arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.3
Based on 3078 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3078 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.8
  • Food/Dining 5.8

Wararat B.
Thailand
June 15, 2016
Near subway,easy to go everywhere
-

THANAWAT T.
Thailand
June 13, 2016
Another Visit
For the last 4 years, I've been traveling to Hong Kong, once a year or sometimes twice a year and Ah Shan Hostel has always been my accommodation for past years ... but the latest visit was quite disappointing as the room seemed to be worse than before. This visit, I was assigned on 8th floor, in which it did not matter to me what the floor was ... but the room that I was given this time was the worse when compared to my earlier stay here at Ah Shan. I paid the same price or even higher price every year, but what I've got in return was really unacceptable.

Nor M.
Malaysia
June 05, 2016
Good for backpackers
Staff are friendly, helpful.. Easy to get to anywhere by foot.. And the best thing is.. It is near to mangkok station..

Tai M.
Malaysia
June 04, 2016
I am okay with their private rooms, but not the dorms.
This is the third time I booked this hostel, previously I booked them for myself and family. This time I booked for my friend who is on a budget trip, so he opted for the dorm. According to him, it was not a very good experience, cleanliness of room and toilets is not up to a satisfactory level. I myself however, stayed in the twin room before, and I think the private rooms are quite decent.

Chin L.
Malaysia
June 03, 2016
ok
ok

KOK W.
Malaysia
June 01, 2016
worth what you paid
convenient

Christian C.
Philippines
May 29, 2016
The place was okay because the price was cheap
if you really want to save money you can definitely stay at this hostel. It was a bit difficult to find the place. I asked a hongkong guy who can speak English and he said "wow, you're gonna stay in that place? and I said yes and then he said the place is really dirty and I replied I will only stay there for one night. When I arrive at the building it was really shocking and scary. even the other tourist that I was with inside the elevator they were also shocked. The lady was okay but she didn't she just told me "here's the bathroom, here's your room, here's your key and the drinking water". that's it. I was not able to charge my phone because there was no free socket a 110v. The glasses for drinking water were very dirty but the room was really clean the air conditioner was really good. This might be a good place for people who really wanna save money. I left the building at 6:30am and the elevator was not working. I used the fire exit from 14th floor to the ground floor and everything was dirty

Tomas F.
Slovakia
May 23, 2016
good place to stay
This hotel is located in flat where are no salesmans or another annoying people... entrance is possible either from tung choi street(sincere house) or Fa yuen stret (also sign sincere house) nearby mongkok station (5mins) NO bedbugs or any other insect there, drinking water available, friendly personal.. definetely better then stay in chunking manison, they even upgraded my room so it was bigger/but still too small....but that is a standard in hongkong there was also TV,AC,soup and shampoo, wc+shower was clean

Wei G.
Singapore
May 20, 2016
Good price for single bed in dorm
Surprisingly the dorm room is quite spacious compared to the twin room which I stayed few nights ago. But down side is I was charged another hkd10 for a new towel...

Wei G.
Singapore
May 20, 2016
Decent price for twin room in busy central HK
Location is very convenient given the price being paid though the room is very small as expected. Down side is have to pay hkd10 for towel else everything is good.