arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
All reviews (1170)

Business travelers (501)

Couples (295)

Solo travelers (168)

Families with young children (64)

Families with older children (78)

Groups (64)

Excellent
8.3
based on 1170 reviews
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness
8.5
Facilities
7.8
Location
9.3
Room Comfort/Standard
8.3
Staff Performance
8.1
Value for Money
8.1
Food/Dining
7.5

8.3 stephen G.
United States of America
June 22, 2014
Clean, Quiet, Comfortable, Great Location
English Speaking, Location, Comfortable
This location is great. You can walk to the pedestrian shopping street with lots of stores. The Bund was within walking distance and so was the TV and Radio Tower. Breakfast was good. Was warned by friend not to take up offers for cheap women in front of hotel or anywhere. I am not sure why the hotel does not get rid of these people, but they did not bother me when I was with my family - just by myself. Airpot to hotel 350 Yuan in 10 passenger vehicle - You can only get 2 people per cab if you have larger than carryon luggage

9.3 KaYi L.
Hong Kong
August 04, 2014
Business purpose
Clean and comfortable
just stayed for 1 nite for business purpose, nice staff with nice room

7.3 George E.
Australia
May 18, 2014
It grows on you with each stay - not great butmeet
Good size rooms, convenient location, comfortable
I keep going back.

8 Michael C.
United States of America
May 16, 2014
comfortable and efficient
location, ease of communication and service
Have stayed at the HoJo Plaza a few times and each time they provide efficient and attentive service, in an excellent location in the center of Shanghai. Walking distance to Peoples Park and the Bund and Nanjing Road.

6.7 Holger K.
Germany
May 11, 2014
Old but nice hotel
Everything you need, walking distance to shopping are, the Bund and some good Clubs
I was there to meet customers and with all over wifi and nice Lobby it worked well. Some staff is good , some are terrible , not acceptable for 5 stars

8.3 John C.
United States of America
May 12, 2014
Great location
Clean room, central location and great staff
Great place to stay if you want walking distance to Nanjing Road. It's basically across the street. It is also close to 2 subway lines so you can explore other parts of the city. Hailing a taxi was not an issue, there was always one waiting by the curb or in the hotel parking area. Only complaint is that the room is always at 24C no matter how you manipulate the thermostat. I like my room colder than that, but was told by a friend while back that it's part of the city's regulation to conserve energy. Great place to stay overall. I always try to stay here every time I'm in town.

10 Jymmy S.
Romania
May 02, 2014
Perfect location. The best in Shanghai.
Location, Location, Location

8 Louis T.
Indonesia
August 14, 2014
Good Choice for Business Travellers
location, nearby shopping area, comfy room
It was a good choice. ShangHai landmark is nearby, shops and eateries are nearby. Room is comfy and value for money

7.7 Cindy T.
Singapore
September 01, 2014
Old but quite ok hotel
Location, price
Experience was ok. Facilities in hotel were aged and needed upgrading.

9.3 Kuo-Wei H.
Taiwan
April 25, 2014
Nice hotel
club lounge, location, clean room
The location was convenient, right next to the Nanjing road. The club lounge was good, but unfortunately, it only opened after breakfast. The buffet breakfast was not 5-star, but considered ok.