Back to hotel info

Good 6.9
Based on 2329 reviews

Verified traveler reviews

Filter by traveler type
Good



based on 2329 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 6.7
  • Value for money 7.6
  • Food/Dining 6.1

William T. from United Kingdom
Business travelers
Stayed one night in October 2011
Good value in a storm
Very fair prices
i do not normally stay kowloon side since my business is in central. however, i had a short 12 hours stop over this time and, because of trade shows, hk hotel prices were more than double the usual rates. anne black ywca came to the rescue. it offered a single room with shared bathroom at a very affordable. i was only in the hotel for about 8 hours and when i left at 0530 the staff very helpfully went outside, in the rain, and hailed me a taxi for kowloon station to take the train to the airport. the hotel represents value for money for the budget traveller but its location is not ideal for the business traveller in normal circumstances. but i would stay there again if my circumatances were similar to this occassion.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Victor S. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Great service ,clean room
Location, Price
Great location, a short walk to Mong Kok. Close to a wide range of food restautant. The staff are freindly and helpful. Rooms are clean daily,10 minuties from mtr. Taxi are available in front of the hotel and metro buses are just around the corner from the hotel.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Shawn P. from Canada
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Unimpressive hotel in every way
Strong water pressure and clean restroom, clean rooms
I decided to book us into this hotel after reading a number of articles online about the Anne Black being the best accomodation in the city. I chose it over half a dozen other places in the price range. I can't imagine how bad those places must be if this is the best. Sure, it's only in Hong Kong, so you get what you pay for, but what you pay for doesn't get you much. Rock hard bed. Unlean room, broken blinds give the room a rough feel. Not to mention the ancient TV on a rusty steel cart. If this hotel is full each night, like the staff suggest, then spend a few hundred bucks on fixing up the rooms. Brutal. Location is bad. Close to some of the night markets and decent food but more than 15 mins by foot to the nearest metro station. Internet is in the lobboy only, which is fine, save that everyone in the hotel uses it in the lobby and there is only seating for about 6 people. Why wouldn't they do something about this? I asked if we could sit at the restaurant just to have a place to sit and check email and was told it was impossible. Really? Why? Staff. Unhelpful and generally unfriendly, more interested in getting us out of their sight than helping. I wanted the front desk to point a few things out to me on a map (Metro, restaurants, etc) and was told that the hotel has the internet for that sort of thing. The second person asked why I didn't already know where the metro station was. Incredible. There is a washer and dryer on the sixth floor - that's a bonus. About the only bonus we found in this dreadful, dreary place. On the bright side, we spent a lot of time exploring HK because we didn't want to spend any time in our hotel room. Next time I'll just spend a night and get something decent. This shouldn't even be called a hotel; I had better rooms in my football dorm in college. HK is one of the world's great cities - don't short change yourself by staying at this place.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Remyle G. from Australia
Couples
Stayed 3 nights in October 2011
Lovely location value for money
close to shops
Its value for money ,all are ok.lots of shops around for shopping. Nice & clean (not to bad)
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Connor B. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed one night in October 2011
Not impressed
Staff were helpful
The bed was quite simply the most uncomfortable thing ever - rock hard. I know HK is expensive but for what they were charging they could at least have a clean bathroom and a comfortable bed.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Lei T. from Malaysia
Groups
Stayed 2 nights in October 2011
Pleasant and clean hotel with friendly staff
Spacious room to stay in Hong Kong
We have a pleasant stay there.. May stay there again if I travel to Hong Kong again!!!
Reviewed October 09, 2011

William W. from Australia
Solo travelers
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
You get what you pay for.
Cheap for solo traveler
I understood what I was paying for and got what I paid for.. nothing more. Great value if you just want the basics.
Reviewed October 06, 2011

David C. from New Zealand
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
Good Value
The restaurant attached.
This hotel is nothing flash but it is clean and tidy. It is about a 10 -12 minute walk to Mongkok station and there are several restaurants in the immediate area. The restaurant attached to The Anne Black is good and the staff is very obliging. In fact it was probably the high point to this hotel. Having said that, the hotel was good value for money. Treated as a place to sleep and it's OK.
Reviewed October 05, 2011

Siew C. from Malaysia
Couples
Stayed 4 nights in September 2011
Comfortable stay and strategic location
Clean & comfortable room, close to MRT station and local restaurant.
Basically i am satisfy with the stay and hospitality. Is better that if able to provide the WIFI service for each floor.
Reviewed October 05, 2011

Da R. from United States
Couples
Stayed 2 nights in September 2011
Bigger rooms for price but hard to get to
Room size is better than my last hk hotel
it was on top of a hill and very hard to get to with luggage. in addition, the walk to the nearest subway station was 15 minutes away, good thing the size of the rooms was decent
Reviewed October 05, 2011