arrow-up-icon Get points on your miles program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 1923 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 1923 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.3
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.6

8 Nick B.
United Kingdom
April 16, 2012
Great getaway from the city!
Lovely location, friendly staff
we were pleasantly surprised by this hotel, since other reviewers have complained about it being run down. true, it doesn't do to inspect anything too closely, but it was clean, quiet, and that staff were probably the friendliest i've ever encountered in a hotel before. the location is great, right by the beach and near the bus terminus if you're heading up to the big buddha. the only thing that lets it down is the food. there's plenty of it, but everything we tried was lacking in quality.

7.7 TAM K.
Hong Kong
April 10, 2012
Nice sea view away from the busy city
very close to country park and suitable for hiking
The price of dinner buffet in the hotel is reasonable. The roasted pigget is crispy and juicy and the hotel staff is nice.

6.7 TAM K.
Hong Kong
April 10, 2012
15 minutes walk from the Mui Wo Pier
It is very close to country park, pier, bus stop and wilth good seaview in front of the hotel
The hotel room in South Wing is located in the old building. The facilities in the room are old as comparing with the North Wing such as the TV set is a big and thick monitor. No lift service is provided in the hotel. The hotel is not suitable for old or disable people. The hotel has zero distance from the beach and it is a good place for holiday in summer.

7.3 Nathan W.
United States
April 06, 2012
Retro but great!
Great helpful staff,Lovely beach,Comfortable bed and room.
I have to say I enjoyed my stay and would do so again if I have the chance. The rooms are a little old and need more electrical outlets but the bed was comfortable. The staff was very nice and helpful and the food at the resturant was good.

8.3 Vsevolod L.
Russia
March 23, 2012
Service is good but rooms are old
Good location, fantastic area!
I stayed in this hotel about two years ago, but it was in the different building, and that room was good. Now, I was "signed" to the room in the main building and I found that this room is quite old. Everything was old and sometimes broken. It was strange! Also it was impossible to open the window, so it was really stifling in the room. But other thing are very good: sea, location, food around.

5.7 Kim L.
Canada
March 22, 2012
basic but has a beach
outside of city, cleaner air, quiter stay, good western restaurants nearby
try the turkish restaurant (bahace) or the indian food take out (bombay cafe)...or the kitchen for great salads and pizza. reserve an extra day to take in some of the nature on lantau. rent a bike and ride around mui wo...fun.

6 Alexander F.
United Kingdom
March 18, 2012
Lovely location on the beach
The staff try hard but have little to enthuse about.
The hotel needs refurbished and is pretty run down. We had to be transferred to the new wing as the first room was unfit for habitation for a family. The staff did their best however and found us a pretty good room. There was no fuss and they were happy to move us. Breakfast was basic with the Mainlanders grabbing whatever arrived in the buffet like praying mantises as soon as a new dish arrived. The second day however after the tour groups thinned out and all became better. Great staff hindered by a lack of hotel maintenance and rumour has it that the group who bought it have applied for a change of use for the land. As soon as approved hotel down houses up! So no improvement is likely in the hotel except paint and whitewash.

6 Carlos R.
Colombia
March 16, 2012
A Place outside of a city in the middle of nature
Outside city, in the middle of a park, nice environment, food. Coastal place.
well, it is winter, no pool, no sunshine, and i was just in the middle of flights. but the view still was fine, food around was nice, and is in the middle of a park, so the nature was a nice thing, much better than been in the middle of the city. it is not far from the airport, yet is not close to the city, but if your interest is not hong kong city but mountains, temples, hiking and be close to the airport, this is a nice place to be.

8 JEAN L.
United States
March 16, 2012
lovely hotel & good service
walking distance to mui wo village and just across the beach
stayed at the hotel during rain season but never the less the staff was very helpfull and pleasant .the hotel is just across the beach and walking distance to ferry and mui wo village . local restaurants are very affordable and many choices of menu available , from turkish to local chinese menues , there is even a mc donald restaurant . hong kong cental is only 30 minutes away by ferry , airport 20 to 30 minutes away by taxi ( $ 20.00 usd ) more or less . great bar - b - que dinner served on week ends on the patio fronting the beach . will definitely will go back there , affordable , quiet , and away from hong kong busy hustling central / kowloon area !!!

4 Megan S.
Australia
March 07, 2012
Very quiet area, very run down hotel
Best thing was quiet and neat location but such an old, and run down resort.
Much more run down that i was expecting. Even the "new" wing is very very old and run down. It was clean though and adequate for a place to sleep. The breakfast was awful, not enough western choices, no tomatoe sauce, food was a bit cold on second day, apple juice seemed to have bubbles in it and i didnt want to drink it in case i got sick. Decor in restaurant is awful, cheap coloured tablecloths etc. The area for sitting outside was very nice, lots of nice outdoor furniture and a lovely location. It needs to be knocked down and rebuilt.