Back to hotel info

Very good 7.1
Based on 2017 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 2017 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 6.6

Jay M. from Australia
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2012
Very Nice Staff and Experience
The staff were perfect, helpful and reliable.
We stayed as an extra night in Hong Kong. I was hoping for an easy stay before my flight early in the morning. The location is beautiful even in the freezing cold of winter. The Restaurant is a local hot spot for food and the staff were well organised and asked the right questions and made the stay really enjoyable.
Reviewed February 06, 2012

SiJia G. from China
Groups
Stayed one night in January 2012
just soso
see sea from windows
not easy to find hotel ,taxi stop place need walk 5 mins,like the resort villa 10 years ago, bath room is very old
Reviewed February 05, 2012

liu T. from China
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in November 2011
close to the ferry terminal
very close to the ferry terminal
about 10mins walk. The staff is kind.
Reviewed February 03, 2012

Sivanandan V. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
peace hotel in a peacefull town
By the beach
the hotel room the very old and were not refurbised, however, the room was clean, well equiped, have to pay about hkd for internet for 3 days. it was a very peaceful area, because surrounding of the hotel no main road and motorized vihicles are not allowed. beach was clean , many water sports around the beach. there is also barbeque place.
Reviewed February 02, 2012

MARILYN C. from United States
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2012
Picturesque setting, nice hotel
Staff very welcoming
Found the room comfortable, staff very willing to help. Heat in room which was important as it was cool in Jan. Restaurant good & included very delicious buffet breakfast. Think it is a good hotel, get a lot for your money.
Reviewed February 01, 2012

HSUEH Y. from Taiwan
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in January 2012
Nice location
peace and quiet location in a busy Hong Kong
it's a nice place to stay if you want a few days of peace and be away from the crowd. service people are friendly. the room is aged but the price is affordable with breakfast included which makes up some of the down sides of an aged hotel. :) the island itself is really peaceful and residents are much more friendly. you can go on a day trip just walking about the island, looking at waterfall, or simply stroll along the beach. even better, spend half a day to just enjoy the view and the beach right in front of the hotel!
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Muriel C. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in January 2012
A lovely step back in time
Great location
We arrived late at Silvermine after a winding trip from the airport. The reception was very welcoming despite the early hour of the morning and we were given a beach view room (rather than the hill view we booked). The rooms have clearly not been renovated since the hotel was built (in the 80s?) but they have a slight shabby but retro charm which is infectious - I even grew to love the avocado bathroom suite with the threadbare towels. It is quiet, clean and there is plenty of hot water. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate and fresh food was brought out regularly. The location on Lantau Island is unbeatable. It was a sunny day when we were there and we enbjoyed wandering along the beach and promenade (a far cry from the hustle and bustle of central HK). We will definitely be back for a long weekend to relax and explore more of the hotel and Lantau.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Christelle D. from Philippines
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in January 2012
Location is far from the city
Beach front, Quiet place
The place was really quiet. Accessible via bus (from Tung Chung) or ferry. Total opposite of the city. Pretty near the bus terminal and pier which are near McDonalds and 7-11. McDonalds isn't open 24 hrs though. No safety deposit box. The room looked worn out. Some of towels had tears. I didn't like their toothpaste so we used the ones we got from our previous hotel but when we got back to our room, the toothpaste was missing. :( The throw the toothbrush away and on our last night, they didn't provide new ones for us. Hubby had to go all the way to 7-11 to buy a toothbrush and a toothpaste. There were Filipina staff who were really nice though... Since it was beachfront and near the mountains, it was colder here as compared to the city.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

NG K. from Hong Kong
Families with young children
Stayed one night in January 2012
Very old hotel
Good staff service
This is very small hotel at Silvermine Bay. The hotel room is too dark and too old. Furniture and decors in the room are those of the 70s. The carpet in the room is very dirty and we could even see marks of hot iron and soils on the carpet! We got fleas or mites biting us in the middle of the night and the air conditioning in the room was so noisy that all of us could hardly sleep. The bathroom is also very old and not too clean. The only good thing about this hotel is friendly and helpful staff. The hardware of this hotel is just not up to standard.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Atul G. from India
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in January 2012
Great location and facilities
Fantastic location and view, Great facilities - Good breakfast, Sauna, Restaurants, Helpful staff, Big comfortable rooms
fantastic location and view, great facilities - good breakfast, sauna, restaurants, helpful staff, big comfortable rooms. only cons would be sightly old rooms, no mini bar in room, not so pro-active service in the room. this is a great place to stay if u want to explore the lantau island for 3-4 days, including big buddha and disneyland
Reviewed January 28, 2012