arrow-up-icon Earn points on your existing loyalty program!
Back to hotel info

Very good 7.7
Based on 20 reviews

Recent customer comments

Filter by traveler type
Very good



based on 20 reviews
  • Hotel Condition/Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 6.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Room Comfort/Standard 7.5
  • Service 8.1
  • Value for Money 7.1
  • Food/Dining 7.2

PAULA P.
United States
October 22, 2013
Welcoming hotel, superior view of Kanchenjunga
View from rooftop deck, excellent dinner buffet, welcoming staff
PLEASE NOTE: PLEASE ONLY USE PR AS MY NAME WHEN POSTING THIS REVIEW! AND I AM FROM PENNSYLVANIA, USA. I DO NOT WANT MY FULL NAME SHARED! THANK YOU! This was my second stay at the Viceroy and, after a change in plans, I returned for an additional, third week. I feel comfortable here and I love the view of Kanchenjunga, the third highest mountain in the world. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to Chowrasta, the central plaza. The food is excellent. When there are sufficient guests, breakfast and dinner are buffets and offer a variety of Indian dishes and usually one pasta option for the less adventurous eaters. The hotel is clean and the lobby offers free wireless internet. Guests are greeted in a traditional, lovely way. The hotel's atrium style, classic photographs, and iron gated lift add character and beauty. The reception area closes by 10. The shower curtains don't keep the bathroom floor dry! Darjeeling is wonderful (tho not easily accessible: the airport is 3.5 hours drive, mostly uphill). You are in the "hill region," clearly in the Himalayans. The variety of religious groups means there is almost always a holiday celebration (adding great interest and also meaning some shops are closed on any given day). The market area, downhill, is fascinating. And the old colonial buildings further uphill provide a totally different architectural interest. (On the same level as the Viceroy, many are now hotels.) It is easy to meet wonderful people (local and international) in Darjeeling! I met many travelers right in the hotel dining room.

Hannah K.
Australia
October 13, 2013
Wake up with a view of the snowcapped Himalayas!
Friendly staff, sun deck, airport transfers.
Heritage style hotel in good location. Large window with amazing view from the bed! Shower not so good and hot water didn't run for a long time which was unpleasant in cold weather. Restaurant food (breakfast and dinner) mainly Indian. Friendly staff and drivers were great!

SANDIP M.
India
June 01, 2013
Excellent staff, food, value for money.
Good location, near to mall, shopping place.Very friendly staff & excellent room service. Good view from Sundeck.
Excellent stay. Extended 1 more night stay in the same hotel

Michael D.
United Kingdom
April 15, 2013
Good value for money
Location, friendly staff and the food
The Viceroy hotel is in a prime location a short walk from the town centre and main shopping areas , and near to the Taxi ranks. The décor throughout has a grand colonial feel about it. The room was clean, quite spacious and nicely decorated. From the fourth floor our room had a panoramic view over Darjeeling and the surrounding mountains. The bathroom had a walk-in shower with its own water heater so you could have hot water 24hrs a day. The staff could not have been more courteous and helpful. At the time of our stay it was cold at night so we asked for hot water bottles which were delivered to our room by the always smiling bellboys at no extra charge. The meals in the hotel restaurant were always of a buffet style. They were basic, catering mainly for the Indian clientele, but did include a couple of European options. The standard was quite good, considering what else was on offer in Darjeeling which is certainly not a centre of haute cuisine. One minor drawback was that, although the wifi was free and worked well, you could only get connected in the lobby which was very cold to sit in. Not such a problem in the summer, I imagine. Also the mattress on the bed was hard and a bit uncomfortable. But I definitely recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

sudheer S.
India
December 08, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
warm welcome and reception
hotel viceroy, Darjeeling is centrally located..shopping is really a stone throw away.. the food / dining is fantastic.. the ambiance is wonderful.. the hotel would do better by providing a better heater..also the blankets could be better.the welcome was warm. the follow up for dining was good.. service at dining was fantastic

Simon A.
United Kingdom
November 17, 2012
Lovely hotel and service with a smile
Good location, clean with attentive service
The hotel was nice although when we were in the dining room on our own it lacked ambiance, the service was attentive enough although perhaps we weren't always understood because the one time we had breakfast in the hotel we didn't received all that we'd ordered. Because we were the only people in the restaurant we felt we were being watched the whole time.

John N.
Australia
May 26, 2012
Pleasant enough hotel but no bar
Room was small but clean and comfortable, restaurant food was good quality
the viceroy is well-placed, with a roof top view of the mountains (when mist permits). it only provides alcohol on a room service basis (ie no bar and not served with meals in the restaurant). the atrium design adds to noise level, particularly when many families with children are resident. the room was adequate and bathroom well-equipped. service was generally polite and friendly if sometimes haphazard (system for tracking added items like laundry is manual and there was considerable confusion as we had booked 3 rooms between six people).

ALI A.
Saudi Arabia
April 08, 2012
very nice staff ,they speak English very well
fare price good, room, good restorant
really i had very nice stay with them I forgot my mobile in the hotel, they send it to me at the airport, that was very nice from their staff thanks alot

Sybille S.
France
December 28, 2015
Chambre sympa pour Noel mais rien d'exceptionnel
Cheminée dans la chambre et vue sur l'Himalaya
Un peu déçus par la chambre Attic Prenium room. Nous sommes arrivés à minuit le 24 décembre, ils n'avaient pas chauffés la chambre il y faisait à peine 12 degrés... Le lendemain une douche de 3 min puis eau gelée... Petit dej indien buffet, chacun se sert et jus de fruit en brique... Dîner Buffet aussi donc pas terrible... Dommage que la cheminée dans le hall principal ne soit jamais allumée, il fait très froid dans les parties communes. Sinon la vue est superbe et le feu de cheminée dans la chambre un vrai régal... Le staff est sympa mais sans plus... Pour un 4 étoiles on s'attend à un peu mieux...

Dong X.
China
May 15, 2013
性价比较低
房间面积很大,老式的电梯很吸引人,服务态度很好。
感觉不好,没法洗澡,电视机小的可怜,卧室里的一个照明灯也是忽明忽暗的,,老式的电梯是一个亮点。虽然有阳台,但是是封闭状态的、