Back to hotel info

Metropark (Kew Green) Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong

41-49 Hennessy Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong - View on map

Very good 8.0
Based on 2835 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2835 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 8.1
  • Service 8.0
  • Value for Money 7.9
  • Food/Dining 7.1

Ian P.
United Kingdom
April 05, 2010
Metropark Wanchai
Location
Only two elevators
Metropark Wanchai has an excellent location form those wishing to visit the Exhibition Centre, see a play at the Lyric Theatre or just experience Wanchai.The staff are warm and welcoming and the rooms have recently been renovated. Its location means that you are within easy contact with the MTR, buses or trams to anywhere on HongKong Island or over on Kowloon side. The Wanchai ferry is also within easy walking distance.

Cinder M.
United States
April 03, 2010
Metropark Hotel Wanchai: in the heart of the city
Location! Nearby transport & many bars and restaurants. Near a number of visitor attractions. Nicely appointed room.
Charges for internet connection were pricey. A gym would be a huge plus.
We were at Metropark Hotel Wanchai just before the Hong Kong 7's, when the city gears up for a huge influx of visitors. And Wanchai, being a popular area for visitors at any time of the year, is definitely a lively area! The hotel is right in the thick of things on Hennessey, a major road. The nearest MTR is only about 5 minutes' walk, and the trams that can take you all over the island are the next street over. Times Square, with its fine shopping and a cinema, is only about a 30 minutes' walk. Our room on the 10th floor was great, above most of the noise from Wanchai's bustle. The room was quite spacious by Hong Kong standards and had a soft bed (fairly rare by Chinese standards, as we know from living in mainland China). There is an amazing number of eateries, pubs, and bars within the immediate area. Families with small children may be a little put off by the...dancers...at the clubs nearby (Wanchai is, after all, a red-light district in some blocks), but the area always feels safe (we were more amused than anything else by the...ladies). The spectacular "Symphony of Lights" is about 25 or so minutes' walk. I highly recommend it!!! It's definitely a singular attraction. This hotel is a solid choice for the money. We didn't eat at the hotel: I only rate the food/dining as a "3" because I can't submit this review otherwise.

CHAO C.
Taiwan
April 03, 2010
Disappointed Experience
Location is great for visiting HKCEC.
The rate is somewhat higher than it should be. Same-level hotels near Metropark WanChai offer more appealing rate. Not any facilities in the hotel.
1. The receptionists are not professional. One friend arrived late and would contact us through extension, however, the receptionist just asked lots of questions but failed to catch the correct room number. 2. We arrived before 2PM but could enter until 3PM because they had not cleaned the room =.= 3. We paid for the internet but it sometimes did not work...

Erin N.
Canada
March 30, 2010
Great Place to Stay
Well decorated lobby, friendly staff, comfortable beds, nice bathrooms with excellent showers
Non I can think of
This hotel is very conveniently located in Wan Chai. I was upgraded to a three person suite which was very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bathroom was very very nice.

Fumiaki I.
Japan
March 29, 2010
Clean
Room is clean. Near from the Convention Centre. The reception is cheerful and sophisticated.
Room is small. If you like to use the internet, it costs 60HKD par day.
Though the disadvantageous pioints avobe, I always stay at this hotel when I go to HKG Island, because of clean and refurnished room and very convenient place in the centre of Wan Chai. You can walk to Courseway Bay (Downtown) for shopping and Dinner.

Alan C.
United Kingdom
March 29, 2010
Review
Clean, modern, friendly staff
None experienced
Having booked a relative into the adjacent Empire Hotel, I was asked to add a second room but found that the Empire was full on one of the nights needed. So I booked a room at the Metropark for that night. My relative was very impressed, since having been booked in a standard room at a much reduced rate, she was upgraded to an executive room. She said it was much better than the Empire! Later she realised that she had left a document wallet in the room when she checked out and asked if I could go to the hotel and see if it had been found. The staff were very helpful; they located the documents and returned them to me very quickly. Can't comment on food outlets as we didn't use them.

Anthony A.
Canada
March 28, 2010
Metro Park Hong Kong booked by Agoda
Close to Starbucks...and metro station.
Would like free coffee in the lobby..need platform by elevator to get luggage in smoothly.
we booked this hotel because the price was right and close to an mtr. we were very surpised the hotel staff was the most courteous among all other hong kong accommodations. they were very pleasing to assist us morning and evening. this is so wonderful and makes you want to come back. thank you metropark!

Melvyn S.
United States
March 27, 2010
Mrs. Melvyn Simmons
The employees & the breakfast.
The room was very, very small. it smelled of mold,
The location is not one of the nicest. We were very dissapointed, the pictures were nicer than the place. We stayed only 2 nights even tho we had prepaid 4 nights. Your star rating for this place is too high

Ivan R.
New Zealand
March 26, 2010
whanchai metropark hotel
Good location, just around the corner from the clubs and bars, staff are very friendly and always seem to not do enough for you.
From the photos on the website, the rooms looks great. but the rooms are a bit tired looking, but that is also reflexed on the rate.
i enjoyed my stay at the Metropark in Whanchai, the rooms are comfortable and i didn't hear any street noise, mind you i was on the 17th floor. I was happy with the service and i would stay here again if i'm ever in Hong Kong again. In saying that, i did get reception to book mw into the Metropark in Koowloon and i was very happy with that as well.

Frederick L.
Australia
March 26, 2010
Good Loaction
1. Location 2. Friendly staff (especially the bellboys) 3. Modern decor
1. Internet (in-room or lobby)costs money whilst there is free wi fi around the corner in some cafes 2. Need to go up a few steps to the lifts (no ramp)however bellboy would take luggage up if he is around 3. Could be noisy unless on higher floors (located on main road)
The hotel is conveniently located within easy reach of metro, buses, trams, a huge array of restaurants and shops selling all kinds of merchandise. Our standard room is on the small side even by Hong Kong standards (but we spent most of our time outside anyway). I will stay there again because of the location. Decor is not bad either.