Back to hotel info

2015
Excellent 8.1
Based on 1331 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Excellent



based on 1331 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.0
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 8.1
  • Food/Dining 6.8

Sue K. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
A quiet retreat from the busy streets of Shanghai
Location, ambience and comfort
We had an enjoyable three nights at the Metropolo. The address given was Tibet Road but be aware that the hotel is situated on the main Xixang road. So much easier to find than we first thought. Good location with a tube station around the corner and Peoples Square and Nanjing Road within walking distance. The hotel has a little 'old Shanghai' about it with lovely decor in the public areas. The history of the building is evident and once inside it was a quiet haven. The room was comfortable and the shower spacious. Nice toiletries too (always a treat when on a longer holiday) the room smelt a little musty but it seemed to pass once the air con kicked in. We didn't try the breakfast so couldn't comment on the food. We would happily stay here again.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Johnson H. from Taiwan
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2015
Old style hotel with modern amenities.
convenience, quiet, comfort.
I don't know why it is called YMCA, but it is really a nice hotel.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

Thomas W. from Germany
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Great location
Location, location and location
Spent a pleasant weekend at Jinjiang Hotel. Due to the great location close to the peoples square and the few steps to the subway the hotel is a good pick. The hotel itself might not be a real 4 star standard, but good value for money.
Reviewed August 18, 2015

WONG F. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in August 2015
GOOD LOCATION
NEAR METRO TRAIN, NEAR SHOPPING AREA,NEAR THE BUND,PROPLES SQUARE.
GOOD LOCATION,CLEAN AND HELPFUL.
Reviewed August 13, 2015

Ice S. from Indonesia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in August 2015
Good place, clean room.
Good place cause near Subway, comfort room, good facilities
Excellent, nice Hotel at Shanghai
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Therese L. from France
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Superb
Staff friendliness, clean and very good location
I stay 2 nights in August 2015. Beautiful! I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is exceptional : very polite, speak a good english and very responsiveness. Something that is hard to find in Shanghai in many hotels. The location is very convenient and we were near from everything. Rooms are clean and very confortable and the decoration very appreciable. I will definetely come back.
Reviewed August 03, 2015

Roby L. from South Africa
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
Good location
The hotel is located very close to a metro line, with friendly competent staff, and comfortable rooms.
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The directions was a bit confusing as the hotel is better known as the Shanghai YMCA Hotel, rather than "Jinjiang Metropolo" -- as it used to be the Shanhai YMCA. It has a beautiful facade in the style of a Buddhist temple and looks quite unique between the other more modern buildings in Shanghai. My room was very comfortable, and clean. Only the curtains were a little dirty for some reason, but the rest was spotless. The internet connection was decent, although not great -- but I'm used to Korean standards, so it is difficult to compare. If you don't mind a 15 minute walk, it is relatively close to many local attractions such as The Bund, and just across the street from the Shanghai Museum. I gave a 3 out of 5 for the food, but honestly I did not eat at the hotel, so I simply gave the middle score for that. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.
Reviewed July 23, 2015

Anggrek L. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
location
location, price, nice staft
enjoyed
Reviewed July 18, 2015

Anggrek L. from Indonesia
Families with older children
Stayed 3 nights in July 2015
good location
location, price, nice staft
enjoyed
Reviewed July 18, 2015

EMMA C. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in July 2015
Good location
1Good location 2nice staff 3classic Shanghai hotel
Its located in the central of shanghai that is close to lots of spots. The hotel is classic and beautiful make me feel like I am really in Shanghai. The subway is nearby .and there are lots of restaurant nearby.
Reviewed July 13, 2015