Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 2027 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2027 reviews
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.6

KONG F. from Malaysia
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
Nice hotel with pleasent surrounding.
Quiet surrounding.
A fine hotel with big rooms.The surrounding is very quite and very windy cause it's a beachfront hotel.The breakfast is nice with lots of variety.The disadvantage of this hotel is that it's too far away from the city.One end to another.40min travel with bus.The hotel with no lift,not convenient if you have big luggage.
Reviewed March 08, 2013

Robin H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in March 2013
Charming beach location
Quiet and beautifully situated.
there is no lift so carrying heavy suitcases is off-putting. bedroooms are old fashioned but adequate. bathroom definitely needs upgrading. in the restaurant food may be served all at once, and plates are not hot.
Reviewed March 07, 2013

Raymond S. from United Kingdom
Groups
Stayed one night in March 2013
Great location, friendly staff, good value room
Friendly staff
Stayed overnight with mountain bikes the day before a 35km adventure race. Nice rooms, but a bit aged. Very friendly staff. Overall a great budget resort not trying to be high end, but very pleasant and relaxed.
Reviewed March 05, 2013

Rowen T. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed one night in February 2013
Lovely Hotel with Great Service. Nice Scenery Too!
Nice Scenery Facing Beach, Good Service and Big Comfortable Room
We stayed there for a night after arriving late from our flight. We were arranged a comfortable room with nice view of the garden and side view of the sea. Room is big for Hong Kong standard with all the necessary equipment and stuff for creature comfort there. We went down to the Blue Horizon cafe located beside the hotel lobby and happy to find that they are very friendly and offered us 2 hours complimentary internet access upon request. The sandwich and blueberry cheese cake was delicious and we had a nice walk along the beach that evening before going off to bed. I'm also very happy with the complimentary buffet breakfast offered as they offer true English and Chinese style breakfast. Though there is not much variety but it really hit the spot on with eggs, toast, baked beans, beacons and etc... available. There's also cereal and Chinese porridge available, breakfast that would make anyone's day. Life is slow and peaceful as there's a village located beside the hotel. You could really appreciate and enjoy the life that the residents here do. Cars could not access the road in front of the hotel and only bicycles can, making it more fresh and peaceful. So, don't be shocked if the taxi stops you behind the hotel as this is the closest to the hotel that they can get. The only downside was the internet access was not free and our room's wash basin is faulty and the shower's drainage was clogged. This was a common problem in most Hong Kong's hotel design as the contractors likes to use smaller drainage piping. Otherwise it would have been a perfect stay. Thank you for a great stay Silvermine Beach Resort. Would definately stay there again on my next visit
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Rebecca D. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in May 2012
Excellent location & service
Excellent service & location
The only downside to the hotel was that the rooms were well-overdue a refurbishment... but aside from the decor, they were very comfortable and a good size. The staff were the best part of the stay though - going the extra mile to tend to our needs :)
Reviewed March 04, 2013

Ruth K. from United Kingdom
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
A slice of Paradise so close to Central
Location, location, location
It is a wonderful place to get away in Hong Kong. There was not a sign of a high rise building, and very few cars and masses of bikes. The beach is great for playing on, and there are some easy bike routes - you can hire bikes at the hotel. Some of the rooms are a bit tired but I believe they are renovating them all.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Elliot M. from United Kingdom
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in February 2013
Great location, basic but comfortable room.
Perfectly set on the beachfront with a nice terrace to sit and eat/drink on. Very close to ferry pier
The stay was fine, the hotel felt like a very 'seaside' type hotel that I'm sure had better days. Charging for wifi is always a niggle nowadays although limited service available in resturant. Rooms were spacious and comofortable, just a bit dated. No lift in main building so be prepared ofr a couple of flights of stairs. Breakfast was very standard buffet, not anything to get excited about. Did nottry dinner so cannot comment on food in general. No storage for bags if you want to check out and spend the day. This was dissapointing, but only that we didn't want to leave Lantau early/or carry our bags with us all day. However, I would stay again for a night 'to be beside the seaside'
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Mattia M. from Italy
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
Disappointed in any possible way
I needed an hotel for an overnight before going to Disneyland with my partner and her daughter and I chose Silvermine basically because it was cheap as compared to other hotels near the airpot (even after factoring the longer taxi ride). My flight was scheduled to arrive late at night, so hotel was just matter of a bed. As it happens, I got what I paid for, actually even less. Rooms are out dated (especially the sanitary part), basically a cheap student dorm... staff is unfriendly and will repeat to you the cathphrase "It is hotel policy". To be considered also that taxis cannot stop in front of the hotel, but only on one side, 50 meters from main entrance. It was not an issue for me and my party, but accessibility is definetely a problem for this hotel, especially if you carry a lot of baggage or travel with people that require assistance. Oh, did I mention that there is no elevator either? And, icing on the cake, breakfast was not included for my partner's daughter. Also, consider that the road to Mui Vo from the Aiport is quite unpleasant, basically a mountain road full of curves. Somebody could be bothered by this. Last problem, only Lantau (blue) taxis are allowed to travel from the Airport to Mui Vo and they are scarce. If you arrive late as I did, expect a long queue before getting on a taxi.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Mike W. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed 5 nights in February 2013
Peacefull location
Beach front location
rooms were clean, with a perfect beachfront location. it has a lovely terrance overlooking the beach. the breakfast after one week became boring, the same old food. for the business traveler, and others, the internet at hk$100 per day is a total rip-off. its much better to have a beer at the china bear and get free access.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

John G. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in February 2013
Pleasantly surprised
Restaurant with outdoor tables overlooking the beach was quite nice.
Clean, quiet, and in pleasant surroundings, it was a welcomed change after several days downtown. Lantau would be a nice place to live. I'll try it again in peak season.
Reviewed February 15, 2013


1

Select your loyalty program

At the top of the page, click on PointsMAX and you’ll see many popular airline and loyalty programs to choose from.

2

Choose a room with points

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Popular! 61 travelers are considering this property right now
  • Earn up to 4900 points

Every eligible room will show the points you’ll earn with the booking.

3

Sign in and earn points!

  • Program Membership ID
  • I'm not staying in any of the rooms on this booking. I'm making this booking for someone else.

Fill in your membership ID for your selected program during booking. You’ll earn the amount of points shown at booking after you check out. It’s that easy!

Start here and select your preferred program: