Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 3955 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.0
  • Service 7.0
  • Value for money 7.2
  • Food/Dining 6.3

YUKYEE N. from United States
Couples
Stayed one night in August 2013
Room is super small
Bus arrive at the door, close to subway, but room is super small!!!
Room is super small but new. Room is little bit dirty. Very convenient to bus and subway (bus is in front of hotel, 5mins away from subway). No breakfast provided. Free wifi . Staff allowed you to leave luggage in lobby within a day with no charge.
Reviewed September 02, 2013

julius S. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 6 nights in August 2013
Tiny room, nothing like the advert. but clean
clean, great shower, fast internet
all good.no problems, not the best value in comparison. should have had the buffet breakfast included in the room price
Reviewed September 02, 2013

Kwanchanok T. from Thailand
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in August 2013
it was ok .
close to mrt and easy going out .
the location pretty good but we took like 10 mins looking for it . i stayed in standard room it's small room but was comfortable . i think it worth money but at night so noisy . i and my boyfriend heard people talking around . hotel was clean but not very clean .
Reviewed August 31, 2013

ELLIANA T. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in January 2013
NEAR MTR
NEAR MTR EASY TO FIND FOOD AND SAFELY LOCATED
HOTEL ROOM WAS SUPER SUPER SMALL BUT NEVERTHELESS ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN AND STAFF WAS VERY FRIENDLY.HOTEL PROVIDES SHUTTLE SERVICES TO AIRPORT AND TO DISNEYLAND MTR STATION.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lim G. from Singapore
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in July 2013
Fun, Nice, Enjoyable
Clean, nice location, Easy to access
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Prathan T. from Thailand
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in September 2012
A clean-looking place to crash
Comfortable, Hygienic, Economical
I half-expected the room to be larger, but I guess this is what passes for comfortable in Hong Kong. Everything worked and the staff were helpful.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Michael C. from Ireland
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Small hotel rooms - far out location - not very cl
None, there was not any!
Rooms to small. Allocated 2 single beds (as a couple) in the first room. However staff were quite good about changing the room. Unfortunately the 2nd room was a smoking one - & not very clean.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Emillene T. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in August 2013
Comfortable and hassle free
Price, location, cleanliness
Easy to find, accessible to MTR. Mall and restaurants nearby. There are lots of places to buy local food. Near a department store for whatever things you need.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Michaela K. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed 7 nights in August 2013
Small Room but Excellent Staff
Free Internet, Excellent Staff, Proximity to Train Station
The Silka Far East Hotel is an affordable hotel with surprisingly attentive staff. They spoke fluent English and were always willing to help with our questions. They require a deposit upon arrival but exchanged the deposit to usd towards the end of our stay so we didn't have to leave the country hkd. The hotel is located in Tsuen Wan, so central Hong Kong is a good hour or so ride away via MTR. The area is very local but if you are primarily interested in the Central/Admiralty area, this hotel might not be the most convenient for you. That being said, the hotel is near a large department store as well as a number of local cafes and restaurants. The rooms were quite small, but given the hotel's location in Hong Kong, they were approximately the size that I expected. Had our suitcases been much larger than they were, we would have had a difficult time finding a place to put them. Even with two carry-on sized bags we were frequently tripping over them. The bathroom was similarly small, but while the shower was very narrow, the water pressure and temperature were good. Housekeeping gave us new towels every day and made the beds but did not change the sheets. One major note for the comfort of the hotel is that the beds are very, very firm. By the end of our stay, we both had bruises on our hips from sleeping on our sides. One final note is that the hotel seems to be frequented primarily by mainland Chinese tour groups. Often when we arrived back at the hotel in the evening, we would have to wait for an elevator as the tour groups went to their rooms. The groups could be loud, and we were occasionally woken by people speaking in the hallway. Apart from these small annoyances, however, the hotel was generally quiet at night. Overall, the Silka Far East is a clean, pleasant place to stay on a budget. It's not exactly luxurious, nor is it particularly central, but you could do much worse, and the free wifi and helpful staff are big pluses.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Rowena S. from Philippines
Families with young children
Stayed one night in August 2013
Affordable and Comfortable hotel
Great breakfast, Comfortable room and Friendly Staff
Overall experience was pretty much good though we stayed for 1 night only. What I like about it are the comfortable room, friendly staff and great buffet breakfast. They also have shuttle service if you want to go to Mongkok or HKIA. If you want to go shopping there's the Citystore and nearest 7-Eleven outlet. It's also accessible to MTR, bus, taxi and near HKIA & Disneyland.
Reviewed August 27, 2013