Back to hotel info

Very good 7.2
Based on 644 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 644 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.5
  • Location 8.2
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for money 7.7
  • Food/Dining 5.9

Dian A. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 3 nights in May 2014
The location is close to subway station
Nice, Silent, Clean
the surroundings is silent, nice for those who likes to stay in silent place. The subway station is just in front of the hotel
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Maria L. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2014
Good place, good price
accessible, comfortable, relaxing
A few have commented at how noisy the place can be since it is near the Hanzhong Road station. I didn't find this a problem despite how thin the walls and windows are. The hotel may be hard to direct if you will go by taxi but the area is pretty peaceful at night. The room I got had very comfortable bed, sheet and pillows. I didn't have the need to call for assistance on the internet or anything at all. Staff was easy to talk to despite some communication challenges. I would go to this hotel should I need to visit Shanghai again.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Palita C. from Thailand
Families with young children
Stayed one night in May 2014
3rd times visited and it was ok.
1. City hotel 2. Quiet 3.easy access
This time we have got very old room and we have stayed here because of near ppl square and quite area. Staffs are very helpful.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Zoltan E. from Hungary
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in May 2014
Good location
the subway station about 100 meters from the hotel, nice breakfast
After check in we were very disappointed about the room. We paid a room with a king size bad, but there was not king size bad and the room was very small, added to which there was smelly and the carpet was extremly dirty. It was disgusting Next day we complained and they changed the room. We got bigger and clearer room with a king size bad. The breakfest was chineese and nice. Staff did not speak in English,just a lady.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Korey H. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in May 2014
Comfortable, Quiet, Straightforward checkin/out
I've stayed here a few times and it is consistently the most comfortable hotel I've used in China.
I've stayed here a few times and it is consistently the most comfortable hotel I've used in China. Most hotels within this price range have rooms that smell funny, have staff that speak no English and don't try to be hospitable, and have a lot of surrounding noise. The Rhea is comfortable, quiet, and straightforward. I highly recommend it.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Jana C. from Germany
Couples
Stayed 5 nights in October 2013
ok, right next to the station, smoke smell
close to station
We had booked this hotel for quite a while, but when we arrived in the evening, we got the only room left - it was just the worst! Besides the smell of smoke in the whole hotel (ok it is common in china, but still), the wall behind the curtains was full of mold, you could only see a wall from the window, and almost nothing worked in this room. We requested an immediate change and got a new room the next afternoon, which was much better and bigger. Staff understood us, but was not friendly at all. The location is ok since it is next to the station, but around the hotel was nothing except a construction site. Breakfast is ok if you like asian food, for westerners it is mostly toast, butter and eggs. We would probably not go there again.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Shun M. from China
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in February 2014
Actually u need call cap to the attractions
Clean, nice staff n easy to get to hotel
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Philip A. from Taiwan
Business travelers
Stayed one night in April 2014
transport location
location
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Chi W. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in April 2014
Nice Cheap hotel, near the middle of town
Near Public Transport, Cheap N Cheerful
Opposite a construction site right now, the room looks very worn down, the rooms aren't very clean but not dirty, the breakfast has no western food, nice little grocery store near the lobby that operates till late, hard to describe the location to taxi drivers
Reviewed May 10, 2014

sook W. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed one night in February 2014
convenient
location, price, room
Reviewed May 10, 2014