arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Excellent 8.3
Based on 1177 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1177 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Staff Performance 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5

8.3 Andrew H.
United Kingdom
January 24, 2013
Very nice hotel in good location
Close to Nanjing Road
Very nice hotel with friendly staff. Good pool, sauna and gym. Only negative was that the internet connection was very poor, not good for a business traveller.

8.3 David T.
Australia
January 22, 2013
Well prices and as good as the others
They had umbrellas you could borrow when the weather got bad
We stayed at a reputable hotel down the road but when we arrived in Shanghai but when I wanted to stay another night the price was too high. So I looked out the window and saw the HJ sign and decided to give this hotel a go. It was fantastic, just down the road (200 metres) and the facilities and service were as good if not better that the other hotel. Close to the Metro line and also near Nanning road. Very assessible with a line from the nearby train station to Hongqiao airport.

6 Jonina B.
Iceland
January 17, 2013
Good location, helpful staff but rooms too small
The location of this hotel is very central and the staff is very helpful and speaking english.
The buffet breakfast does not meet the Howard Johnsson hotel standard that we have experienced elsewhere in China and the rooms are really to small- much smaller than at other HJ hotels;: The two of us had a problem finding space to open our suitcases

7.7 Akihiro K.
Japan
January 14, 2013
Very courteous and effcient reception staffs
convenient location close to subway and walking distance to nanjing road
the hotel is close to nanjig road and convenient for shopping and start off sightseeing. close to subway station. the room has wifi access and essential. vanue for money.

8 Callum R.
Australia
January 13, 2013
Very upmarket hotel.
Location!
Excellent location within 250m of a subway entrance. Staff spoke reasonably good English which I find rare in China and its territories. Expect a lot of soliciting outside and around the hotel; including offers for 'ladies' right on the door step as you enter the hotel. Service was quite good.

9 Jeyana J.
Canada
January 09, 2013
Great Location and service was exceptional!
wifi service, great location, luggage drop off, customer service
The lady I spoke with at the front desk couldn't give me two single beds, because the hotel was fully booked. A little disappointed, she quickly fixed the problem by upgrading the room to a suite, and it was very spacious. Customer service is very good there especially for foreigners.

8 Chia K.
Malaysia
January 09, 2013
Big, clean n comfortable room n great location
Great Location
The room is big, clean and comfortable. And the location is great. Right infront of the shopping street. The room also offer very good view. The reception speak English and they have complimentary usage of gym and suna and steam room. Highly recommended.

8.7 LEE S.
Malaysia
January 07, 2013
great location and conveienet
it's very convienent to get mrt and is a great location. just opposite the nanjing pedestrian road. hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. starbuck just at the lobby of the hotel. a tailor shop at the lobby do a great tailoring job. the heater is working fine on winter time. the swimming pool and sauna is great and clean.

8 alexandre E.
France
January 02, 2013
fantastic hotel
business loundge
I really enjoyed the business lounge and the front desk are very nice, they upgraded our room on new years eve thats the best we could expect

9 Terence G.
Malaysia
December 26, 2012
Great Location and Friendly Hotel
Location, friendly service, good facilities
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel is located within the CBD in Puxi, and very close to the shopping belt and MRT station. The room is spacious but a little dated. Generally, I enjoyed my stay and will definitely revisit this hotel next time.