2014
convenience
near shopping area; easy access; clean room

6.3 Johann S.
Switzerland
November 24, 2014
November 2014
1. Sauna and Swimming Pool; 2. Check in / Check out; Breakfest buffet
Rooms are very small for Business men (no sitting facilities in the room exept at the table). Bath room very small and the shower distributer was laking water (seal was defect). No possibilities to change Swiss Francs into Yuan. Clean up room was o.k. Restaurants are o.k.

7.7 Desmond S.
Singapore
November 04, 2014
Located in the City, easy access to all places
Walking distance to Wargas, IAPM and nice old buildings around it
Pleasant

5.7 Michael T.
United Kingdom
November 03, 2014
Average French Concession hotel
Location, reasonable price, location
This is not in Xiantiandi, or anywhere near it. Hotel is a little old and Chinese. At one point they rang me to find out when I no longer wanted to not be disturbed. Large pool, but old and Chinese standards.

7.3 Jennifer S.
Panama
October 25, 2014
Good location
Location
My friend booked this hotel for me, all she told me was true, great location, clean and in the moddle of the Kohsan Road. This place is good for people that are traveling without children, the noise at night kept the little ones awake for part of the night. The nicest thing was the pool area.

6.3 Jennifer S.
Panama
October 25, 2014
good location
location in the middle of the FC
Its a good location, right in the middle of the French Con. really nice walking area, close to shops, malls, resturants, bar and massage places. the hotel itself could use some renovation, but if you are there for justa couple of nights, its a good place to stay on a budget, somethign that it is hard to find in this area.

6.7 GOH L.
Singapore
October 23, 2014
Good location, unfortunately it is dishonest!
location, known by taxi drivers, known by locals.
The reception gave me the lowest grade room which i did not booked. The hotel booking descriptions showed there will be a standing bath and a round bathtub. They first gave me a smallest walk-up room at the 8th storey without elevator. On protest they changed me to slightly better room on 17th Oct night. My 2nd stay on 21st Oct was given a better room but still did not match the description.

5.3 Douglas S.
Canada
October 10, 2014
Grossly overpriced and overrated hotel
Location, cafe in the lobby.
Very disappointed with this hotel. For the price I expected a room far bigger and nicer. Tiny room with very small, hard bed with pathetic pillows. The staff were indifferent, almost miserable. The only thing good about this hotel is the location and the nice French cafe attached to the lobby.

8.7 Bob R.
United States
October 07, 2014
Frequent customer
Location, price, adequacy
I have stayed at over a dozen hotels in Shanghai in the last couple of years and Donghu Guest House (never mind the "Xintiandi" in the name; it's not close to Xintiandi) is one of a few that I have returned to several times. It is clean, modern and simple; very reasonably priced; close to two subway stops on three main lines of the Shanghai Metro; a good point of departure for walking tours of the French Concession; and a short walk from dozens of restaurants and places of entertainment of many kinds, not to mention the fancy brand shopping if that's what you're into. (On this block plus Fenyang to the south you can buy a wide range of classical music CDs from street vendors.) -- Do not confuse "Donghu Guest House" with a similarly named hotel (I think under same management) across the street in the mansion that was the home of the 1930s gangster "Big Ears" Du. That historic building is currently being renovated and will probably soon reopen with correspondingly inflated room rates. -- Notes: 1. The elevator only goes to the seventh floor, so don't book an eighth floor room unless you're comfortable lugging suitcases up a narrow stair. 2. Get a room facing the back, because the street is noisy at night because of a recently increased number of bars. (There are also pleasant restaurants and bars on the street, both fancy and ordinary ones.)

7.7 Peter A.
United States
September 25, 2014
Decent Value for the Money in a Perfect Location
Convenient location close to heart of French Concession, also near Jing'An. Ok room.
I booked this hotel at the last minute and was satisfied because it was in a great location. I could easily walk into the heart of the French Concession, and also easily walk to the Jing'an Temple area. While I was here, the quiet grounds out front were being torn up for re-"construction". A very typical situation here. Overall, the rooms are ok--but could use some freshening, and it's in a favorable area.