arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

2015
Very good 7.4
Based on 6180 reviews

Agoda Verified Reviews

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 6180 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.7
  • Location 8.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.3
  • Service 7.2
  • Value for Money 7.4
  • Food/Dining 6.5

9.3 June G.
United Kingdom
November 13, 2014
Short Visit to HK
Friendly staff, good quality room, excellent situation -close to MTR & restaurants etc.
We had a very pleasant stay at the Wharney - we stay there on our way to Australia each year and the staff always recognise us.

8 Thomas M.
China
November 13, 2014
Quality stay at the Wharney
Price, location, service
Great little hotel, clean, comfortable and friendly service. Close to MTR. My main note would be to make sure that you want to be staying in Wan Chai, because you are right in the centre of it! I was a solo traveller and enjoy having my drinks in the evening, so it was great for me, but even I was a little surprised when I walked out of the MTR station. Wouldn't stay here with a family that's for sure.

5.3 Kent S.
Canada
November 12, 2014
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel
the location.
It said "Free WiFi" when I booked, but it's actually "free 'for only 1 device' wifi" and it's not even indicated anywhere.

7.3 HO K.
Singapore
November 11, 2014
Not bad hotel
Friendly staffs, central location & cleaniness
Comfortable, clean & very friendly staffs. There is no sports channel on TV but mostly local programs.

7.7 Leona M.
Singapore
November 10, 2014
Clean and good service
Tidy, Great Service and Bed was comfortable

5 Massimo R.
Italy
November 10, 2014
Awful Customer Service
clean rooms, comfortable beds, good location
We checked in and were told that even though I requested 2 rooms with 2 large beds, they only had 1 room with a large bed and the other room had 2 twin beds. I asked them to give us the key to the 1 room with the large bed for now and then when the second room was ready, one of the couples would move into that room. The girl said that it wasn't a problem, we got our room keys, our breakfast vouchers, etc and were about to walk away when she quickly says, by the way we are doing construction on our hotel now so you can't use the toilet between 10AM and 6PM and there might be noise. How is it possible that you never told me about this while I was booking or at least before I gave my credit card and you charged me? I would not have agreed to stay in this hotel if I had known this information. We asked, are there ANY rooms that don't have this toilet issue? She said no. At this point, we were mad but headed up to the room. It REEKED of cigarettes- it was horrible. How is it possible that during the booking, they didn’t ask if I wanted smoking or non-smoking rooms? It was disgusting. So back down to the lobby we went and spoke to a manager. He apologized and gave us drink vouchers for which was nice and moved us to a different floor BUT both rooms would have 2 twin beds. We agreed although it wasn’t what we requested. The next morning we get up and go to breakfast to find out that they had only given us 1 breakfast coupon per room per day. When booking, I paid for 2 double rooms with 2 people in each room and breakfast included. So when they refused to let 2/4 of us into breakfast, I almost lost it. We went back down to reception and they tried to tell me that I only booked breakfast for 1 person. They proceeded to show me the voucher from Agoda on which was handwritten “breakfast for 1 person” on each voucher. They could have written that in themselves when the restaurant called to say that we were upset. They were so rude and said if you have an issue, talk to Agoda.

7 Sarju M.
United Kingdom
November 09, 2014
3 star hotel in the middle of wanchai bar area
location is good and the rooms are okay if you get executive rooms
Only thing good about this place is the location. Close to bars and restaurants, MTR. Executive rooms are good. Standard rooms are not nice. Expensive for what it is though.

8.3 gabriel B.
Singapore
November 09, 2014
Good location
Location , clean , friendly staff
Hotel is just a few mins walk from Wan Chai. Around 15 to 20 mins walk to the convention centre. No shortage of food around.

7.7 Adeline O.
Malaysia
November 08, 2014
Value for money hotel!
Near to MTR station, great food choices, strategic location
I'm a regular at this hotel. I love Wanchai and this hotel fulfilled all my needs - lots of local food choices, near mtr station for easy commute esp with Occupy Central still ongoing.

8.3 SUI L.
China
November 08, 2014
Good
Tidy, good location & low price.
Good