arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 1959 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1959 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Sin Y.
China
November 08, 2012
Very comfortable room
Near the beach, convenient place to the pier and restaurant
Nothing special, the hotel staff are nice and helpful. no internet provided

wong T.
Hong Kong
November 07, 2012
Great location and beach in front of the room
Easy for foods, nice view
Take the boat to lantau island, easy to find the hotel out. Although the hotel is old, the inside is keep well condition. reasonlable price for this hotel.

Rebecca H.
Australia
October 29, 2012
Pleasantly surprised.
Great location.
We enjoyed our stay at Silvermine. I found accommodation on Hong Kong Island quite expensive, therefore Silvermine on neighbouring Lantau Island was a good option for us, we simply took the 30mimute ferry across to Hong Kong Island. The ferry pier is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There were a few agoda comments about the south wing rooms being quite dated, which they are, however, during our stay(mid October 2012) we could see that they were ripping up and replacing carpet in the rooms and the gym was closed as it was being renovated. Great pool and breakfast and it's a lovely spot directly opposite the bay. Easy to get a taxi to the hotel from the airport and easy to catch a bus to Lantau's many attraction.

thanh P.
Vietnam
October 27, 2012
Good hotel for value
Convient for business and leisure trip
Good location. The hotel provide facilities for even business or leisure trip. Near the public transportation so very convenient for going around the city.

Alina K.
Russia
October 24, 2012
very close to the beach, but poor internet
not bad
its quiet place, very relaxed atmosphere, 3 stars hotel, rooms a bit old, near beach, generally good for relax, but i am business traveller and need to be online long time. that was a big problem as internet provided by hotel was really really poor, as a result i had to take bus for 40 min every morning to get the closest metro station cafe to get on line and work.

Shellaise D.
Philippines
October 23, 2012
it was ok
quiet secluded
old hotel, needs renovation. but it was decent. other than that i have no complaints. stay else where if you want to be near the shopping areas and nigh life and such.

Petr S.
Czech Republic
October 22, 2012
Erratic personnel
Lovely location
Internet is exorbitantly expensive and weak (supports no Skype). It should be free and not for almost 400 HK dollars for a week! Pool is ok but opened too late and closed too early. Sometimes no towels! When we settled the bill we wanted to have our luggage taken to the bus but the receptionist young lady did not arrange it and did not inform the night duty colleague. The same lady also failed to give us the internet password although we signed for it. We were disappointed by no bus for the airport. A35 does not circulate any more! The hotel should press for resumption of a direct bus to the airport. Breakfast buffet was messy during the holiday days: not anough staff, not enough food! The holiday buffet dinner was very expensive and the reduction was not real because the service charge was calculated from the original price and not from the reduced price.

mark A.
United Kingdom
October 21, 2012
Not so bad as it's painted
Great location
Having read other reviews we weren't expecting too much of this hotel, however it was not too bad. True the staff have little idea of customer service, but the rooms are OK, if in need of better cleaning. The bed was comfy and the shower works well. The location is perfect, right on the beach and 5minutes walk from the small town and the ferry berth from where it is 30 mins to Central HK, or a nice day trip to Cheung Chau. The hotel has no free wifi, but a drink on the terrace buys you 2 hours, however it is an annoying connection as it keeps asking you to re-log in every ten minutes. Did not eat in the hotel as the menu is mainly international style, however there are 6 or 7 places in the village to chose from (the best is the Wah Kee Seafood Restaurant). If you are looking for somewhere more peaceful than Hong Kong city then this is a lovely village and well worth a visit.

Lai T.
United Kingdom
October 19, 2012
A lovely resort and we would love to come back
Close to the ferry Pier and the beach
This is the second time we stayed in this hotel. We both love Lantau. Also, it is the only hotel that we could book from internet, so the rate actually is not that cheap. The hotel facilities are basic, not luxury. The swimming pool is good, but the gym was closed for renovation during our stay. The breakfast buffet is also good. Try to avoid staying in the weekends as the locals from the city love to stay there during the weekend.

Lau K.
Hong Kong
October 18, 2012
Family gathering
Environment
Firstly, it is quite difficult to find as I checked in at night. I had to ask the drivers and the people live there. Secondly, there was only one girl at the reception. Anyway, she was helpful. Thirdly, the quality of tge food there was not good. Moreover, do not expect too much of the room environment and facilities. To conclude, I think it worths as it costs low.