Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2019 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.6
Sort by

Shellaise D. from Philippines
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in July 2012
Silvermine Beach Resort Hotel
quiet away from the hustle and bustle
some parts of the hotel need renovationg. It's old but do-able.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beatrix L. from Switzerland
Solo travelers
Stayed 7 nights in July 2012
Alter chinesischer Bau mit ganz besonderem Charme
Lage, Frühstück, Zimmer i.O.
Primär war für mich die Lage wichtig. Hier erfüllt das Hotel dirkt am Strand voll und ganz meine Wünsche. Auch die grosszügige Terasse bietet Gelegenheit zu relaxen. Das Personal ist freundlich. Die Zimmer und der Bau selbst wurden wohl seit längerer Zeit nicht mehr renoviert, dies jedoch verleiht dem Hotel einen etwas nostalgischen Charme, den ich absolut schätze. Zimmer und Restaurant sehr sauber. Ein Lift wäre wünschenswert.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

WAI T. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in July 2012
Great location,friendly services
Close to the beach
I will surely stay there again if I go to Lantau Island
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Yan T. from Hong Kong
Couples
Stayed one night in July 2012
Great location but room was not clean
Great location
We love the location that near beach and BBQ area. We enjoyed the relaxing holiday. But the hotel room was too old, many stain on the carpet it looks long time no cleaning and dirty. We requested late check out but was rejected. A bit disappointed coz we are coming for holiday.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Rob S. from United States
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in June 2012
right on the beach
location and price
i have stayed here for years, always same nice staff. we do lots of hiking and drinking so location is good. nice to get away from china. i do not like paying extra for internet , but understand this going in. pool is ok. breakfast is good cofee same philippina workers are more polite and happy.
Reviewed July 08, 2012

TAK T. from China
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2012
Good Value for Money
Good Value for Money
I have booked a garden view room in the new wing for the following night through a local agent, and surprisingly, when we arrived in the first day they told us that they have upgraded us to sea view room in the new wing for the both nights so that we do not have to change room on the next day. Also , through my son is over 3 years old, they did not charge him for the breakfast.
Reviewed July 05, 2012

Kwongwing P. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed one night in July 2012
Good resort hotel with beautiful beach front
Wonderful food, relax swimming pool
My kids love Mui Wo and the Silvermine Beach. I was a bit sad to find the the management of the hotel had changed and most of the old staff were not there. Nevertheless the present hotel staff are helpful and friendly. We spent a good vacation there and the buffet dinner was wonderful. Good choices of seafood and roasted meat. Other choices of food were limited but the price was not expensive. The rooms were clean and cozy.
Reviewed July 05, 2012

Jonathan C. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2012
Great Area with fun for everyone!
Surrounding area...beach, waterfall, small quaint island town.
our experience here was great. my wife and i took our two children (age 6 and 1) to disneyland hong kong. we were looking for affordable hotels in the area, and i'm glad we found this place. nice beach, decent pool, good free breakfast, nice sightseeing and cheap bike rentals to get around. we decided to book an extra day and stay longer just to hang out around the hotel/beach/bike riding.
Reviewed July 02, 2012

Jonathan C. from United States
Families with young children
Stayed 3 nights in June 2012
Great place for the family
beach, pool, sightseeing
this place was great for us. didn't know much about it when booking it, but i would recommend this to anyone. the actual rooms i would give a 3.5 out of 5, but everything else is great. walk right out onto the beach, walk down the sidewalk to a park and then a small island town. it was really nice for us. i have noticed on some other reviews it mentions the 'pain and agony' of walking to the cab. the front desk will call the taxi for you and it waits right in back of the hotel...it's like half a block and well worth it to be on the beachfront.
Reviewed July 02, 2012

Pui L. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2012
Great location, good service but old facilities
It is situated right at the beach in a quiet town.
Silvermine Bay is a gem. Nice beach in a rural setting and the hotel is right at the beach. We had a pleasant stay there over the weekend and I was particularly grateful to the hotel for its free and yummy birthday cake. (You have to call in advance to arrange it). We stayed in the old wing. The room was spacious but the facilities including the TV and bathroom were a bit worn out. Other than that, the hotel was as lovely as ever.
Reviewed June 27, 2012