arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.2
Based on 727 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 727 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.5
  • Value for Money 8.0
  • Food/Dining 7.5

9 James V.
New Zealand
August 08, 2013
Fantastic hotel in an average location
Room size, room comfort, room design
I had a great stay in this hotel. It is probably one of the best hotels in Shanghai, let down by the fact that it is in a very average location. You have to take a taxi or a 20 minute walk to the nearest MTR station to go anywhere interesting.

7 Martin L.
Austria
August 06, 2013
Good location, Service could be better
Close to Metro Station, in walking distance to Nanjing Road, nice pool
An Austrian couple, we went to Shanghai to visit our daughter for 2 weeks. We chose Nikko Hotel because it is close to her workplace and to the city center. Short walk to Metro station line 2 brings you almost everywhere in Shanghai. We arrived at 9 am and paid for an extra 1/2 day for early check-in. We had a premier deluxe room on the 22nd floor, which provided a nice view to the city. The room was clean and spacious, but not many storage room for our clothes. Not many drawers, so we had to keep most of our stuff in the suitcases. We chose the hotel also because it was listed with outdoor pool. Unfortunately there is none. The pictures show the garden area with garden pool. The indoor pool is quite ok. Also nice spa but according to hotel category rather expensive. Main problem is that for an international hotel, the staff is rarely capable of speaking english, even in the business center. a lot of trainees who keep talking to you in CHinese even if you tell them that you don't understand. We had dinner at our first evening in the Chinese restaurant at the hotel, which was a challenge, since you could only orde via IPad and the software was also chinese only :-). All in all, average value for money, if not for the location close to our daugther, there are alternatives.

7.7 simon T.
United States
August 06, 2013
Nicely located
Clean, centrally locate, nice room features
I really like staying at this hote. It's not the first time I stayed there. Pretty much every time I head to shanghai I stay at nikko. The location is very central and there are lots of restaurant in walking distant. Also the gym inside the hotel is nice. I def recommned people to stay there

8 Nicolas R.
France
August 03, 2013
Back to the Hotel Nikko Shanghai
Location, Room, Price
I have stayed a couple of times already at the Hotel Nikko Shanghai, always nice to stay there. Staff are not always very helpful and friendly, but the condition of the hotel is great. Room are nice. Easy access by taxi from Hongqiao Airport. Always a good value for money.

8 BELINDA L.
Hong Kong
August 02, 2013
Value hotel with good location and comfortable
Very clean and the size of the bed is big.Great value for good location and comfortable bedroom.
I will book this hotel when I go to shanghai again.

7.7 Cecilia H.
Malaysia
July 25, 2013
efficient and yet comfortable
location, clean room and frienly staff
I chose the hotel due to its location which is close to my client. Easy access and at least my taxi driver does not need direction to send me back to hotel.

9 mia K.
Australia
July 15, 2013
wonderful stay as the staff were so helpful
comfort, accessability, staff performance
always willing to bring ice, wonderful staff service and so prompt. Easy to arrange car with driver or taxi. Japanese and Chinese Restaurants in hotel were excellent.

10 Cassandra K.
United States
July 12, 2013
Comfortable, clean, spacious
up-to-date, comfort, amenities
My stay was very comfortable, my room was large and well laid out, I had a comfy bed and nice bathroom, everything was shiny and new. Good international breakfast and lunch, convenient to restaurants in the Jing'An district and temple. Free, fast internet.

9.3 Thomas H.
United Kingdom
July 02, 2013
Always excellent
Great room, quiet and elegant design, good value
I really like this hotel and stay often - the room is very well presented for business travelers and has just the right blend of luxury and practicality. The location could be better but this seems a minor complaint.

8.7 Meng W.
China
June 30, 2013
Comfortable
Free room upgrade , huge bathroom with tub, big space