Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.4
Based on 6329 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 6329 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.8
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.3
  • Value for money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.5

Madeleine L. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Convenient and plenty of restaurants in the area.
Like the location, easy walk to the MTR and also to the Exhibition Center.
The hotel was conveniently located and the rooms were ok. I liked the gact that it was within walking distance to the Exhibition center and the Wanchai MRT stop and they had lots of Reataurants, take out places, from hole in the wall types to fine dining. It is also right in the middle of the red light district.
Reviewed January 03, 2013

Ravinder G. from Thailand
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Nothing special to write home about
Location as business clients in the area
room given to me was next to lift. there were funny noises, don't know whether from lift or aircon. but noise was enough to give you a shock. as noise was not regular / at random, was difficult to explain to hotel staff. hotel staff refused to change the room under pretext of that non-smoking room was not available (they knew i was allergic to smoke / smell).
Reviewed January 02, 2013

SOON L. from Malaysia
Families with older children
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Impressive service
Good locations, friendly staffs
all the staffs are helpful and friendly. i love their services. light breakfast and afternoon snacks were served in a small lounge, energize yourself a little bit before start off a new day, or having a break within. just 5minutes walk from wanchai railway station, which makes a good connection to all places. down the streets there's numerous of bars and pubs. restaurants, cafes, convenient stores could be found easily too. the room is clean and neat. i stayed in a room with my other 2 siblings. room is fine but the single beds were kinda small. a double bed/ add an extra bed would be more suitable. wifi available in the room, but weak connection. have to reconnect all the time.
Reviewed January 02, 2013

richard H. from Canada
Solo travelers
Stayed 3 nights in December 2012
Poor condition, smell, and noise
Location to subway/transportation
There was very loud construction noise outside my room each day I stayed here - they were apparently refacing the entire outside of the hotel. This would have been good to know before booking, because it was *directly* outside my room..with a suggestion note to "close the blinds". Not the most appealing welcome to Hong Kong. The location is good in terms of subway convenience and Wan Chai, but this also comes with a caveat - right at the entrance of the hotel are several girlie-bars with touters trying to pull you in for discount drinks. If you're in Hong Kong with that purpose, great location for you - if not, you'll likely be disappointed with this hotel choice. My room had a weird smell to it as well, and I didn't experience much in terms of impressive service or convenience with the stay to talk about.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

Shlomi E. from Israel
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in November 2012
small rooms - average hotel
not far from the exhibition
well the pictures was way far from what we actually see when we get there. the rooms is very small - the shower is not comfortable, and the room was very smelly and not clean!!! however the hotel is not far from the exhibition center, around 10 min walk.
Reviewed January 01, 2013

malcolm H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
great location but slightly dated
location
Great location in the heart of Wanchai close to MTR and nightlife. Hotel is clean but rooms look tired.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Zheng M. from China
Families with young children
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
room is bit small
convenient location
hotel is located in heart of city, easy access to transportation and shopping area.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

malcolm H. from United Kingdom
Couples
Stayed one night in December 2012
great location but slightly dated
location
i have stayed here several times be for because of its great location. the hotel is ok but the rooms are slightly dated and look tired, the carpets are a bit worn and the corridors smell of smoke. but everything is clean and perfectly acceptable.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

min C. from Malaysia
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in December 2012
Good value
location and friendly staff
Good location within Waichai area, 2-3 minute walk to MTR, central of everything especially bar and restaurants. Friendly and helpful staff, will help to stop taxi for you and advice you on the best alternative to your destination. Relatively bigger room for big city like Hong Kong, bit old but well maintenance room facility.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Jessica W. from Philippines
Business travelers
Stayed 4 nights in December 2012
Good Hotel with a Great location
Great Location, Clean & Spacious Rooms
generally speaking. hotels in hong kong are quite expensive. the wharney was lower priced compared to other hotels of its type (even lower priced to hotels that were not as good as the wharney - just like in the case of my colleague's hotel called the wifi boutique hotel). the rooms were clean and the service was great. my main reason for staying at the wharney was that i had an expo to attend at the hkcec and the wharney was only a 10 minute walk to the hkcec. there were nice bars and restaurants very close by too. if in case you had to go around hk, the mtr station was also just a few minutes walk away. only problem i had with the wharney was the "technique" required to flush the toilet. you would have to press the plunger once, wait for about 1 to 2 minutes and then press the plunger again so that it would flush. sometimes, this won't work and you will have to press the plunger a few more times or call housekeeping to help.
Reviewed December 28, 2012