Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1192 reviews
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.3
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 7.5

YEO K. from Singapore
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Great Location and clean room
Comfortable king size bed and good location
Great Hotel for shoppers and very near to train station about 20min with taxi , Hotel surrounded with many different variety of foods and many promotional items for shoe, clothes etc. We only found out why this hotel do not have comb and only 1 shower cap for twin bed room.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

christopher V. from
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2012
sophisticated & stylish
Good room, great bed, ideal location
Stay here regularly & it never disappoints. Check in / out is painless & the quality fo service at front desk & with concierge department is excellent. Taxi's right out the front if you cannot bear the thought of the walk, & Nanjing rd shopping is 5min away. There is even goo coffee to be had in the foyer cafe or a few Starbucks nearby if you are into them !
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Anthony C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Good Value within center of Shanghai
Location
Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai is a good choice for a mid-level hotel stay within Shanghai. It is conveniently located 10 minutes walk from the nearest line 2 metro exit, and is directly across from famous Nanjing Lu shops. The front desk staff are all professional and speak good English. Concierge was also helpful in booking a flight to Beijing. The hotel room was clean and spacious; I never lacked for room amenities and housekeeping always had a presence which is to my liking. Overall, I would stay at Howard Johnson Plaza Shanghai again because it is a nicely priced hotel in a city filled with higher-priced alternatives.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

KHOR K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Great location and Big room
Great location
the hotel is very nice and big room , the staff are very friendly .
Reviewed February 10, 2012

KHOR K. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in February 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
best features of the hotel,
The hotel very nice and the staff are friendly , and the location very near at the market ,
Reviewed February 10, 2012

MICHAEL O. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed one night in January 2012
Nice, centrally located hotel
The proximity to the Bund and the shopping street. Great value.
Friendy staff, comfortable room. Only downfall was that I could not connect to the internet cable but the woreless worked fine.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Denise C. from Singapore
Groups
Stayed one night in December 2011
awesome hotel
approachable staffs.
friendly staffs, good location, clean rooms. definitely will go back to the hotel.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Leslie Z. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2011
Great location and service
excellent location, beautiful room, great view, wonderful pool, fine service
The location of the hotel is excellent. Everyone was very friendly. The room was big and comfortable. I had an excellent view of East Nanjing Road from my hotel. I really enjoyed the swimming pool and sauna. I can definitely recommend this hotel for travellers staying in Shanghai.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Tai W. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2012
Great location with grand entrance
Spacious room, nice bathroom, good facilities
Only drawback is cleaning. The cleaner not doing a proper vacuuming everyday
Reviewed January 20, 2012

jian M. from Australia
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
great location but small bed.
location
you always pay for the location. you can not find a better location in shanghai, everything is at your door step. please mention next time that the price including breakfast as well.
Reviewed January 20, 2012