Back to hotel info

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 38 reviews
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Location 6.4
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.2
  • Service 7.6
  • Value for money 7.3
  • Food/Dining 5.8
Sort by

akhil G. from India
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in September 2013
The hotel ambience was awesome and also staff.
Staff behaviour, dinner, room
The stay was really good. We will recommend this hotel to everyone. Behaviour of staff was very nice. Location is also not a problem. Only thing this hotel need to improve is the internet speed. Its really slow. Rest it is value for money.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Saurabh L. from India
Business travelers
Stayed one night in August 2013
Just right for an overnight business trip
free internet, quick check-in and check-out, close to the airport
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Rebecca C. from India
Business travelers
Stayed one night in June 2013
Best to avoid
close to Taramani if your work takes there
I have heard good things about Ginger in other locations but this one was a big disappointment. It was close to the office I had to go to and this is the only hotel in that area. So that is was the only plus. The room was small and dingy. There were no windows. The corridors were not well lit. The restuarant was on the ground floor of a corporate building while the the rest of the hotel was in the 11th floor. I had to go to the restaurant which is the cordoned off part of a corporate office cafeteria. The rest of the cafeteria was dark and there were regular kitchen helpers sitting around which made me feel very unsafe. On the whole it was a very uncomfortable experience. I have to go the same office again next week, but I will chose to stay in the city and commute longer than stay in Ginger close to the office.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Gao Q. from China
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in June 2013
Nice hotel
Nice staff, clean room, better for business
I stayed so long time in Ginger every time when I came to India, because I think Ginger is comfortable. But one thing is little far from city center.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Razia S. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in May 2013
Disaster. Would not want to stay there again
Acually, there was nothing great
I knew Ginger was a budget hotel. I have stayed in Ginger Yatri Niwas in Delhi and loved the service. So i tried Ginger IITM Chennai. It was disaster from the beginning. My check in took 20 minutes (We were the only ones at the reception). That too, i had called 2 times earlier informing the hotel of my arrival time and specifying that i required a Non Smoking room with a view. So i was taken to the room and guess what!! The room was filled with cigarette smoke and it faced a storage area. I refused to enter the room and asked for another room. I was told that all the rooms were sold out. I waited for half hour for them to give another room. Finally, i was given a room devoid of cigarette smell and facing the parking lot, lake, houses etc. Tried to sleep, but couldn't as the guests who walked pass the rooms and the staff were loud (You can hear everything very clearly and rooms are not soundproofed) Food is not served and we have to either order takeaway food or eat at the foodcourt which is located at the lobby level. So we decided to order Chinese. The food arrived on time. I called the front desk and asked them for 2 plates, spoons, forks, bowls and to my utter horror, they informed me that they don't have any crockery cutlery at the hotel. We had to go to the food court and they also refused to give us any paper plates. Was very very very disappointed and will never return to Ginger IITM. Packed up and left. Stayed with friends at their home which was much more comfortable.
Reviewed July 08, 2013

BIJU T. from India
Families with young children
Stayed one night in June 2013
disappointing
the wifi was good. the reception was good.
disappointing. the room was very small with no view. the towels were old and spoty. he bath room was slipping and the tiles were not appropriate. there was no hot water. the hotel has no restaurant . at night we had to spend up on the outside services. the location of the hotel is 2 mms away fro the main road that nothing is avilable for emergency needs.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

sanjay K. from India
Business travelers
Stayed 2 nights in May 2013
Very comfortable
cleanliness, good food friendly service
Very comfortable and relaxing, was the right choice for me to attend a business meeting.
Reviewed June 04, 2013

Praveen K. from India
Couples
Stayed one night in April 2013
Good and pleasant room with clean environment
clean room good & friendly staff
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Gao Q. from China
Business travelers
Stayed one night in April 2013
Nice Hotel for business
Big windows, friendly, multi-cuisine canteen
Nice Hotel for business, Big windows, friendly, multi-cuisine canteen
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Gao Q. from China
Business travelers
Stayed 3 nights in April 2013
Nice hotel for business only
Big Window, Staff are nice, Canteen is multi cuisine
I cannot remember how many times I stay in Ginger. It is economic for sb like me who will stay in Chennai for severtal week to live in Ginger. So once I come to Chennai, I will choose Ginger only. Staff all know me now, and they are very nice. A good choice for business people in Chennai.
Reviewed April 21, 2013