Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1195 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5
Sort by

Mark C.
Philippines
November 26, 2012
accommodating staff; great location
great location
location is very ideal. near main road of shopping. staff is very accommodating. simple requests like additional water are provided. additional half day or extension of check out was also given for free. going to other tourist spots are just 10-15 minutes away. staff also very helpful in providing directions to places to go. staff was also helpful in booking acrobat tickets.

Winston C.
Singapore
November 22, 2012
Good location and good service
Wonderfully located, close proximity to shopping area (Nanjing West Road), Metro
The concierge is good and the front desk changed my room automatically after they tried without success in repairing the broken shower in my room.

Lay C.
Malaysia
November 21, 2012
Great location
Just few minutes walk into main street
It rated as 5 stars hotel, unfortunately the front desk staff was quite slow in service as it is a huge counter but just 2 staffs working . ( few guests were lining up there). Hotel bathroom amenities is not enough and furnished. Usually it should provided comb, cotton bud, cotton pad. Although 3 stars hotel that I stayed at Suzhou also provided. this should be improved. The operator was not so understand English and I need to explain for quite long time.

Khairun Y.
Malaysia
November 21, 2012
Lovely hotel ith great location
near to shopping malls
Nice and clean room with lovely view of the city. Service is excellent and most of the hotel staff can speak English. Starbuck cafe located in the hotel. Near many shopping mall as this hotel is located in the city centre.

LOH F.
Singapore
November 19, 2012
Great location & service staff
Walking distance to Nanking Street
A good 4 star hotel which is located near to Nanking Pedestrian Street. Rooms are slightly aged but still comfortable though. I do feel that the rooms are not brightly lit. Bathrooms are spacious too.

Siang L.
Australia
November 17, 2012
Great location but hotel badly needs a refurb
Close to the Bund and shopping districts
The Howard Johnson hotel is a very affordable hotel in a great location. However, the rooms are quite old and are lacking compared to other 4-5 star hotels. Even though we got a free upgrade, we were disappointed with the quality of the room. Staff, however, are very friendly and helpful.

Prakrong N.
Thailand
November 11, 2012
nice hotel with good location
good location just cross the road to Beijing Lu
This hotel is in good location. We can walk for a few minutes to Beijing Lu for shopping, seeing the local people's activities, such as singing, dancing, ect.

Lihan C.
Taiwan
November 09, 2012
Great local and good hotel
location and service
The hotel has very good location where only 5 min walk from the metro station. The room is quiet, clean and big. The staff are friendly and helpful. The swimming pool and gym are also recommended. Good hotel for business tavel and vacation. The price is not so freindly but it is worth.

corazon A.
Philippines
November 09, 2012
A hotel i n a great location.
Clean and accessible to all interesting places in Shanghai.. We were upgraded without charge and with. view of the Nanjing Road. Perfect!!!
Cons. We were made to ride a car rental limousine in the airport when we asked for the hotel's transportation. The hotel car for the two of us would have cost Yuan 400 instead of the 600 we were charged. Also the concierge gave us wrong information about the Big Bus Tour which was only 300 yaun and was persuading us to take their travel agency friends for yuan. We felt that we were were being ripped off. The male concierge was even telling us that theBig Bus is only for an hour and we will not be able to see anything. He was trying to make money at our expense and was unaware that we have traveled all over Europe and the Americas as well as Asia, using the BIg Bus for touring major cities.

KIFAH A.
China
November 06, 2012
good
good
Pay the bit extra for a river view well worth it to be able to sit on the big balcony and watch Bangkok and ask for a high floor ! Very comfy well equipped room.