Back to hotel info

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 820 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 5.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 6.5
  • Service 6.3
  • Value for Money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.3
Sort by

XingKai W. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Nice staff, great price, nice room
Nice staff, great price, nice room
The Yan Yan guest house is called the New China Guess house. So don't look for the Yan Yan to find the place when you are in lobby waiting for the lobby. It is a nice place to stay overall. The room is clean, however, it is the smallest of most of the hotel rooms in the ChungKing mansions. They also don't provide shampoo or soap in the room and you have to ask for them. Other than that, the African American gentleman who is the main staff personnel is nice and quick. I do find myself going back there when there is a good rate despite the smaller the regular room. The price is worth the stay.
Reviewed November 05, 2013

Songpol K. from Thailand
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
Budget Hostel
Public refrigerator, hot water, fast wifi
The room is OK, not new, not old. Main door close after midnight. Wifi is fast
Reviewed November 04, 2013

firdaus I. from Indonesia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Good hotel for backpacker
Good staff, cheap, and Good location
I think, the lift is very small, don't buy food at Indian restaurant because very expensive
Reviewed October 27, 2013

David R. from Australia
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2013
smallest room i've ever stayed in
location was good, not much else
a really small uncomfortable room, however if you're not willing to spend a lot of money you won't mind many hostels that are much better
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Xuyan W. from Singapore
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Good. Comfortable place to rest after a long day.
Good location, friendly staff & easy access to public transport
The Guesthouse is fine but it is located in Chung King Mansion that I am concern about. The Mansion has certain odour, along the aisles, which many people are not able to appreciate. There are many males hanging outside the Mansion, hence, it is not a safe place for female travellers. Bad incident did happen one month ago before I went and stayed there, unaware. Fortunately, nothing bad happened during my stay. I would not recommend family with children and elderly members, and female travellers to stay at the Mansion. The Guesthouse is fine if it is not inside the Mansion.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Arkar O. from Myanmar
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2013
Hotel is small but located in major area
Very close to Tsim Sha Shui MTR, Great Location, Friendly Staffs
Reviewed October 23, 2013

RAJA Z. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 4 nights in October 2013
Pleasant night with a smile
Centrally located, attentive staff, fast internet
We had a rather pleasant stay in New China Yan Yan Guesthouse due to the following:- i. Superb location in Tsim Sha Tsui area (close to major attractions such as Avenue of Stars, 1881 Heritage, Star Ferry Terminal) ii. Fast and reliable wi-fi internet iii. Water heater, and towel are provided iv. TV and air-conditioner are provided v. Water heater and washing machine are provided However, we are quiet unhappy on the following:- i. The bed is quiet small, and not as per advertised (1 bed instead of 2 beds)
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Jonathan R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in October 2013
Superbly located, but ever so small rooms!
Central location, restaurants in the basement, friendly staff.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Jonathan R. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in October 2013
Location is awesome...but the rooms are so small!
Location, restaurants available in the basement, staff are friendly
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Heidi R. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2013
Very relaxing
Nice staff, near in shopping area, and fast intern
It's good because the care taker was a Filipina and it's easy to ask regarding the tourist attraction there in Hong Kong. Fast internet so that we are updated for the news wherever we are.
Reviewed October 18, 2013