Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 848 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.9
  • Service 8.2
  • Value for money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 6.5
Sort by

Matthew K. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 5 nights in August 2012
Very nice room with plenty of space to move around
Large room, nicely furnished, good location for exploring the area
I enjoyed my stay at Gallery Suites. The location of the hotel is very good for taking leisurely walks and getting to know the area. Hengshan Park, across the street, also makes for a very pleasant walk. There are several restaurants and pubs located along Hengshan Road. The metro is also easily accessible.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Janet H. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in July 2012
Lovely rooms, nice old shanghai ambience
Good location, beautiful historic building, nice rooms with an "un-hotel" feel
I have stayed in this hotel several times and am pleased to notice that some much needed maintenance has been done in the rooms as they were looking a bit tired on my previous stay. The breakfast remains a challenge and the staff have become more surly than previously. However, this is a nice hotel which represents good value for money. The wi-fi works well, which is an important feature for me. Staying in this hotel is more like being in an apartment, in fact the building used to be an apartment building which was renovated to accommodate this hotel. The location is good with the metro station one block away, Starbucks up the road and is situated on a large road with a plentiful supply of taxi's (outside of rush hour)
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Susan W. from United States
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Large rooms to spread out in.
Spacious room. Short walk to subway stations.
A really nice place to come back to after a full day in the city. Breakfast is adequate. The bathroom area doesn't have a door, so privacy is minimal. But a lovely hotel that we'd return to. It's in a nice part of Shanghai, conveniently located.
Reviewed August 05, 2012

Martin G. from United States
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in July 2012
Charming hotel in French Concession of Shanghai
Great location, charming room, clean, quiet, comfortable
We very much enjoyed the hotel and its great location
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Christina G. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
A little tired but still quaint
Large rooms, good location
Stayed in this hotel 3 years back and I must say it has aged a lot since then. The rooms are looking quite tired and it hasn't quite retained its original charm. However, at this price, I suppose it is still very good value for money. Would still recommend it for a short stay.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Noor S. from
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great location with spacious room
Spacious suites and quiet neighbourhood
I'm a frequent visitor to this hotel and whenever I'm in Shanghai I always stay at the Gallery suites. The room is spacious and it's close to ATM, restaurants, cafes, and metro.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Ting T. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great interior design but poor maintenance
nice boutique hotel located in a lovely neighbourhood
The rooms were beautifully designed, with a hint of the old shanghai style, but the carpet was really old and dirty. The exterior of the building and lobby is a little old, and requires maintenance. Housekeeping staffs were friendly and helpful, whereas the reception staffs are just alright. This would be a lovely hotel if there are better maintenance!
Reviewed July 05, 2012

Tiina V. from Finland
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in June 2012
Nice location but that´s all
Big room
I do not understand why this is 4+ star hotel. The hotel might have beed a nice butique hotel in it´s early days, but it should currently be 2 star hotel. Cons: Really bad service, even in China.Breakfast, no coffee etc.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Tommy S. from Australia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
Great hotel, very large rooms
very large rooms, don't feel like a hotel
Staff was reasonable helpful. Room was the biggest I have ever stayed in. Nice area too, cafes and eateries around. Nice area to walk during the day. At night a bit of a "red area" all friendly though.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jaivin L. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in June 2012
Chic, friendly and brilliantly located
The service was fantastic, the rooms gorgeous and the location couldn't have been better.
I'd definitely stay here again. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated and well-equipped for a long stay. I organised for them to pick me up at the airport. My plane was very delayed and I had to rush off somewhere - they dropped me where I was going (not far from the hotel) and took my bag back to the hotel for a later check-in. They did this very graciously; the service was consistently nice. The location, in an old French Concession neighbourhood and close to a huge park was great, too. The only room for improvement would be with the breakfast, which was a bit lacklustre - for one thing, they could get a better selection of breads including wholemeal and provide other healthy and more sophisticated options.
Reviewed June 25, 2012